We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“lovely hotel in Paris” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Artus Hotel by MH

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Artus Hotel by MH
Ranked #105 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Rome, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“lovely hotel in Paris”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

Artus Hotel is the bast choice in Paris: price and quality are perfectly balanced. The hotel in placed in a lovely area, very close to the Metro and the Rive Gouche. Excellent and lovely stores and little classy boutiques.
the staff is excellent, polite and efficient.
Just an advice: better than have the breakfast in the Hotel, go around and choose one of the lovely parisien bars in the area.

Room Tip: rooms in front of Rue de Bucci are (just a little!!!) noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ITAtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels_MHurand, Directeur général at Artus Hotel by MH, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Dear ITAtraveler,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay at the Artus Hotel.

It sounds as though you were able to take advantage of our centralized location and enjoyed the lovely boutiques and cafes.

We hope that you will decide to stay with us again.

Best regards
Romain Binet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

847 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    566
    211
    43
    17
    10
See reviews for
122
481
42
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
jmcsetz
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

For this, our first trip to Paris, my wife and I wanted to make sure that we were in a very special area with a great feel. We settled on the 5th arr., and began to weed through the many hotel choices in that area. We confirmed the Artus after looking through pictures of the area on google earth and when we realized they served complimentary breakfast (which consisted of croissants, breads, crepes, fruit and fresh squeezed fruit juice, coffee and tea) each morning.
We had been to Europe before and knew to expect small rooms and this was no exception. However, this is the case at EVERY hotel in this price range in Paris so just know that going into it and expect it. The staff at the Artus are all very pleasant and speak perfect English and French. They are knowledgeable about the local area which was helpful to us every day, as we did not have a structured itinerary. The head concierge is named Sanjay, and he is an attribute to the hotel. He always asked us how things were going, gave advice on restaurants and attractions, etc. At night we would make dinner reservations for us at restaurants that always lived up to his suggestion. The temperature of our room was a little stuffy the first night we were there and I was unable to get the air conditioner to turn on. I made mention of it to Sanjay the next morning and by the time we returned to the hotel that same evening the room was cool and comfortable. Apparently the setting was on "heat" only because of the season and needed to be manually overridden by hotel staff. Needless to say, the staff are professional and attentive.
Location, location, location...Artus Hotel is near the corner of a very busy street and a small street with lots of restaurants. My wife and I arrived on a Saturday, and that night the locale was alive with people enjoying their weekend. There are Cafes and bistros very close by (next to the hotel in fact). Some famous ones like Les Deux Magots and Cafe Flore are two blocks away, and there are literally dozens of others within walking distance. Many of the great attractions are within a 5 minute walk from Artus (Notre Dame, Jardin de Luxembourg). Metro and bus stops were all very, very close. There is a metro stop across the street, but a major metro stop, called St. Germain des-pres, with connections to the RER train(to/from CDG) and other major metro lines, was a block away.
Now for the room...Our room was cozy but well appointed. We had a real stand-up shower, vanity area and a toilet area. There was a Queen-sized bed with enough room around it to walk around and get dressed. The room had a desk, phone, and bedside tables. there was an armoire with drawers and a space in the bottom to slide our empty luggage in. As i stated in the beginning, the area was loud the first night we got there. Our room was on the first floor (room 114) facing the street. Although they call it the first floor it is actually the second. The reception area, which is on street level is considered floor 0, while below street level is called -1 and what Americans would call the second floor is called floor 1. The windows are all double glass and they drown out a lot of noise but one can still here some of the reveling (which goes late into the night on weekends). However, in our room was a Bose iPod dock with speaker, and I was able to play some "sleep music" which canceled out any remaining noise from outside.
In summation, this is a fantastic hotel in a wonderful location in Paris. The staff will ensure that your stay is pleasant. Have fun!

Room Tip: If you think some street noise may bother you at night (late) ask for (or pay for) a higher floor ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jmcsetz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels_MHurand, Directeur général at Artus Hotel by MH, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Dear JMCSETZ,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We are delighted to know you had a great experience with us.

It is very special for our staff to receive such wonderful compliments from guests. It is through such thoughtful support and feedback like yours that our staff continues to be inspired to provide impeccable service each day.

Thank you for sharing your experience with us and others. We look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Best regards
Romain Binet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
115 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

You get a good measure of the service of a hotel when a few hours after booking you receive a mail from the concierge to offer you assistance for the upcoming trip. As per the many reviews here, Sanjay has such a touch for welcoming the guests of Artus that I can now attest that his reputation is rightfully deserved.

Artus is located in the busiest strip of the 6th district, close to the St Germain church, which is my favorite portion of this area. There are limitless choices for dining and shopping literally as soon as you stumble out of the hotel. Despite that, with a room facing the inner courtyard, I got very little noise in the room except for a Saturday evening. Many hotels in this area have old windows, so the double glazed windows here were definitely a plus!

All in all, the hotel hits high marks in all right points: location, the friendliest staff you find in Paris (from reception to the cleaning and restaurant staff, they were all wonderful), clean, decent room size and awesome rain shower!

Try to book the room directly with the hotel with breakfast icluded. It was a superb continental option (some cooked items also), which included delicious breads and pastries, cheeses and meats, and to my great delight fresh juices (both grapefruit and orange, voila!) and fruit. You will hardly get better than this in Paris or elsewhere.

This is definitely not the most luxurious hotel in Paris or in the area, but with the location, room features and above all, service, you just can't beat the value it offers. I will certainly be back here, hopefully very soon.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the courtyard should get better soundproofing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lune14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

We often use Tripadvisor to rate hotels and this matched all the positive comments we read. I cannot understand why anyone would find fault. Value for money hasn't usually been expected in Paris hotels, and room size is always given as an excuse. We had no issues other than the open aspect to the bathroom area but it allowed space to be utilised perfectly to give a separate loo, spacious shower and a very good night's sleep. You are also in the "happening" part of Paris but the noise really didn't effect us. We would book direct in future rather than with Expedia but only because the breakfast would then be included and Sanjay on reception is so helpful we know we would get excellent service. We will use this hotel again and it has restored my faith in Paris hotels and La vie En Paris.

Room Tip: We did pay for a superior room - not sure if it really got us better but our whole party were more t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacksy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels_MHurand, Directeur général at Artus Hotel by MH, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Dear Jacksy1,

Thank you very much for the review and the great comments about the artus hotel as I am sure that a lot of our guests will find that very useful.
I hope that we can welcome you back to the Artus Hotel on your next visit.

Best regards,
Romain Binet - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoralGables, FL
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

I chose this hotel because it was a few doors down from where my daughter lives. Everything you want to do or see in Paris is within walking distance and the metro is a block away. The neighborhood is vibrant and safe and has an assortment of wonderful restaurants, galleries, cafes, and boutiques. Sanjay made us feel so welcome from the minute we arrived - it was very early in the morning and hours before the standard check-in time, so he brought us coffee and tea and managed to get a room ready for us in less than an hour. Our room was comfortable and had sufficient closet space to hang and fold clothing and even store our suitcases- it also felt more spacious thanks to the wonderful windows facing rue de Buci. The neighborhood can get busy on the weekends, but the triple-paned windows definitely help keep out the noise. Our bathroom was clean and updated with a terrific shower and vanity. The breakfast buffet is great (the croissants were better than the ones at Fauchon!) and includes a complete and wide assortment of breakfast items. Sanjay is an incredible asset to Artus. He is so professional, gracious, and hospitable. He greets you warmly every time you step into the lobby. Staying in this wonderful boutique style hotel feels more like staying at a friend's house.

Room Tip: The triple paned windows help, but if you are a light sleeper, you might want to select an interior...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels_MHurand, Directeur général at Artus Hotel by MH, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Dear Lori330,

It is very kind of you to take the time to write about your recent stay at the Artus Hotel and for highlighting that Sanjay was so helpful during your stay with us.
We do look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

With kind regards,
Romain Binet - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel De Buci by MH
Hotel De Buci by MH
#71 of 1,793 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
La Villa Saint-Germain
La Villa Saint-Germain
#70 of 1,793 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Madison Hotel by MH
Madison Hotel by MH
#143 of 1,793 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Odeon Saint-Germain
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Pas de Calais
Hotel Pas de Calais
#104 of 1,793 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Verneuil
Hotel Verneuil
#86 of 1,793 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artus Hotel by MH? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artus Hotel by MH

Property: Artus Hotel by MH
Address: 34 rue de Buci | 6th Arr., 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Spa Hotel in Paris
#70 Business Hotel in Paris
#71 Family Hotel in Paris
#75 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#99 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,331 - ₹ 26,860
Hotel Class:4 star — Artus Hotel by MH 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Saint-Germain-des-Pres, the Artus Hotel revisits the 1950's style. This 4-star boutique hotel on the Left Bank is a tribute to contemporary art. This hotel with 26 rooms including an Exclusive Suite and a Duplex Suite has a decidedly modern interior, featuring all the pop colours of the Fifties. Reflecting its close association with Jacques Tati films, the decade brings fun and frivolous touches to Artus Hotel. Straight-backed chairs, wooden chests of drawers and small, brightly coloured pieces of furniture are part of the charm of this contemporary architecture. Lovers of art and design will make the Artus Hotel their home from home in Paris. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Ostrovok and Agoda so you can book your Artus Hotel by MH reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Artus Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing