We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very accommodating”
Review of Hotel du Manoir

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel du Manoir
Ranked #28 of 88 Hotels in Tours
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 June 2017

We were cycling the Loire and booked our room last minute. The Hotel got back to us right away and had a room for us. They also kept 2 large bags for us for 2 days while we cycled to Amboise and back. We were very grateful to them for making our journey so easy.
I would definitely recommend this hotel to friends and family. Great location, breakfast and wonderful staff!

Room Tip: All rooms are good. Beds are comfy. Some rooms are very small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kathleen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (183)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 183 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2017

The hotel is about a fifteen minute walk from the main historic area that has tons of great restaurants and bars. On the walk you will find lots of shopping and some bars/restaurants, but the hub is about 15 minutes away (which is nice, as the neighborhood is very quiet at night). It is also very close to the cathedral which is beautiful. The room itself was perfectly nice - decent beds and standard private bath. I highly recommend taking breakfast in the downstairs basement, as it is a quick, easy and tasty start to your morning. There was a selection of cheeses, sliced meats, hearty rolls, buttery croissants, yogurt and parfait fixings, fruit, jam and nutella for spreads, orange juice and coffee. The BEST part about the hotel, however, is the parking spot! Reserve it ahead of time for a very reasonable nightly fee to avoid the hassle of finding nearby street parking. I will warn you that your car will need to be in the lot no later than 10pm (2200) or the gate will be closed and you will have to park on the street. We discovered this the hard way one night and were lucky to find a nearby spot. My only small complaint about our stay was that we hadn't been told to have the car in the lot by 10pm. Otherwise, our stay was wonderful. It is also worth noting that we stayed here for our whole trip to the Loire Valley, as Tours is so central to the wineries, towns and chateau we were visiting. Highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Emily Spencer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine H, Gérant at Hotel du Manoir, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2017

We would like to thank you for taking the time to review your stay and are glad you enjoyed your stay here. Again, our sincere apologies for this parking issue, since we've known about what happened to you the word has been spread to the whole team to be sure to let guests know about this closing time as soon as they arrive.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2017

I felt very much at home at the Hotel du Manoir. My room felt as if it was in a private residence, and the overall 'look' was pleasantly domestic rather than slick and commercial. Special effort was taken over the breakfast, and the quality of the bedlinens was impressively high (crisp sheets, snowy white bedspread etc.). The house itself is beautiful from the outside, and the location is superb, with the station round the corner and the cathedral very close in the other direction. The only drawback was street noise: I had to sleep with the window shut because of passing cars, which were quite loud but fortunately not voluminous. Nevertheless, I would be more than happy to stay there again and to enjoy the manifold delights of Tours with this as home base. About €88 for a single room including breakfast and good free wifi.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine H, Gérant at Hotel du Manoir, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2017

Thank you for this charming feedback, we are glad you enjoyed both hotel and city. It would be our pleasure to have you here again. Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2017

Beautiful old building set in the heart of the city. Recommended for city tour. Characterful and charming. Staff very helpful. Would be more than willing to stay at this location again and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Richard_Sandra2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine H, Gérant at Hotel du Manoir, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2017

We would like to thank you as we appreciate the feedback and are glad you had a good time in Tours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2016

This small hotel is run by two lovely women who take turns at the reception and dining room. I stayed there for one week, and found it absolutely charming. The staff went out of its way to accommodate my various requests. Think family-owned place, with all the flexibility this entails: I could help myself to utensils from the kitchen, use their ironing board, they even did my laundry and folded it on my bed! truly exceptional.

I speak French, so communication was easy and convivial. The breakfast is perhaps the only thing that needs improvement - I had the same basic breakfast for seven days straight - not a single item was added to the menu throughout my stay here. But then again, French breakfasts are like that - coffee, pastry, basically that's all.

The hotel is close to the train station, yet tucked away in a residential area which is extremely quiet. I recommend it wholeheartedly to anyone thinking of visiting Tours. The historical center of the town is 15 minutes walk, and you also have various store and restaurants in close proximity.

Like many French establishments it has not air-conditioning, but it's usually not an issue, as the weather in Tours is usually fair.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank gastronusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tours hotels
0.3 km away
Hotel Mirabeau
Hotel Mirabeau
#9 of 88 in Tours
352 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Colbert
Hotel Colbert
#6 of 88 in Tours
289 reviews
0.3 km away
Best Western Plus L'Artist Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Hotel Ronsard
Hotel Ronsard
#7 of 88 in Tours
395 reviews
0.2 km away
Val de Loire Hotel
Val de Loire Hotel
#31 of 88 in Tours
97 reviews
0.5 km away
Best Western Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Manoir? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Manoir

Address: 2 rue Traversiere, 37000, Tours, France
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Tours
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Tours
Price Range: ₹ 4,281 - ₹ 8,563 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel du Manoir 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a quiet street of the city center, the hotel is a 5-minute walk away from Tours train station. Our 20 rooms all have en-suite bathroom and TV. All floors can be easily reached with our lift. Paying parking spaces are available upon previous request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel du Manoir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Manoir Hotel
Du Manoir Tours
Hotel Du Manoir Tours, France - Centre-Val De Loire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing