We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service”

Au General Lafayette
Reserve with
Au General Lafayette is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4,498 of 18,708 Restaurants in Paris
Price range: US$ 11 - US$ 35
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Opéra / Bourse
Reviewed 19 November 2017

We were (literally) confronted by of the rudest (and most aggressive) waiters in Paris. Terrible experience. Avoid.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Pax K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurélie C, Propriétaire at Au General Lafayette, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2017

Dear Pax K, we are so sorry that you had bad experience. What has been the probleme ??? We make all that we can for fully satisfying our customers, and we don’t understand that what happened?? Will you explain to us? Thank you and we hope you try again Au général Lafayette and change your advice about us...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (466)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 466 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2017

Yes the service can be a little bit slow but we are in Paris, who wants to rush?

If you are looking for simply well prepared food then this is ideal. We were pleased to find it on our travels and enjoyed the food immensely.

Dinner at 11pm was a real treat after a long day being typical tourists

Thank LadyDiamondS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurélie C, Responsable relations clients at Au General Lafayette, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2017

LadyDiamondS. Thank you very much for your advice! We hope to see you soon again :-). Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017

We were 3 women here and one had the veal escalope, which was okay (don't ask why she chose this when in France), one had the onion soup (wonderful) + a steak which was okay (overcooked a bit) and I had the fish prepared Portuguese style, which will stay in my mind as one of the worst dishes I have eaten (or not eaten) in years. It was a chopped up salted (dryed) white fish mixed with peppers and then made into a cake like form. The fish smelled a bit off. Maybe this is how they prepare it in Portugal but I love fish, both cooked and raw so it is rare something throws me so off. Thank goodness for the fries that came with the steak and my grown up daughter's willingness to share or I would have starved.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Calendar21PDX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurélie C, Responsable relations clients at Au General Lafayette, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2017

Dear Calendar,

You didn't like our brandade cod dish., but it's a portuguese's dish and others customers love it and are asking for more. We are sorry that you didn't like this dish, but your advice and note seems excessive and unjust. We work a lot to satisfy our customers and your advice is difficult to accept because it's not our fault, but, you just don't like this dish...

We hope that you will give us an other chance to show you that we can like other dishes of our menu.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017 via mobile

Visited with a group of 15-20 people. Food was served quite quickly for that amount of people without prebooking the food. 4/5

The fish was quite good but the rice was dry. As if it’s been waiting to be served for quite a while.
3/5

Service was very good and our waitor was working her but of to serve us. 5/5


Thank Tikibone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurélie C, Responsable relations publiques at Au General Lafayette, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2017

Thank you for your advice and sorry for the rice. We take your advice and we will be perfect next time :-). Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017

Good place for quick business lunch and lovely drinks. This cafe is based in the heart of the Paris, Rue la Lafayette. I'm always coming back there and I can highly recommend!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank IgaCartier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurélie C, Responsable relations publiques at Au General Lafayette, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2017

Thank you very much dear IgaCartier! We hope to see you soon again ! Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Au General Lafayette also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Au General Lafayette? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing