We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty food, great service”
Review of L'Amour Vache

L'Amour Vache
Ranked #2,807 of 19,148 Restaurants in Paris
Neighbourhood: Château d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Château d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Reviewed 6 April 2018

Visited this restaurant on a Monday night for dinner with my fiance. We both opted for steak off the specials board, and shared red wine recommended by the waiter.
The food was delicious, and the waiter was friendly and very tolerant as we don't really speak much French. One of our favourite memories of our trip to Paris is eating here, followed by our wander down the busy street for a drink in a bar further down.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LeafTopia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (112)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 112 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2018

We were disappointed with the service in this restaraunt. The order of 2 French onion soups took a while to come but when it did, it tasted alright. However, the wait staff were quite rude and when we tried to ask for the bill repeatedly, they just ignored us. Finally my husband got up to go to the waiter and ask for the bill. He was ignored twice even though he was standing right next to him. When he asked the third time because now it was really confusing and downright rude, the waiter let out an exasperated sigh and handed him the bill. Just shocking.

Thank ss_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2018 via mobile

There was cute decor, that was about it. The food was horrible and expensive for what it was. We complained about the food we got since we didn’t like it, but they did nothing. None of us liked what we got. I ordered a chicken club sandwich, such a disappointment. Don’t bother coming here unless you’re in the mood for frozen/canned food.

Thank Emily K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cafeabc C, Gérant at L'Amour Vache, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2018
Google Translation

Hello Emily,

We're sorry, that you did not like it, and that bother us, because we do not like to leave a disgruntled customer, as manager, if the server that night, would have warned us of the situation, be on that we would have made a gesture to satisfy you, we could have changed the main course.
Do not hesitate to ask to talk to the manager in these cases, we would find a solution, I'm sure.
This is the first time we have received such an opinion on our chicken sandwich club,
which consists of chicken fillet delivered by our butcher and that we bake ourselves, toasted sandwich bread to order, homemade mayonnaise, with fries that if they were not accidentally overcooked are qualities.
I also think that you could have been better advised when ordering,
for our restaurant offers South West specialties, such as Salers meat, or Aligot sausage, dishes that could have surprised you more.
we usually receive very good reviews about tripadvisor regarding our cuisine, so it's about an unusual incident to happen, to leave you with that impression.

We then apologize,

Manager of the Café L'Amour Vache


Bonjour Emily ,

Nous sommes désolé , que cela ne vous ait pas plu , et cela nous embête , car nous n’aimons pas laissé repartir un client mécontent , en tant que responsable , si le serveur ce soir là, nous aurait averti de la situation , soyez sur que nous aurions fait un geste pour vous satisfaire , nous aurions pu vous changer le plat .
il ne faut pas hésiter à demander à parler au responsable dans ces cas là , nous aurions trouver une solution , j’en suis sur .
C’est la 1ere fois que l’on reçoit un tel avis sur notre club sandwich au poulet ,
qui se compose de filet de poulet livré par notre boucher et que nous cuisons nous même , pain de mie toasté à la commande , mayonnaise maison , avec des frites qui si elles n’ont pas été par accident trop cuites sont de qualités .
Je pense également que vous auriez pu être mieux conseillé lors de votre commande ,
car notre restaurant propose des spécialités du sud ouest , comme la viande de Salers , ou encore la saucisse aligot, des plats qui auraient pu vous surprendre davantage .
Nous avons pour habitude de recevoir des avis bien plus élogieux sur tripadvisor concernant notre cuisine , il est donc sur qu’un incident inhabituel à du se produire , pour vous laisser sur cette impression .

Nous vous présentons alors toutes nos excuses ,

Gérant du Café L’Amour Vache

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2017 via mobile

This place had fantastic food and the staff were super friendly- Dinner rush hour is horrible though, so avoid it. The place fills up and the service slows down significantly- wait an hour or so.

Thank Martin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017 via mobile

We had a really late dinner on Friday night, the food was ok, I had a steak but it was almost well done while I've requested medium rare. Anyway good food and reasonable price also with the wine.
The service is really good, the guys are funny and friendly.

1  Thank Gianluca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed L'Amour Vache also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to L'Amour Vache? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing