We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of our most memorable meals in France”
Review of Le Gosier Sec

Le Gosier Sec
Ranked #3 of 9 Restaurants in Villandry
Price range: US$ 20 - US$ 27
Cuisines: Grill
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 18 June 2018

This was my first experience dining in a cave. That was fun, but it's the food that I would go back for. My wife had a salmon tartare with a black pepper and goat cheese ice cream. Fantastic. I have the foie gras terrine which was very good as well. Our server suggested some local wines to pair with our menu. Both the rose and red were reasonably priced and delicious. My wife had the sea bass with candied fennel which was the best fish dish that she had ever had. Cooked perfectly and although simply prepared, full of flavor and very fresh. I had a steak with a blue cheese cream sauce. Perfectly cooked and seasoned. For dessert we had a pair of chocolate desserts with roasted banana ice cream. Even though we were pleasantly full by then, there was an incredibly cheap plate of local cheeses that we couldn't resist, just to finish up the wine. A wonderful experience.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Duncan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (186)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4 - 8 of 186 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2018

Booked a New Year Day lunch for the family. Found many other local families enjoying a fine food of family run establishment in a cave. The small team did an outstanding job serving a full house. This is great French country dining!

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank SNCFVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017 via mobile

We came here for an early dinner after visiting chateau de villandry. The food was spectacular! We had the salmon & tomato salad for starters and then the beef and the lamb. It was amazing. The creme brûlée for desert was the best we've ever had. Would definitely recommend!

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank dhfb2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2017 via mobile

Location - just off the autoroute. In a cave setting. Interesting experience

Food - simple and good.
Starter - pate and escargot
Plat - guinea fowl & fish
Dessert - chocolate mousse & chocolate caramel tarte
Menu 24 € & 18€

Environment - in a cave setting so very unique and still cold in May! Friendly in house dog.

Service - it was great! The madame served us herself and she speaks good English.

Overall - value for money definitely.

Attached are the photos of the food we ate.

Date of visit: May 2017
Thank bebe18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2017

Excellent food and very good cheerful service. Nice place to eat and it was open on a Sunday night. Good value and very nice house wine.

Date of visit: May 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jongo6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Gosier Sec also viewed

Villandry, Indre-et-Loire
Villandry, Indre-et-Loire
 
Villandry, Indre-et-Loire
 
Savonnieres, Indre-et-Loire
Villandry, Indre-et-Loire
 

Been to Le Gosier Sec? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing