We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tres Fantastique”
Review of Musee du Louvre

Musee du Louvre
Book In Advance
More Info
US$ 32.04*
and up
Skip-the-Line Entrance to Louvre Museum
Ranked #3 of 1,124 things to do in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Home to Leonardo da Vinci's Mona Lisa, the Louvre is considered the world's greatest art museum, with an unparalleled collection of items covering the full spectrum of art through the ages.
St Andrews, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Tres Fantastique”
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Spend the whole day at The Louvre, don't rush take your time and enjoy, it is magnificent!
The crowds are ridiculous at peak times, so try and choose the time to visit carefully, you know in mid summer at peak times it will be at it's busiest.
Wear comfortable walking shoes and you can take your camera, photos are permitted.
Enjoy!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank HolidayHotspots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

74,762 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52,932
    16,214
    4,252
    899
    465
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Must-see”
Reviewed 21 June 2012

It is just as good a museum as you would expect. The only silly thing was the crowd of American and Asian tourists in front of Mona Lisa, trying to take photos of the little painting behind its security glass... :)

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank FromHelsinkiWithLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
141 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
“Just as fantastic as expected”
Reviewed 21 June 2012

We went in June, and it was fairly cool out. The last day was warmer and we noticed with all the people in the museum, it was getting a bit stuffy in some locations.

I thought the restaurants were very nice in the museum. Decent food and not overpriced.

If you can, get the Museum pass and save yourself the lines. It *really* cuts down line time for many of the museums.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Apljavaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
334 reviews
96 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“What do we see???”
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Depending on the amount of time you have, you will want to plan your trip before you go. You should purchase a museum pass. In the summer there is always a line to get in. There are several different options to enter. There are also several places to eat including the Carrousel de Louvre. Take some time online to try to plane your trip. please note you could have more then an hour wait to get in. When I was there, including lunch I sent 5 hours. Enjoy the crowds. If you want o avoid them, go in the winter.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Steinbrenner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
104 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good lord that's a big building!”
Reviewed 21 June 2012

If I went to Paris every year for the rest of my life, I could never see the entire Louvre! What I did see was fantastic, but good lord, that's a huge building! And I thought things in Texas were big!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank godsmack44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Musee du Louvre also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Musee du Louvre? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing