We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Refined & Intimate Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel de l'Abbaye Saint-Germain
Ranked #139 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
183 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
“Refined & Intimate Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012

We just came back from a delightful four night stay at the Hotel de l'Abbaye in the St-Germain des Pres quartier of Paris. The older I get, the more I realize that a good hotel is a key element in making a vacation enjoyable. That said, what constitutes a 'good' hotel? Location, for one. And, in addition to being in a fabulous neighborhood, convenient to everything wonderful in Paris, Hotel de l'Abbaye is off a quiet, little street, set back in its own private, cobble-stoned courtyard. Entering the hotel, one is immediately transported to time and place that says, "deluxe Parisian living room" of a wealthy, sophisticated and cultured family. Comfort is another element of a 'good' hotel. The public areas at l'Abbaye are a series of 'salons,' each with their own personality and decor, but all elegant, warm, cozy and comfortable. There is no pretension or haute attitude here, unlike so many other Parisian hotels. The front desk staff was welcoming, helpful and unfailingly polite! Personal service and staff is another element, then. In fact, all the staff, from the gentlemen who served us breakfast in the glorious glass 'conservatory,' which overlooks a lush, secret garden with a burbling lion's head fountain... to the bellmen, are graciously solicitous and wanting to be of assistance. It is very clear that the owners of the Hotel de l'Abbaye maintain high standards, not only in the way the public areas and rooms are decorated and outfitted, but staff selection and training are surely part of the program here. We got to know the Assistant Manager, Mr Lionel Guerpillon, who could not have been nicer or more helpful. His suggestions for stores or restaurants were spot-on perfect. That said, one night, after Mr Guerpillon was off-duty, a desk man recommended a place to eat, Brasserie Fernand on the Rue Guisarde. We went there, but were sorely disappointed by the dank atmosphere, menu and brusque waitress. We left without eating!

While the rooms at l'Abbaye are beautifully decorated and upholstered (thick, rich curtain fabrics and matching bedspreads and headboards,) and the bath is marble and glass, the Standard Rooms are small. But then, this is Paris, so that did not come as a surprise. We were amazingly content at l'Abbaye, though I do wish our room had had a little refrigerator, to store some chocolates and a pate that we had purchased. Room service was supremely fast and efficient!

This will not be our last stay at Hotel de l'Abbaye! It is truly a lovely, refined and intimate hotel, where personal service is still a big part of the European hotel tradition, maintained in these modern, institutional times.

Room Tip: Frankly, all the rooms are lovely. We looked at several of the Standard Rooms, and each was differen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank David49b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

856 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    661
    160
    19
    10
    6
See reviews for
125
449
44
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2012

I seldom take the time to write reviews, but this hotel is so deserving of praise (I also feel compelled to let other travelers in on what's an all-around perfect spot). I've been to Paris nearly a dozen times now. Hotel de l'Abbaye is the best place to stay in the city. FOR THE PRICE (can't underscore this enough), I haven't found a better synthesis of prime location, beautifully-appointed rooms, impeccable service (at all hours too, i.e., even when stumbling in from one of the left bank bars in the early AM hours)... The staff - every member, from the reception desk to the breakfast room staff (and btw, breakfast in their open-air courtyard - totally charming) to general hotel personnel - is pleasant and truly there to accommodate. You can ask them for restaurant suggestions (they'll also make the reservations for you) or for tea at 10pm. One note about the location of this hotel: I highly recommend staying in this area of Paris - left bank/Saint Germain. In my opinion, this is where you can come closest to experiencing a taste of authentic Parisian life. But it also works for tourists because it's close to St. Michel, the Latin Quarter, Ile de la Cite (where Notre Dame and Sainte-Chapelle are), the Louvre/right bank - and if you insist, the Champs-Elysees area. If you stay at Hotel de l'Abbaye - take advantage of the breakfast that's included. Not only is it included (!!), but there's definitely a special joy in drinking coffee and eating croissants in the lovely courtyard of an old building, with decor that's at once lavish and comforting, sunlight streaming in.. a good way to start a day of sightseeing or wandering.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ChrisGiliberti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waltham, MA
Level Contributor
107 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

The Hotel de l’Abbaye is a hidden gem. On a side street in St. Germain it offers elegance at affordable prices. A central garden makes the entry floor extremely pleasant—the small bar area looks out onto this wonderful greenery in the heart of Paris—secluded and seductively cool on a warm day.

Our room was on the top floor; small, cozy and compact and, for us, perfect. The elevator was tiny--it is obvious you're in a historic French hotel and not in a Hilton--and our bags came up separately (yes, the elevator is that small--we are not THAT large!) The room was well appointed and extremely comfortable. Looking out the window we had a bird’s eye view of the left bank rooftops. If one needs a large sleeping space, our room was not the one you'd choose, but perhaps there are other larger rooms in the hotel. For us, the location and the price far outweighed the need for any additional floor space. And it was extremely quiet during our too-short stay.

Since we prefer the historic feel of the left bank and the bistros and markets located in this district, we find the location of Hotel de l'Abbaye to be ideal. It is short walking distance from many attractions and wonderful shops--as well as a short walk to several different Metro lines that whisk you about Paris. There is more of a "neighborhood feel" to this hotel than most we have stayed at in Paris; in general we find the left bank area to be more appealing to our wants and needs for a "French experience" in Paris.

We cannot praise highly enough the service of the concierge and all the front desk personnel. We were trying to track down a bathroom cabinet we had seen previously during our trip but were unable to purchase since the store had been closed. At the front desk we engaged our concierge in “The Great Bain Douche Project”, as we had named this pursuit of a small wooden cabinet with a frosted glass front with French lettering that we wanted to bring to our home near Boston. Our concierge was thorough and persistent and was able to determine the cabinet was in stock, was affordable, and that the store would package it for air travel with us. After successfully concluding the transaction, the concierge stored the cabinet for us until our departure. Then, following our return home, the hotel provided service "above and beyond the call of duty" to assist us in some follow-up items; overcoming many obstacles along the way and persevering until we achieved our goal. We have had many helpful concierges at many hotels, but none that approached the total dedication to service and client satisfaction as the staff at Hotel de l'Abbaye.

We look forward to our return to this hotel if we are lucky enough to continue to have trips to Paris.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SailorToo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mVivace
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

After reading the TripAdvisor reviews of the Hotel de l'Abbaye, I expected this hotel to be just the kind of place we love, an oasis in the city. However, what we encountered was quite different. Though pretty and quiet, with a lovely central courtyard, our accommodations were not as requested. I had requested and confirmed one room with twin beds for my adult son and daughter who were traveling together with me. The room they received was a tiny room with a tiny double bed, which was unsuitable for them, so that my son ended up sleeping on the too-small couch in my expensive suite. Though we requested a change, the hotel was full and no other options were available, not even a cot.

But the more serious complaint we had was about the unfriendliness of the reception desk. They at times could not provide basic information to us. (E.g. we asked for a local bar with TV where we could watch the final game of the EuroCup and were given no suggestions other than a bar down the road to which they could give no name or directions). They corrected our French at times (including that of my daughter who speaks fluently), and not in the friendly manner of the French who love their language and want to hear it spoken well. At one point it seemed that the reception desk attendant feigned a misunderstanding of the name of the restaurant for which I was searching, though I also speak moderately decent French.
At times we felt the reception was mildly hostile.

We are generally a friendly and courteous family, and have traveled to Paris a number of times, and we have never encountered something similar.

Perhaps the hotel has changed hands since the earlier reviews. I am not sure. The hotel is a pretty one with a pleasant central courtyard and a nice wait staff for breakfast. It was quiet and had good air-conditioning. So this hotel has the potential to be a very nice one.

But the staff at reception needs to feel like your ally rather than your adversary in a foreign city, and that was not our experience. As we left on the last day, we needed a taxi to the rail station, which I had asked them about the night before. But when we reminded them that morning, we were told that it could take 45 minutes to arrange a cab at that hour. We fended for ourselves and found a taxi that got us there in a timely manner. This certainly wasn't the kind of service or courtesy we would have expected at such an expensive hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
22 Thank mVivace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

This was my second stay at this hotel and I found it much improved, since my last visit in 2008. The staff were unfailingly polite and friendly and the breakfast service was fast and excellent.

We had the least expensive category of room, which was quite small (the norm with Paris hotels), but nicely furnished and decorated. It was amazingly quiet, given its location - our room overlooked the pretty garden at the back.

The hotel is very close to St Sulpice metro station, which is conveniently on line 4, the same as the Gare Du Nord.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JackRussellLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Luxembourg Parc
Hotel Luxembourg Parc
#40 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,217 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Relais Saint-Germain
Hotel Relais Saint-Germain
#181 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Le Six
Hotel Le Six
#20 of 1,798 in Paris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Signature St Germain des Pres
Quartier Latin
Hotel Residence Henri 4
Hotel Residence Henri 4
#57 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Villa Madame
Villa Madame
#115 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de l'Abbaye Saint-Germain? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de l'Abbaye Saint-Germain

Property: Hotel de l'Abbaye Saint-Germain
Address: 10 Rue Cassette | 06 Arr., 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#31 Family Hotel in Paris
#61 Business Hotel in Paris
#98 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price range (per night): ₹ 16,422 - ₹ 33,968
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de l'Abbaye Saint-Germain 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HISTORICAL HOME, since 1973 Located in the very centre of Saint-Germain-des-Prés, renowned for its array of cafés, restaurants, clubs and theatres, the peaceful Hotel de l'Abbaye offers a pleasant contrast with this symbolic district of Paris. L'Hôtel de l'Abbaye perpetuates its legend through enduring values. A shared passion for the art of French living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion so you can book your Hotel de l'Abbaye Saint-Germain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De l Abbaye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing