We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Great Value. but No Wifi, No English!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Paris - Notre Dame
Ranked #426 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 June 2012

I go to Paris at least twice per year for work for last 10 something years.
I usually choose local boutique hotels, design hotels or just famous 5 star hotels to stay wherever I go.
Though this is holiday inn hotel chain, I chose this hotel for the location and recently renovated modern interior.

GREAT Location, GREAT Value. It sounds too perfect until you stay there.

During the entire stay, I didn't have any problem with them except Wifi connection which is important for me. They didn't have Wifi in my room. It has to be connected through cable. I have a laptop, ipad and iphone, constantly need to communicate. You can only connect your laptop in the room.
You only have wifi in the lobby. Also you need to purchase separate wifi passwords for multiple devices.
Even late and night and in the morning, I had to come down to the lobby in my PJ to check my emails and correspond. Not a great option if I can choose.

Also try not to expect great customer service.
I am not expecting American or Asian level of customer service here. I know where I am.
But still I have found some hotels in Paris with surprisingly satisfying customer service in the past.
It’s more like lack of language skill than customer service I have to say. The reception crews were not speaking much of English, even though they have British flag on their badges indicating their language skill. So if you can speak French, you won’t have much problem I guess.

When I left the hotel, they called me a taxi to the airport. Unfortunately I left something in the taxi. I called the hotel simply to find out the taxi company number. I was transferred 3 times to talk to someone who can speak English. However still, the manager's English wasn't good enough to make proper phone conversation. ahhh...

At the end, they couldn't find the taxi phone # they called for me. So disappointing. I can't even believe it.
Did I give up? Nope. I found the number.
How? I googled it!
It was that easy! Someone who can't speak French found a taxi company phone number on Google. Thank Google seriously. Actually the taxi company was so prompt and professional with fluent English speaking customer service.

All over it was okay. But you gotta know what you are getting. That’s the reason why I am writing this review. And I read other review. Hope this is helpful to plan your travel!
Enjoy Paris!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bunnybeetheb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Paris - Notre Dame, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2012

Dear Bunnybeetheb,

Thank you for taking time to express your thoughts and concerns. I am glad you liked the location of our hotel. I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with the wifi connection and if our staff was not at par with your expectations.

Again, thank you for staying with us and taking the time to give feedback. We hope to have the opportunity of hosting you again should your travels bring you back to Paris.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,615)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

986 - 990 of 1,615 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2012

Great location! Very small rooms but very comfortable bed and very clean!
$$$breakfast. Cup of latte $5 euros
I did enjoy the area and it was great for restaurants and close to Metro.
No wireless in room ...for the price it should be included! Hotel front desk was very responsive to our requests. Very polite and very helpful guidance for restaurant requests.
The roof terrace has a great view!

Room Tip: Very, very small rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KathyV8219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

I'm a bit of a hotel snob. There! I've admitted it. Usually I will avoid a Holiday Inn, Premier Inn or Travelodge, however, stayed here on a business trip and it has changed my view of these large low budget chains. It is in a wonderfully central location, has an incredible roof terrace with 360 degree views across all of Paris. The rooms are not especially spacious, but modern, comfortable and with fancy showers! Also, a good choice for breakfast and very helpful and friendly concierge.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeilaT1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012

Although I booked a standard room three month ago by prepaid ,I still got a unacceptable disable room with emergency ring on the bed and surveillance gadgets on the wall of toilet. I have to confess that I'm terribly wrong and shouldn't find hotels by online pictures, price and location. Our room was really an abnormal room I have ever been. I deem that it's almost a room in hospital and smell really bad. Other than strange things above, the queen bed we had was too small for two. Wi-Fi was not available in my room since I couldn't find any signal by trying whole day. Even though I connected internet by wire instead of Wi-Fi, the speed of internet connection was slow ever and not able to download a single tiny photo. After we found how strange the room was ,my girlfriend cried badly in front of the desk and requested for a room change ,but the staff in the front desk relentlessly denied her and contended that the disable room with weird gadgets without internet connection is the "standard room" we should get since the hotel was fully booked ( so what?). The staff considered that we were deserved this treat since we paid less for a room in the popular holiday inn of city center with 20% discount by coupon code and early booking. Apparently, the staffs in the hotel chain doesn't care about customers' feeling as well as their discomfort or anger in front of their face. These staffs only considers that they are working in a fully-booked popular hotel with nice location. In my view, they are not here to serve you and offer you a nice experience of stays. No matter how nice the location or amenities the hotel has. We will never come back again for this special treatment and nightmare in the romantic Paris. Finally ,the cold blooded hotel would charge you 18 euros for a simple breakfast ,and 4 euros for a tiny bottle water. I realized that the hotel business is all about the money in your pocket.

Room Tip: Please never stay #07 rooms of this hotel for a special treatment
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HenrieTechy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HInotredame, Directeur général at Holiday Inn Paris - Notre Dame, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2012

Dear Henrie Techy,

Following your comment, I would like to precise that the room you had was a standard room in accordance with your reservation. The only slight difference was that this room was equipped with devices for guests with disabilities. We have clearly understood that you didn't want to stay in this type of room despite the fact that your reservation shown that the bedroom type was not guaranteed. We cannot managed to move you in another room on the first night as we were fully booked but it has been done on the second day and for the rest of your stay.
However I would like to precise that this category of room have exactly the same level of comfort than any other room in the hotel and all our guests seemed to be satisfied with it.

Regards. Olivier Si-Tahar / GM.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012

Just returned to New York after a 1 week stay. Hotel was great. Staff unbelievable!!!!! Room decor fabulous. Perfect spot too stay. I am already planning my next trip. Would definitely stay again!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Patricia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Parc St. Severin - Esprit de France
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Europe Saint Severin
Hotel Europe Saint Severin
#230 of 1,803 in Paris
772 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Holiday Inn Paris-St. Germain Des Pres
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Relais Hotel du Vieux Paris
Relais Hotel du Vieux Paris
#488 of 1,803 in Paris
388 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Albe Saint Michel
Hotel Albe Saint Michel
#184 of 1,803 in Paris
1,249 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Royal Saint Michel
Hotel Royal Saint Michel
#599 of 1,803 in Paris
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Paris - Notre Dame? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Paris - Notre Dame

Address: 4 rue Danton, 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Odeon / Saint-Michel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#268 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#353 Family Hotel in Paris
#354 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#465 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range: ₹ 11,028 - ₹ 21,083 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Paris - Notre Dame 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay right in the heart of Paris at the chic Holiday Inn Paris-Notre Dame hotel, just 300 metres from the iconic Notre Dame cathedral. Holiday Inn Paris-Notre Dame is a former ministry which has been converted to a stylish eco-hotel, with energy-saving light bulbs and water recycling. Explore the Louvre museum, just a 15-minute stroll away, and take the Metro from nearby Saint Michel Notre-Dame station to the Eiffel Tower and the Champs-Elysees boulevard. Regular trains from the station deliver you to the Eurostar Terminal and airports at Paris Charles de Gaulle and Paris Orly. Neighbouring streets in the Latin Quarter are lined with bistros and enticing patisseries. Stroll from Holiday Inn Paris-Notre Dame to the Gothic Notre Dame Cathedral a few minutes away and visit the adjacent Jardins de Luxembourg park for a break from sightseeing. It's 30 minutes by train to events at Paris-Nord Villepinte Exhibition and Convention Centre, and 10 minutes to companies based on Avenue de France. The hotel's 3 meeting rooms have wireless Internet and room for up to 55 guests. Rise to a hot breakfast in the monochrome breakfast room at the Holiday Inn Paris-Notre Dame. After dark, order cocktails in the airy bar and chat to friends in the Lobby's honey-coloured leather armchairs. You can enjoy the rooftop terrace for a drink with a view of the Paris skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Paris - Notre Dame reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Paris - Notre Dame Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing