We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A zero charm option” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Napoleon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Napoleon
Ranked #2 of 28 Hotels in Ajaccio
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels
Level Contributor
199 reviews
187 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“A zero charm option”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2012 via mobile

Let's start with the good things:
- the hotel is at a 5 minutes walk from Cours Napoleon and very close from the main attraction of Ajaccio (palais Fesch, house of Bonaparte, port..)
- it has a car park (charged 10 euros a day)
- it has a good breakfast
BUT:
- the rooms are tiny
- and above all, they are absolutely ugly
The hotels makes you want to leave the room as soon as you can.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank angelbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
napojac, Responsable commercial at Hotel Napoleon, responded to this review, 3 August 2012
Dear Angelbe,


Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on tripadvisor following your recent visit to Napoleon Hotel Ajaccio. I hope that you had a pleasant return journey.

Your invaluable feedback is important to ensure that we continually deliver the great experience Napoleon Hotel Ajaccio is renowned for. At the same time, I was concerned to read that on this occasion we did not meet some of your expectations.

I have noted your overall experience and comments regarding the quality of our rooms. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused in this respect.

Kindly note that our pricing is in line with similar properties in this area and we feel that we offer excellent value given our central location, services and extensive facilities. However in your case it appears we failed to meet expectations, and for that I am truly sorry.

As you sign with your nickname we can't really check if you were in a standard room or in a superior room wich offer a different level of service in our Hotel (decoration, size...). for your next stay in our hotel or in a different one let know our staff or the management that the room do not meet your expectation as soon as you arrive. We will do anything to meet the level of service you deserve and need to be happy.

Thank you once again for sharing your feedback on tripadvisor and thereby giving us the opportunity to enhance our service quality. I do hope that this incident will not deter you from visiting us in the future and you will give us the opportunity to restore your confidence.

Yours Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

565 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    216
    245
    90
    7
    7
See reviews for
51
293
42
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hovik, Norway
Level Contributor
150 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

We had 2 nights in Ajaccio and choosed the hotel for its centrally place. The car was safely put in a garage(which is locked during the nights). Parking in Ajaccio is terrible....be sure.
Good hotel, nice staff, ok rooms with A/C (you need it) and close to everything in the city. The hotel information book contained info about the nearest restaurants as well as The Napoleon birth house.

Room Tip: Very quiet area so we think you get a good nights sleep whatever room you have.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jørgen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mons
Level Contributor
278 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012

Had to choose between city center for ease of access to restaurants, shopping, etc, and a place with pool outside of town. Glad we went for city center.

Hotel is clean, good condition, friendly staff, well marked. Arrived around 1600 and got a parking spot in their 4-car garage, very nice. Rooms were clean and decent sized for city center. Elevator was speedy.

Woman at the desk allowed us to fire up the TV and pulled out a few beers for us so we could enjoy the Tour de France each afternoon; bar opens at 1800h normally, that was nice customer service.

5-10 minute walk to beach/Citadel/Place Foch/various restaurants.

I'd stay here again if I come to Ajaccio

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NATOPatsFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2012

I was quite comfortable at this hotel, but the rooms are smaller, more dated and even a bit more expensive than other hotels in Ajaccio. The shower was very good though. Bathroom was a definite highlight.

The staff were fine. The breakfast is a self-serve buffet. It's a little bizarre, because there is a waiter there to take your room number, dressed-up to the nines while everyone else is in t-shirt and shorts, but he won't actually serve you (eg I saw a lady ask where the butter was and he just pointed to it, so she had to get up and get it whereas it would have been a nice gesture if he had fetched it for her).

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VeryAmateurReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melaka, Malaysia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2012

Was in Ajaccio last year (May 2011). Stay at this hotel for 5 days. It was very convenient. Room was a bit small but livable. Location very strategic, right in the middle of city center. Frontdesk staff was very helpful.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YoungTrekker77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ajaccio
1.7 km away
Hotel Les Mouettes
Hotel Les Mouettes
#1 of 28 in Ajaccio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
2.2 km away
Best Western Plus Ajaccio Amiraute
0.2 km away
Hotel Fesch
Hotel Fesch
#5 of 28 in Ajaccio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Mercure Ajaccio
Mercure Ajaccio
#12 of 28 in Ajaccio
3.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel San Carlu Citadelle
7.8 km away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Ajaccio Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Napoleon? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Napoleon

Property: Hotel Napoleon
Address: 4 rue Lorenzo Vero | BP 28, 20181 Ajaccio, Communaute d'Agglomeration du Pays Ajaccien, Corsica, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Corsica > Corse-du-Sud > Communaute d'Agglomeration du Pays Ajaccien > Ajaccio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Ajaccio
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ajaccio
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ajaccio
#3 Family Hotel in Ajaccio
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,156 - ₹ 10,454
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Napoleon 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For people interested in sight seeing and business travel,Hotel Napoleon located in Ajaccio city center,a few steps away from congress meeting place,combines expected comfort of a three star,attractiveness and services of a provincial hotel: Sound proof and air conditioned bedrooms,digital channels TV,canal +,free wifi access,individual safe,hair dryer. Open all the year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Napoleon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napoleon Hotel Ajaccio
Hotel Napoleon Ajaccio, Corsica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing