We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Le Grand Monarque(Azay-le-Rideau)
US$ 114
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 132/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Troglododo(Azay-le-Rideau)
US$ 122
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
L'auberge Pom'poire(Azay-le-Rideau)
US$ 112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TrogloDelice(Azay-le-Rideau)
US$ 97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Booking.com
View Deal
Les Trois Lys(Azay-le-Rideau)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Val de Loire(Azay-le-Rideau)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chez Charitha(Azay-le-Rideau)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel des Chateaux(Azay-le-Rideau)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (394)
Filter reviews
395 results
Traveller rating
302
83
7
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
302
83
7
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold schoollovely hotelpedestrianised streetloire valleythe ownercycling holidayrooms are cleanconverted schooldelightful place to staysmall courtyardfamily roomexcellent wificycle tourfree parkingsourced locallyde charmebreakfast buffet was delicious
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 395 reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2017 via mobile

This was our first stop on our walking holiday, we were met at the door on arrival by Monsieur Fargues who was an absolute gentleman, nothing was to difficult our rom was in the courtyard very quite nice size (family room) very clean. He took the time to explain where the restaurants were and which ones were open. Breakfast was very good and we also received a picnic at breakfast before starting our picnic was excellent absolutely 5 stars which was heart considering there was a heat wave on and the temperature was 35c. All in all I can truly recommend this small but excellent hotel in a very nice town.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank jeffrey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fargues1, Propriétaire at Hotel de Biencourt, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2017

Bonjour Jeffrey
Thank you for having taken the time to comment your stay. Your suggestions and remarks are welcomed. The whole hotel team looks forward seeing you again.
Kind regards
Marie-Laure et Patrick Fargues

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2017

Everything was beautiful, clean, and quaint. Check in was quick and the man who runs the hotel was very friendly and helpful. He gave us a map and drew a suggested walking route on it as well as some recommended restaurants nearby. The chateau is just steps down the street. We parked in a nearby lot (a block away) which was free.

The rooms were very nice with a renovated bathroom and we had a window facing the courtyard. Wifi was free and worked well. I only wish there had been air conditioning because it happened to be scorching hot and humid the day we were there. That being said, the hotel room was cool enough with the window open during the night.

We opted in for the breakfast in the morning. They source their food locally and it was delicious (I think it may have been organic too?).

Note: I didn't notice an elevator. We were only up one flight of stairs so we carried our luggage up. I think there may have been additional floors. Just something to keep in mind if you have trouble with stairs. I don't think there were rooms on the bottom floor, so you're looking at going up at least one flight.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Brie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fargues1, Propriétaire at Hotel de Biencourt, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2017

Bonjour Brie H
Thank you for taking the time to post this very nice review. Your remarks about our hotel is very pleasant. We will be glad to see you again.
Marie-Laure et Patrick Fargues

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2017

We stayed here while walking through the Loire Valley and were delighted in the hotel and especially Patrick the owner he was so helpful in directing us what was avaiable in the areaa and places to eat i would love to stay again!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maxine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fargues1, Propriétaire at Hotel de Biencourt, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2017

Bonjour Maxine,
We are happy you took the time to post about our hotel. We are pleased to see you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again.
Marie-Laure et Patrick Fargues

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2017 via mobile

This is one of those hotels with hidden charms behind a nondescript street entrance. The hosts are very friendly and obliging...the Madame who spoke good English did a bag of washing for a token sum. Inside are comfortable lounge areas with modern furnishings. The bedrooms are just as well furnished with very modern bathrooms including great showers for hot weary cyclists (storing bikes was easy in a lockup across the road) .

An inner courtyard (Pictured) with gardens and stone-walled elegance provided a superb quiet spot to quaff a wine or two and play cards under large sun umbrellas.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Diceman61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fargues1, Propriétaire at Hotel de Biencourt, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2017

Bonjour Diceman,
We are glad to see that you spent a good time in our hotel. We hope this taste of Azay le Rideau will make you to come back . Kind regards.
Marie-Laure et Patrick Fargues

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2017

This was a delightful place to stay at both the start and finish of our five day cycle break. The staff were extremely welcoming, knowledgeable and helpful. Delicious, locally sourced produce was available in plentiful supply at breakfast. The rooms were clean, stylishly decorated and extremely comfortable. This gem of a hotel is conveniently located, close to several super restaurants, charming shops and a stones throw from the chateau. The bike rental shop was also within easy walking distance.

Room Tip: Annexe overlooking the courtyard are very pleasant, airy and comfortable.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rhona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fargues1, Propriétaire at Hotel de Biencourt, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2017

Good morning Rhona
Thank you for your kind comment. Everyone here appreciates. We are pleased to see you again in Azay le Rideau.
Kind regards
Marie-Laure et Patrick Fargues

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews