We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A pleasant stay almost ruined by a rude reception”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel de la Paix
Ranked #4 of 69 Hotels in Reims
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A pleasant stay almost ruined by a rude reception”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

I think the problem with this hotel is inconsistent staff. Although i found most of their staff friendly and helpful, there were a few that were rude and unwilling to help. The worst one was the lady that checked us into the hotel. First of all, there was no greeting or smile. She just took the voucher from me and threw it back at me a few minutes afterwards saying that she couldn't find my name on the voucher, which was clearly written on the front. Ok, fine. I then handed her my passport. Then she handed me an electronic key and gave me instructions as if i was an idiot. She said, "this is an electronic key, u know? You have to tap it at the door. It gives you electricity, ok?" It was quite offensive to hear. A simple "let me know if you have any questions" would've been fine. And then when my husband asked if a password was necessary for the free wifi, she rolled her eyes again. First, she said of course it's not necessary because it was free, then she gave us an access code. Isn't that the equivalent of a password?

We had room 626 which faces the courtyard as i had requested (from the advice of previous reviewers) which was completely away from the noise. The room, thank goodness, was clean, modern and large. I was pleased that even the bathrooms were updated and were very spacious. Internet was extremely fast.

We had wanted to book a day tour in champagne for the next day, and the guy at the evening reception was very helpful and helping us choose a tour. It was past office hours, however and he explained that the reception would be glad to book the tour for us the next morning. In the morning, it was another lady which booked the tour for us. I thought she was helpful until i realized she had booked the wrong tour. She assumed that we wanted the cheapest tour even though we specifically asked to book the private tour. When we found out it was already too late to change.

Overall it's a fine hotel to stay in if all you need is a nice clean room. But don't expect the staff to be very helpful when you seek their assistance.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coolblue22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,931 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    731
    941
    178
    62
    19
See reviews for
254
1,021
43
236
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
220 reviews
145 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 592 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

Ours was a Deluxe room on the third floor of the most recently completed part of the hotel (about 6 years ago), it overlooked a pleasant courtyard and we were delighted with it and, in particular, with the space it offered.

The sitting area had a large comfortable settee, flat screen TV and a writing desk with two armchairs, plus storage for baggage An attractive bay window provided lots of light and had a table and two more armchairs set within the bay. These chairs were surprisingly comfortable, given that they were of solid plastic! Wood featured prominently in the room, but none of it was real so not one tree was felled to provide furniture and features.

But despite all this wood there was not one drawer in the room - not even a little one - although there was a wardrobe with plenty of hangers A floor to ceiling (almost) room divider separated the sitting area from the bedroom and provided numerous open shelves on which all clothing which could not be hung was "displayed". Given that our stay was one of six nights we had lots to display on the shelves; a bit like a charity shop really!

As to the bed and pillows, they could not have been more comfortable and the beautifully laundered bed linen was changed daily. Bed lights were well arranged for reading and all lighting controlled from easily reached bedside switches.

Double sliding doors of polished aluminium gave entry to a large area housing a deep and fullsized bath and a washbasin of generous proportions, and a further sliding door led to a spacious shower cubicle with ultra efficient shower heads, both hand held and high level, and to the WC. Bath sheets and hand towels were large, thick and fluffy and changed daily unless placed on hooks. Housekeeping was absolutely first class.

Breakfast, charged extra at 14 Euros per person, was acceptable and offered reasonable choice, but could not be described as a banquet or feast. The hotel's restaurant was incredibly popular and busy with local people and, having eaten two dinners there, we can understand why. Quality and choice of dishes was excellent and, though pricey, well worth the money, and wines were by no means overpriced.

In summary, this is a splendid hotel in a wonderful location and with friendly and helpful staff, and we shall probably make a point of returning there sometime in the future.

Room Tip: Try for a room overlooking the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank billyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, UK
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

We stayed for one night over Easter. All was acceptable except the hair dryer malfunctioned while my wife was using it. We reported the fault over the telephone, and in person at reception, but the hotel was unable to provide a solution, because, it seems, that a solution of any kind wasn't available on a Sunday morning. My wife had to complete our walking visit of the Cathederal, etc. with wet hair on a particularly cold and winy morning. We contacted the hotel by email on returning home. Bizarrely, the response was to let us know that the hair dryer had been fixed or replaced on Monday morning. We were back home by then. In short, a poor reaction to a problem that should have been the hotel's problem, and not ours.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saddler01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

We visited this hotel for 2 nights as part of a tour of the Champagne region and found it very modern in style but having a warm atmosphere throughout. The staff were very friendly and helpful, including obtaining stamps for our postcards back to UK, there were kettle and drink facilities in our Privelege Room and lots of space and facilites and a very comfy bed.
Breakfast was also very extensive in content.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the cobbled street crossing the pedestrain presinct and were not aware of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelGarforth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reims hotels
Chateau Les Crayeres
#1 of 69 in Reims
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre Erlon-Est
Hotel Azur
Hotel Azur
#3 of 69 in Reims
4.0 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
L'Assiette Champenoise
#1 of 10 in Tinqueux
4.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
Hincmar
Mercure Reims Centre Cathedrale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel de la Paix? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel de la Paix

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel de la Paix
Address: 9 rue Buirette, 51100, Reims, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Grand Est > Marne > Reims
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Reims
#2 Luxury Hotel in Reims
#2 Business Hotel in Reims
#3 Romantic Hotel in Reims
#4 Family Hotel in Reims
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,336 - ₹ 15,342
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel de la Paix 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel de la Paix is located in the heart of Reims, in an exceptional setting. A stone's throw away from the cathedral, our hotel is also situated near the conventioncentre and the highspeed train station.The hotel, which combines modernity and cultural heritage, has 165 comfortable, soundproof and air-conditioned rooms with free wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Prestigia and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel de la Paix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Reims
Best Western Reims
Reims Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing