We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Epernay”
Review of Hotel Le Magellan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Le Magellan
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Epernay
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Epernay”
Reviewed 30 April 2012

I use trip advisor a lot when investigating places to stay, but don't often post. After my stay at Hotel Magellan, I thought I should Write a review. 8 friends and I spent 4 days in Epernay and stayed here. We took all 6 rooms in the hotel. It was absolutely perfect, great value for money and the owners could not have made us feel more welcome. It is centrally located and is within a few minutes walk of the Avenue de Champagne where you'll find all the main champgne houses. We did not eat lunch or dinner there but it was busy, and the plates of food that went by looked delicious. We did eat breakfast one morning and there were enough pastries, bread, meat and cheese to feed twice as many of us. In addition, free wifi was available in the restaurant - a bonus and something you don't get for free in more expensive hotels!

I would definitely recommend Hotel Magellan and suggest anyone visiting the Champagne region to check this place out.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wilkom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    32
    21
    8
    7
See reviews for
7
40
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Very good value room in central Epernay. Above a bar/restaurant with very friendly staff. They really appreciated my attempts to speak French! Room was simple but clean and bathroom had a huge shower. Think it was number 2! you could hear footsteps due to laminate flooring but we were not disturbed. We parked nearby in underground carpark which was excellent value at 5 euros for 24 hours. Breakfast was delicious, very generous and fresh bread and pastries.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PippaCl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 April 2012

This new hotel and restaurant is quite simple but neat and clean, and most of all; personal and friendly.

We stayed here in early april 2012, and really enjoyed it. A very friendly and helpful young family is running it. Only six rooms, we had room 4 - on the top floor; nice big bed, some space and a little view. The location is excellent, walking distance to the champagne shops. Easy to find cheap parking around the corner.

The breakfast is tasty and of really good value, and so is their brasserie. They also have an outdoor patio for the brasserie, but because of the weather it hadn't open yet.

We don't speak any French, and they speak little English, but they really made an effort to communicate with us. Very helpful, indeed.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A_Sweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bunbury, Australia
Level Contributor
441 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

This delightful hotel is great value. Our room was large and very clean. Bathroom is well appointed with a great shower. The staff are very helpful and answered all of our many questions about the area. We highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank l0tusdesigns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plovdiv, Bulgaria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 December 2011

It was i nice surprise for me, very close to the railway station ( 8 -10 minutes by foot), delicious breakfast, very hospitable and friendly couple the owners are :))) not expensive (even the bar)- very good ratio price - comfort. very helpful attitude.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stoycho K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Epernay hotels
0.5 km away
La Villa Saint Pierre
La Villa Saint Pierre
#6 of 14 in Epernay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Ibis Epernay Centre Ville
0.3 km away
Hotel Jean Moet
Hotel Jean Moet
#2 of 14 in Epernay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Kyriad Epernay
Kyriad Epernay
#10 of 14 in Epernay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
1.9 km away
Comfort Suites Epernay
Comfort Suites Epernay
#8 of 14 in Epernay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
1.6 km away
La Villa Eugene
La Villa Eugene
#1 of 14 in Epernay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Magellan? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Magellan

Property: Hotel Le Magellan
Address: 18 rue de la Juiverie, 51200, Epernay, France
Region: France > Grand Est > Marne > Epernay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Epernay
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,282 - ₹ 4,717
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Le Magellan 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel situé en hyper centre à Epernay,Tout près de la fameuse avenue de champagne.Entierement rénové en 2010, avec beaucoup de charme.- Equipé de climatisation- Salle de bain spacieuese dans chaque chambre- Internet gratuit en WIFI ou en Filaire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Le Magellan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Magellan Epernay, Champagne-Ardenne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing