We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, great location”
Review of Hotel du Manoir

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel du Manoir
Ranked #27 of 87 Hotels in Tours
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 February 2012

We stayed at this hotel for a couple of nights during a trip to France in June 2011. The hotel's in a central location, with short walks to restaurants and places of interest as well as the train station. The exterior, especially the garden, is attractive, while the rooms are not fancy but are clean and comfortable, even if they are a bit dated. The breakfast was very good, with a wide selection of fresh food; it was among the better hotel breakfasts we had during our trip.

Part of the hotel fronts on to the Rue Jules Simon, which gets a fair bit of traffic during morning and afternoon rush hours. This can be a bit noisy, and is also something to keep in mind if you're arriving by car. (This street and the Rue Traversière are also both one way streets, which is also worth keeping in mind if you're arriving by car.)

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tufaceous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (180)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 40 of 180 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2012

I visited Tours in January 2012 and stayed at this quaint hotel. The room was beautifully decorated and I had a lovely view out of my window onto the grounds. I was on the second floor and there is a lift. The bathroom was quite adequate although the bath towels are on the small side and that would be my only criticism. The room was clean!! There is free wifi and Central heating. The staff are just so friendly. The location is brilliant a short walk from the Train Station ( which is having major refurbishment done). Across the road from the station is the large, new Tourist Office - if you turn right there and follow the road along then first street let and you will find the hotel (signposted) on the right... Further down the street is the very large and very beautiful cathedral (Saint Gatien) which I entered a number of times and was fortunate enough to enjoy an impressive pipe organ recital on one random visit!! Beautiful windows!!

The hotel is very reasonably priced and easy walking distance to all and sundry!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnnaAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

The place is lovely just like in a fairy tale. I love sitting in the table in the garden in the morning and have a cup of coffee. They know how to make this hotel lively with light colors and flowers. However the weather in town is quite hot and humid. It’s a little bit uncomortable sleeping in my first nights because it was hot. But apart from the tiny point, this hotel still worths it!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RitaJHuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2011

The hotel was just fine; exactly what you might expect from a small 2* French provincial hotel. This one had a charming, attractive exterior with a fairly ordinary interior, nevertheless very clean and comfortable. We stayed for 1 night only in a twin bedded room fronting onto the street which had a bath as requested but no overhead shower. Now the dear lady wife likes a bath and I like a shower and you kind of expect both possibilities if you book a room with a bath. There was a shower fitting just above the taps with the usual flexible hose so you could stand up and use it if you wished but there was no shower screen or curtain so it was more intended for washing your hair when sitting in the bath. Anyway, not a major issue when staying for only 1 night. The room was reasonably good value at €70.00 Euros but quite small and I think if we were staying for more than 1 night then I would have happily paid more for a larger room. I would suggest looking at their website before booking and being specific as to what type of room you want.

There was a very, good choice at breakfast, some might say expensive, but I think it was just about good value at €9.00 Euros. We certainly enjoyed it. Also the car parking was secure; they lock the gates at night and again fair value at €7.00 Euros for the night. However, there are only 4 spaces so make sure you book in advance if you need it.

Finally, the central location of the hotel is excellent with just a short walk up Rue Jules Simon to the magnificent cathedral and then a left turn after this into Rue Colbert which is lined with many bars and restaurants. Here we had a very good meal at Restaurant La Ruche as recommended by the hotel; we can certainly endorse the recommendation. Continue along Rue Colbert until you reach the historic old town, this is within a 15 minute walk of the hotel and is absolutely charming. Tours is certainly a very pleasant city with the River Loire running right through it!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2011

Tours surprised me, I didn't expect such a beautiful town. This hotel is perfect for a couple of nights as it too is a pretty place. Pleasant rooms, clean, decent value and despite being an old house there is a lift if you are on the top floors.
The car park is famously tight but the owners will park for you if you wish. Good breakfast too.

Room Tip: If you want decent size rooms I would avoid the top floor. The rooms there are nice but a wee bit cr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PhilMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tours hotels
0.3 km away
Hotel Mirabeau
Hotel Mirabeau
#11 of 87 in Tours
347 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Colbert
Hotel Colbert
#4 of 87 in Tours
288 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Ronsard
Hotel Ronsard
#6 of 87 in Tours
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Best Western Plus L'Artist Hotel
0.6 km away
Logis Hotel des Chateaux de la Loire
0.2 km away
Val de Loire Hotel
Val de Loire Hotel
#33 of 87 in Tours
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Manoir? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Manoir

Address: 2 rue Traversiere, 37000, Tours, France
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Tours
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Tours
Price Range: ₹ 4,989 - ₹ 15,275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel du Manoir 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a quiet street of the city center, the hotel is a 5-minute walk away from Tours train station. Our 20 rooms all have en-suite bathroom and TV. All floors can be easily reached with our lift. Paying parking spaces are available upon previous request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel du Manoir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Manoir Hotel
Du Manoir Tours
Hotel Du Manoir Tours, France - Centre-Val De Loire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing