We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great location for centre of Épérnay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Le Magellan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Le Magellan
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Epernay
Surrey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great location for centre of Épérnay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

Centrally located. Quite accommodating and friendly staff. 
One of the Best variety breakfast we had on our holiday. 
Parking was difficult although we did manage to park about 100 m away and paid 2€. It's free on Sunday's to park. 
The room was basic and clean. The bed was a small double which is a bit too small for two normal sized adults!! 
The bathroom was nice and big and had a decent sized bath. 
The wifi works in the bar downstairs but not in the bedroom. The bar was not noisy at all and was closed by the time we for back at 11pm. 
Good walking distance from the champagne bar C Comme Champagne Bar. 
Not much else to do here except drink champagne which was fine with us!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LadyCSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    31
    19
    8
    7
See reviews for
7
40
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Level Contributor
76 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights on a long weekend.
It's clean, comfortable and well appointed with large walk in showers.
It's close to the city centre and very convenient for all of the local attractions.
The room lacks a mirror close to a power outlet as my companion discovered when she needed to dry her hair.
Other than that minor issue, I have no complaints and at the price we paid I'd happily come back again.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank FatBoyJimUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern California
Level Contributor
152 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2012

We stayed here on May 31, 2011.

The owner is remodeling the 6 rooms, and ours was unfinished - no drapes, no soap, no glasses, no floor coverings, really bare bones. Had to go to the bar for a hair dryer.

The air conditioning could only be controlled from the bar downstairs - the remote in the room was disabled except for the fan speed. The owner speaks very limited English, so outside of the ordinary words, he cannot comprehend what you are saying about the problems.

There was a street light outside our windows that kept the room brightly lit all night - the shutters made little impact. I cannot sleep in a light room, so had a bad night. we checked out the next day instead of staying for the second night booked.

Room Tip: Check out the room before you agree to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PeteL92833
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lemagellan, Propriétaire at Hotel Le Magellan, responded to this review, 4 June 2012
Dear Mister Peter L........
As you know hairdryers did not arrive yet, we spoke about it together even if you say that I speak not about English.
Also, Please note Sir L. that I settle(adjust) the air conditioning of the bar only when the customers do not know how to use the remote control. What is your case.
I also think that you did not notice that everything grounds are covered with parquet
Friendly, Christophe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Epernay hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

What a find. The Hotel Le Magellan is a little gem. Not only is the hotel in the perfect location for exploring Epernay, but the rooms are modern, super clean and very reasonable. The owners are very friendly and very helpful. With their recommendation using a local taxi company, we arranged a tour around some of the smaller champagne houses. The breakfasts are great value and of a good quality. While we didn't have a chance to eat in the restaurant, the food that we saw being served looked very good. If we are ever back in Epernay, this is the only place to stay.

Room Tip: Room 6 has a small kitchette.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stewgans_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

I use trip advisor a lot when investigating places to stay, but don't often post. After my stay at Hotel Magellan, I thought I should Write a review. 8 friends and I spent 4 days in Epernay and stayed here. We took all 6 rooms in the hotel. It was absolutely perfect, great value for money and the owners could not have made us feel more welcome. It is centrally located and is within a few minutes walk of the Avenue de Champagne where you'll find all the main champgne houses. We did not eat lunch or dinner there but it was busy, and the plates of food that went by looked delicious. We did eat breakfast one morning and there were enough pastries, bread, meat and cheese to feed twice as many of us. In addition, free wifi was available in the restaurant - a bonus and something you don't get for free in more expensive hotels!

I would definitely recommend Hotel Magellan and suggest anyone visiting the Champagne region to check this place out.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wilkom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Epernay hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel Ibis Epernay Centre Ville
0.3 km away
Hotel Jean Moet
Hotel Jean Moet
#2 of 14 in Epernay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
1.5 km away
La Villa Eugene
La Villa Eugene
#1 of 14 in Epernay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
La Villa Saint Pierre
La Villa Saint Pierre
#7 of 14 in Epernay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
0.7 km away
Le Clos Raymi
Le Clos Raymi
#5 of 14 in Epernay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
0.2 km away
Les Berceaux
Les Berceaux
#12 of 14 in Epernay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Magellan? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Magellan

Property: Hotel Le Magellan
Address: 18 rue de la Juiverie, 51200, Epernay, France
Region: France > Grand Est > Marne > Epernay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Epernay
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,448 - ₹ 4,730
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Le Magellan 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel situé en hyper centre à Epernay,Tout près de la fameuse avenue de champagne.Entierement rénové en 2010, avec beaucoup de charme.- Equipé de climatisation- Salle de bain spacieuese dans chaque chambre- Internet gratuit en WIFI ou en Filaire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Le Magellan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Magellan Epernay, Champagne-Ardenne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing