We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish and charming accommodation”
Review of Hotel de Biencourt

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel de Biencourt
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Azay-le-Rideau
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 9 July 2017

Hotel de Biencourt is perfectly located in the centre of Azay le Rideau, just a few metres from the beautiful Chateau.

The building once housed a school and is decorated with painted images that reflect its history. The furniture and furnishings are modern, elegant and create a relaxed atmosphere.

Breakfast is served in a spacious dining room and the produce is all locally sourced and attention is paid to its presentation.

The owners are most obliging and happily gave advice on local restaurants for evening meals and booked tables for us.

Azay le Rideau itself is small and a delighful town to stroll around.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WelshWench1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fargues1, Propriétaire at Hotel de Biencourt, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2017

Bonjour WelshWench
Thank you for these lovely comments. The whole hotel team is very grateful. We look forward seing you again.
Kind regards
Marie-Laure et Patrick Fargues

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (360)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 360 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2017 via mobile

This was our first stop on our walking holiday, we were met at the door on arrival by Monsieur Fargues who was an absolute gentleman, nothing was to difficult our rom was in the courtyard very quite nice size (family room) very clean. He took the time to explain where the restaurants were and which ones were open. Breakfast was very good and we also received a picnic at breakfast before starting our picnic was excellent absolutely 5 stars which was heart considering there was a heat wave on and the temperature was 35c. All in all I can truly recommend this small but excellent hotel in a very nice town.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank jeffrey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fargues1, Propriétaire at Hotel de Biencourt, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2017

Bonjour Jeffrey
Thank you for having taken the time to comment your stay. Your suggestions and remarks are welcomed. The whole hotel team looks forward seeing you again.
Kind regards
Marie-Laure et Patrick Fargues

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2017

Everything was beautiful, clean, and quaint. Check in was quick and the man who runs the hotel was very friendly and helpful. He gave us a map and drew a suggested walking route on it as well as some recommended restaurants nearby. The chateau is just steps down the street. We parked in a nearby lot (a block away) which was free.

The rooms were very nice with a renovated bathroom and we had a window facing the courtyard. Wifi was free and worked well. I only wish there had been air conditioning because it happened to be scorching hot and humid the day we were there. That being said, the hotel room was cool enough with the window open during the night.

We opted in for the breakfast in the morning. They source their food locally and it was delicious (I think it may have been organic too?).

Note: I didn't notice an elevator. We were only up one flight of stairs so we carried our luggage up. I think there may have been additional floors. Just something to keep in mind if you have trouble with stairs. I don't think there were rooms on the bottom floor, so you're looking at going up at least one flight.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Brie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fargues1, Propriétaire at Hotel de Biencourt, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2017

Bonjour Brie H
Thank you for taking the time to post this very nice review. Your remarks about our hotel is very pleasant. We will be glad to see you again.
Marie-Laure et Patrick Fargues

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2017

We stayed here while walking through the Loire Valley and were delighted in the hotel and especially Patrick the owner he was so helpful in directing us what was avaiable in the areaa and places to eat i would love to stay again!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maxine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fargues1, Propriétaire at Hotel de Biencourt, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2017

Bonjour Maxine,
We are happy you took the time to post about our hotel. We are pleased to see you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again.
Marie-Laure et Patrick Fargues

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2017 via mobile

This is one of those hotels with hidden charms behind a nondescript street entrance. The hosts are very friendly and obliging...the Madame who spoke good English did a bag of washing for a token sum. Inside are comfortable lounge areas with modern furnishings. The bedrooms are just as well furnished with very modern bathrooms including great showers for hot weary cyclists (storing bikes was easy in a lockup across the road) .

An inner courtyard (Pictured) with gardens and stone-walled elegance provided a superb quiet spot to quaff a wine or two and play cards under large sun umbrellas.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Diceman61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fargues1, Propriétaire at Hotel de Biencourt, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2017

Bonjour Diceman,
We are glad to see that you spent a good time in our hotel. We hope this taste of Azay le Rideau will make you to come back . Kind regards.
Marie-Laure et Patrick Fargues

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Azay-le-Rideau
0.2 km away
Le Grand Monarque
Le Grand Monarque
#3 of 10 in Azay-le-Rideau
337 reviews
9.1 km away
Le Haut des Lys
Le Haut des Lys
#1 of 3 in Villandry
311 reviews
1.0 km away
Troglododo
Troglododo
#2 of 10 in Azay-le-Rideau
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Hotel des Chateaux
Hotel des Chateaux
#4 of 10 in Azay-le-Rideau
97 reviews
18.9 km away
Domaine de la Tortiniere
19.6 km away
Hotel Diderot
Hotel Diderot
#1 of 15 in Chinon
922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Biencourt? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Biencourt

Address: 7 rue Balzac | Azay le Rideau, 37190 Azay-le-Rideau, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Azay-le-Rideau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Azay-le-Rideau
#1 Best Value Hotel in Azay-le-Rideau
#1 Green Hotel in Azay-le-Rideau
Price Range: ₹ 5,141 - ₹ 9,361 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de Biencourt 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renovated charming hotel very close to the castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Hotel de Biencourt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Biencourt Azay Le Rideau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing