We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Excellent location when visiting Paris” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Citizen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Le Citizen Hotel
Ranked #187 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Pretoria
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent location when visiting Paris”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

We stayed over in Le Citizen Hotel three times during our trip to Europe and I would easily visit it again! The personnel were very kind and helpful and we could really relax in the rooms. The hotel has a beautiful setting and I believe it would be ideal for night owls as well! The rooms were delightful and the breakfasts were sumptuous - my children especially loved the fruit salad! No question or advice we asked was ever received with a blank stare but rather eagerly answered or resolved! Nothing was too much trouble and we really appreciated the kind and attentive staff! I would recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brinkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

768 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    603
    132
    22
    5
    6
See reviews for
127
416
56
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
oxford uk
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

Le Citizen is a very good hotel based on all the trip advisor reviews and on my own experience. But to start with what I suppose is a somewhat negative comment I am nevertheless surprised that it rates as no 2 of 1,840 hotels in Paris. What does that say for the others ? I have been coming to Paris once or twice a year for the last ten years or so. I have always stayed in hotels of about this price range - never very expensive and never very cheap. I have also stayed at
the Luxembourg Parc which I see is rated at number 3. Le Citizen is my favourite hotel in Paris, I prefer it to the Luxembourg Parc - although the latter has a more obviously 'good' location.

My slightly reserved feelings about the hotel are based on the fact that i do not think the hotel is a good one as a building or structure. The hotel has been squeezed out of a small space and the rooms are rather small ( this unfortunately is typical of Paris hotels ). The Zen suite we stayed in is a bit curious in that there is a small three legged chair and some space under the window but no proper arm chairs to relax in after a long day out. Of course you could relax on the bed. And the space is confined so that its not possible for example to walk around the bed. In fact when I first walked into the hotel I was rather amazed this was the number 2 hotel out of all Paris on trip advisor.

Now onto the positive aspects of the hotel which are several and all important: first the bed - very comfortable, second the shower - very good, third the breakfast - delicious. So we have a hotel slightly off the beaten track, not especially great as a structure, good bed - why is it number 2. Personally I think the real reason is that staff are quite exceptional - they are friendly, helpful, knowledgeable and charming. So provided you don't want to stay in the heart of Paris and don't want a large room this is the hotel I would recommend . As for the other 1,838 hotels - that's a mystery.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank carodiario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
155 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

Really excellent hotel. Absolutely nothing negative about our 2 night stay. Just wished we could have stayed longer. Lovely staff. Room is small but so well organised. Location is terrific, with added bonus that only a 15-20 minute walk from Eurostar at Gare du Nord. Easy walking distance to both Buttes Chaumont and Belleville parks, both of which are highly recommended for their views and relaxing atmosphere,

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeteD_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg
Level Contributor
514 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 336 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2012

We normally stay in Marais, but decided this time to stay somewhere else. Le Citizen is absolutely lovely! I agree with all the previous TA contributors, it's hard to find anything that could be better. The location is great, the rooms are exceptionally clean and comfortable, iPad, free telephone calls, complimentary minibar and a very nice breakfast (with wonderful bread from a nearby famous bakery). The staff is really very helpful and accommodating and they speak perfect English, which helps if you need to elaborate on any subject. Oh yes, the excellent and quite air-condition should also be mentioned as it was over 30 degrees in Paris during the four nights we stayed there. Definitely one of the best big city hotel I have stayed in!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GothenburgProfessor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sugar Land, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012

Just returned from a wonderful trip to Paris. We stayed in this lovely little hotel. It's new and squeaky clean, the staff is the friendliest we've run across in France, the room (Zen suite) worked perfectly for us. I was a little bit nervous about staying in the 10th, we usually stay in the 7th by the Eiffel tower, but it was fun to explore a "new" part of town. Granted, the buildings are not the grand residential buildings that you see if you stay in other areas of the city but the canal is scenic and there are plenty of good restaurants within a few minutes walk from the hotel. You are also not far from the grand buildings of the Marais. The other plus is that you are in "real" Paris, where most of the people walking around are locals. We used to love staying near the Rue Cler, and that area is still lovely, but it gets tiresome running into so many Americans (like ourselves, haha). A special thank you to John at the front desk, the charming lady who made wonderful fresh squeezed oj and fresh eggs in the morning, and the adorable young lady with the long brown hair who was also at the front desk. You all made our stay so pleasant.

Room Tip: The Zen suites are fairly large compared to most Paris rooms, the other rooms are quite small but ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lorrie-n-john
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Quartier Latin
Hotel Residence Henri 4
Hotel Residence Henri 4
#54 of 1,793 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
Canal Saint-Martin
Le Robinet d'Or
Le Robinet d'Or
#42 of 1,793 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel 34B - Astotel
Hotel 34B - Astotel
#26 of 1,793 in Paris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Residence Foch
#48 of 1,793 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,129 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Relais Bosquet Paris
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Joke - Astotel
Hotel Joke - Astotel
#9 of 1,793 in Paris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Citizen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Citizen Hotel

Property: Le Citizen Hotel
Address: 96 quai de Jemmapes, 75010 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Canal Saint-Martin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #187 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,602 - ₹ 28,100
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Citizen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Boutique Hotel with twelve rooms run by a team whose ultimate goal is that guests enjoy every moment of their visit. The building has been completely renovated from top to bottom, with aesthetic natural wood accents throughout. The quality of the accommodations includes top of the line beds, flat screen television with a vast choice of international channels, air conditioning, sound buffering and complimentary in-room services of WiFi, filtered water... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Le Citizen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing