We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stolen cash from security box”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Chaplain

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Chaplain
Ranked #212 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Stolen cash from security box”
Reviewed 19 February 2012

My friend and i stayed at this hotel for 4 days sometime in Oct 2011. It was a nice, clean hotel and certainly value for money. All the good things about the hotel i do agree. However please be careful about leaving spare cash in the security box. We left some cash in the security box and found out after we checked out we were missing a few hundred pounds. The "thief" was smart enough not to take the whole stack of cash to avoid immediate suspicion while we were still staying there, this meant when we opened our security box daily to check we saw the cash and assumed it was safe without counting. So be safe!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lim-Sin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

785 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    404
    311
    54
    11
    5
See reviews for
66
442
83
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

We spent 4 nights in this hotel and found it to be in a perfect location. The decor is modern but very comfortable and the reception staff were there to assist whenever we needed it. The room was a perfect size and the bathroom was lovely and clean but the main draw was the location! It is right beside numerous really good restaurants, both traditional parisian bistro and more modern restaurants too. It is also only about 75m from the nearest metro station and a short stroll to the luxembourg gardens.
The hotel provides a very reasonably priced breakfast but we never actually tried it as there were so many other options at our doorstep. This hotel is a perfect option for those who are looking for a comfortable bed in a central location at a reasonable price in a city which has a reputation for being overpriced. This is where I'll be staying when I return to Paris.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank greengal33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2011

A very nice excellently situated hotel for a long weekend stay in Paris. Rooms are not large but very well equipped. A small mini bar is complimentary (no alcoholic bevarages) and refilled every day. The decor of the rooms is very nice and rooms are kept clean. Beds are very comfortable.
Service in the reception is ok.
The hotel is a bit from the large Bld Montparnasse so there's no traffic noise. However, as clients from the neighboring restaurant come out on the street to smoke, some noise can be heard especially in the rooms facing the street.

Room Tip: Due to some noise from the street at night consider asking for a room facing the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Niko H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2011

Positive: great layout, clean modern rooms, free wifi, free water mini bar.
Negative: uncomfortable bed, thin walls, not helpful staff with attitude problems.

Could be better for this price.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Serhei D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2011

Hotel has good location near undergroung station and Jardin de Luxembourg. From our room we could hear the elevator and smell cigarette smoke. Small but stylish rooms. Attitude on reception depends from the person or the mood. Sometimes it was friendly sometimes unclear rough. One day we asked to reserve a place in the restaurant, but manager on the reception said they can't render this service (!). Room service is not perfect but overall not bad.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Jardin Le Brea
Hotel Jardin Le Brea
#155 of 1,798 in Paris
664 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Apostrophe Hotel
Apostrophe Hotel
#197 of 1,798 in Paris
645 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel des Academies et des Arts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Louison Hotel
Louison Hotel
#191 of 1,798 in Paris
1,093 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
BEST WESTERN Villa Des Artistes
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Sevres Saint Germain Hotel
Sevres Saint Germain Hotel
#140 of 1,798 in Paris
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chaplain? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chaplain

Property: Hotel Chaplain
Address: 11 bis, rue Jules Chaplain, 75006 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#217 Business Hotel in Paris
#280 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#450 Family Hotel in Paris
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,580 - ₹ 13,865
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Chaplain 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lying between Saint Germain des Pres, the Luxembourg Gardens and Montparnasse, the Hotel Chaplain is immersed in a multifaceted whirl of culture and art. Writers, painters, sculptors and musicians have given this district its unusual character. Surf the Internet at your leisure, enjoy your choice of drink or be swept away by a good book in one of our twenty five air-conditioned rooms, in our lounge with its library or in our inner courtyard. Each room greets you with a depiction of a unique smile, surrounded by sober, contemporary decor. Our rooms offer a full range of amenities to ensure your comfort (Wi-Fi, Internet, flat-screen TV, domestic and international channels). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Chaplain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaplain Rive Gauche Paris
Chaplain Rive Gauche Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing