We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a fantastic hotel!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Francais
Ranked #102 of 1,800 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide
Level 6 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“What a fantastic hotel!!”
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Stayed here in May, and what a great little hotel!! Staff were amazing, friendly and knowledgeable, hotel was in a great, quiet non tourist driven location!! Checked in to discover we'd been given a complimentary upgrade as it was our honeymoon, when we reached the room we found a very nice note from the hotel on the bed congratulating us along with a bottle of wine and a little box of chocolates to share.

The room itself was a little tight (as is the norm in Paris hotels I've heard) with a queen sized bed, the bathroom was very modern and clean, and the room also had a nice little balcony that spanned the length of the room around the corner (the room was on the corner of the building) that had a great view of the tree lined street which was lovely to stand on and enjoy a glass of beer or wine during the day, at sunset or evening.

One of the days we needed to do laundry we asked the staff where the local laundromat was, the front desk clerk informed us the hotel provided a complimentary wash, dry and fold service which was a great touch to the overall experience.

The front desk staff were very, very helpful, helping us with all our queries and spoke to us like we'd known each other for years. They pointed us in all the right directions, and told us great areas to visit for meals that weren't tourist driven where we had some of the best meals of our honeymoon and some cool little bars to go for a drink.

The hotel is in a great location, 5 mins walk from the Nation metro station where you could get the underground subway to many different areas as it covers 4 of the Paris subway line.

Definately worth a stay in you ever cme to Paris, can't recommend it enough!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Travelover101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,983 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,321
    554
    86
    15
    7
See reviews for
188
1,294
97
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

I visited this hotel 3 weeks ago with my girlfriend and having read the excellent reviews on here, was not in any way disappointed, in fact they exceeded our expectations.
We arrived at 12:00 midday on a Friday, and as check in was not until 14:00, the friendly chap on reception (who thankfully spoke English than I speak French) recommended a decent local restaurant for us to grab a drink and a bite to eat – and what a great shout it was.
This hotel is away from the hustle and bustle of the tourist traps and that’s just how we liked it. This is not a problem at all as less than 10 minutes walk away you can access the Metro, which is so quick and hassle free – The London Underground should take note!
The rooms are small but immaculate, with lovely furnishing, flat screen, wall mounted TV and the shower and bathroom area are extremely modern. Some chocolates were laid out on the bed for us, which was another nice touch, also a small balcony for you to get some fresh air.
As the hotel did not supply iron/ironing board, they offered to iron my clothes on the house and these were returned to my room within 45 minutes, again the customer service just blew me away. The reception staff were very helpful and offered sound advice on anything we asked, I would definitely return.
The only minor gripe is the lift is incredibly slow, but that is being very picky and certainly did not put a dampener on what was a fantastic weekend break. Another tip to those staying here, if you decide you don’t fancy venturing out to a local restaurant one night, take away places are very few and far between round here so you may want to pick something up on your way back to the area.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LeedsLadBornAndBred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

The staff were wonderfully helpful and the room was so much more than I'd hoped for.

We were welcomed with champagne in the room and had a very nice view out onto the street below from our little balcony.

The hotel is a little bit of a walk into the touristy areas but there is a couple of very close metro stations and the area close to the hotel has some great restaurants that the staff are only too helpful to book for you.

We made the mistake and thought that breakfast was included in the tariff- which it wasn't and really I would of probably preferred to eat elsewhere if I'd known before check out.

All in all a fantastic stay! Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank THESHONKOFTONK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

This hotel has a very good price/performance ratio. Though the room (nr. 1) was very small it was nice to spend 3 nights. The room as well as the apparently refurbished bathroom were very clean. A really comfortable bed to sleep in. It´s close to two metro stations, you can walk easily from the RER-station as well. Breakfast is rich and tasty. Nice staff. All in all a pleasant and satisfactory stay, would recommend and stay definitely again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Loveisintheair2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

The rooms are small but very clean, beds comfy (which is rare for me) covered in crisp linen and bathroom was fresh and functioning. I had a looovely sleep, this place was a real surprise! We didn't have breakfast but anyways, we highly recommend this hotel. Also we had a very nice view from our window/terrace.
The receptionist is very helpful and very friendly. We arrived a day later because my husband got sick the previous day and he didn't charge us for that night!!! He said he understands this kind of things happen in life! Wow!!! So human! This is so rare nowadays especially in cities like Paris where nothing is free!
All the Best!!! We will be back!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BBZ_87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Batignolles-Monceau
Hotel Darcet
Hotel Darcet
#94 of 1,800 in Paris
626 reviews
Hotel Eiffel Seine
#351 of 1,800 in Paris
2,143 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Joyce - Astotel
Hotel Joyce - Astotel
#62 of 1,800 in Paris
2,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel HELUSSI
#58 of 1,800 in Paris
538 reviews
Hotel WO - Wilson Opera
#44 of 1,800 in Paris
1,539 reviews
Montmartre
Hotel des Arts - Montmartre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Francais? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Francais

Property: Grand Hotel Francais
Address: 223 Boulevard Voltaire | 11th Arr., 75011 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#51 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#55 Best Value Hotel in Paris
#82 Business Hotel in Paris
#130 Family Hotel in Paris
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,242 - ₹ 14,173
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Francais 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Its individually decorated and personalized guestrooms and suites are soundproofed and offer elegant accommodation. Each room has air-conditioning, flat-screen TV and free Wi-Fi internet access. The well-equipped rooms feature contemporary decor and warm colours. The bathrooms include a massaging shower or bath. The Grand Hotel Français is situated in Place de la Nation, near Place de la Bastille, the fashionable Marais district and the lovely district near the Canal Saint Martin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Francais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Paris
Au Grand Hotel Francais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing