We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,182)
Filter reviews
2,182 results
Traveller rating
1,467
598
94
15
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,467
598
94
15
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rue des boulets nation metro station place de la nation minute walk the hotel staff rooms are small our honeymoon excellent hotel breakfast was included superior room croissants boiled eggs central paris cold meats bottle of champagne would highly recommend this hotel booked this hotel
Filter
Updating list...
1,025 - 1,030 of 2,182 reviews
Reviewed 25 April 2012

I stayed at this hotel after looking at the reviews here and other places. It certainly lives up to its reviews. The staff were all fantastic, spoke excellent English and really helped out where ever they could. Zaid helped out with a travel adapter and gave us advice on where to go as it was raining a lot. The hotel was probably the best part of the trip. Although the room was small - it is typical of Paris. The sheets and towels were changed on a daily basis and the cleanliness was good.
Although it fronts on a main road, the noise wasn't so high as the room had double glazing and it was sound proofed...

Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darcust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

My wife and I have stayed in Paris many times over the last thirty years - in budget hotels and high end places when I have been travelling on business.

We stayed at the Grand Hotel Francais for two nights at the beginning of a two week trip to Brittany and the Loire. I had read good reviews on Trip Advisor and although I was somewhat uneasy that the location was away from the centre where we usually stay, I was pleasantly surprised. It a two minute walk to Place de la Nation which is a major Metro hub and has RER trains as well. There are some decent restaurants around the square and in the nearby streets which are less expensive than places on the other side of Place de la Bastille.

We were both very impressed by the friendly service. Everyone spoke excellent English but they were considerate enough to allow us to stumble in our inadequate French and responded slowly and carefully. We got good advice about restaurants in the area and a map showing their locations.

When we arrived and they saw how much luggage that we had, the manager tried to upgrade us to a larger room but they did not have one available so they offered to store things that we did not need in the room in their luggage room. In fact the room was quite roomy (especially by Paris standards) and we were able to get by without doing this. Everything was immaculately clean and the bathroom was modern and met all our needs. The bed was a comfortable queen size and the room was at the side of the hotel away from the noise of Boulevard Voltaire. When we returned from dinner on our second night, there were two small bottles of wine and a box of chocolate truffles on the bed.

At 120 euros a night with breakfast this is remarkable value for Paris. We will be back again for sure.

Room tip: Ask for a room on the side street, it will be quieter
Date of stay: March 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Claret G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

The Grand Hotel Francais, 223 Boulevard Voltaire, Paris was a true 'find'. It is within easy walking distance of both the Metro system and the RER rail system.
The staff members were superb and it was clear that they wanted your visit to be as enjoyable and special as possible. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff members [particularly the gentleman on reception with dark hair and gold rimmed glasses]; from providing UK compatible adaptors to recommending a true Parisian bistro or restaurant.
We included breakfast within our weekend package; the breakfast room is compact and friendly and has a good selection of food [from cheeses and meats to pastries and cereal] and I would recommend taking the opportunity of starting the day this way.
Our room was clean and welcoming; with a complimentary bottle of wine upon our arrival [lovely touch] and the bed was extremely comfortable. The added advantage of this hotel is that there is a refrigerator in the room [neatly hidden in one of the bedside cupboards] so if you are celebrating, there is a convenient place to store that bottle of bubbly!
The bathroom was clean and modern [with a corner shower]. I would definitely recommend this hotel and I hope to return there very soon.

Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChiefCakeBaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

We recently spent 5 nights at the Grand Hotel Francais and were extremely pleased with all aspects of our stay, especially the room and the staff. Zyad was very helpful to two non-French speaking Americans. His knowledge of Paris and the French culture really helped us on this initial visit to the city. We would highly recommend this hotel.

Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gil N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

We arrived at the Grand Hotel Francais after spending over 24 hours travelling from Australia and upon arrival the man at the desk, Nicholas, was friendly, helpful and also spoke English. He was also able to recommend some great restaurants and places to drink in the area.

Our room was on the first floor up the tiny spiral staircase and although small compared to Australian hotel room sizes, it was more than adequate for our stay and very clean. Importantly, the bathroom had a shower with excellent water pressure which made for a great shower after the travel.

The bed was very comfortable and our room had a cute French balcony which allowed you to open the window to let in fresh air as well as see the action on the street. Even being close to the street, the room was very quiet apart from the occassional rumble of the metro as it went past.

As for the location, it was about a 2min walk to the closest metro station which made seeing the sites and accessing the city centre easy and on Saturday morning as we were leaving, it appeared like there was some sort of flea market being set up outside on the street.

All in all an excellent experience!

Room tip: If you are easily affected by noise when you sleep, ask for a room higher up from the street.
Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gourjess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews