We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Charming house - location cannot be beaten!”
other travellers have booked this property
La Porte Bleue vue depuis l'autre rive, au pied du château.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
La Porte Bleue vue depuis l'autre rive, au pied du château.
Depuis le pont
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
46 reviews
La Porte Bleue vue depuis l'autre rive, au pied du château.
Depuis le pont
Vue du haut du château
L'enseigne sous la neige
Gîte du premier étage : vue d'ensemble avec le séjour et les 2 chambres au fond
Depuis le coin cuisine
Vue depuis l'autre angle : la porte d'entrée, celle de la salle d'eau
Le coin cuisine
Juste en face du château...
Cuisine complètement équipée
Chambre coté Loire : le Velux semble encadrer le château
Seconde chambre sur cour
Salle d'eau avec toilettes fermées
Lavabo
Gîte du rez-de-chaussée : la Loire est toute proche, le château juste en face
Vue de tout le rez-de-chaussée
Gîte du rez-de-chaussée
La Porte Bleue est tout en haut de la photo, à droite
Coucher de soleil sur le château : photo prise devant la maison
Soir d'orage devant la maison
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Amboise, Loire Valley, Centre-Val de Loire

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
jennyk198...
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Charming house - location cannot be beaten!”
Reviewed 20 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015
3
people found this review helpful

Look no further! Stay here!! Amboise is a great town to base yourselves to see the chateaux in the Loire Valley and this location in Amboise is unbeatable. We stayed in the downstairs apartment which was huge for the two of us, comfortable and has everything you could ask for (from a very well equipped kitchen to washer/dryer in the basement), not to mention the stunning view of Chateau d'Amboise to greet us everyday when we woke up and returned home. The place is so much better than I expected. It is understated, charming and the host Chantal (who lives a few doors down around the corner) is very helpful (she reminded us a little of Julia from ‘Julie and Julia’). The bikes came in very handy. We really loved riding around Amboise. My husband also rode across the bridge in the morning to get us fresh baguettes.

La Porte Bleue is very special and is great value for money. I honestly can’t fault this place. It’s like staying at your long lost family’s holiday house. Just trust me - stop looking and stay here!

Rooms Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Apr 2015
Oh thank you Jenny, you're so kind !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bcuziseds...
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Give yourself the best gift ever and stay here!!”
Reviewed 18 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Chantal is the best host ever and the gite is perfectly situated for amazing views of the town and chateau.. it's like being in a picture book. Centrally located for viewing the Loire River Valley and it's chateaux and local wineries. Loved very second!!

Location Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doug B
NJ
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“I wish I could have stayed longer”
Reviewed 19 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The Blue Door was exactly what we were looking for. A great view across the river to Château Amboise and an easy walk to everything we needed (basically restaurants and night, pastries in the morning and Châteaus during the day). As an added bonus, Chantal was great. Email before, during and after our stay, met us at the door, welcomed us in, made suggestions (and reservations). She really made us wish we could have fit in another day (or two?) in the area.

Value Rooms
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josie_Jo...
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Perfect! Loved it! Totally relaxing place to stay in Amboise.”
Reviewed 1 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

I did a lot of web research before I booked and could not find a single bad word said about this place. The reason of course is the wonderful host Chantal who has so cleverly provided a gorgeous comfortable apartment at such a reasonable rate. I'm not sure I can add much that all the other reviewers have't already said. Our stay was for 7 nights and our family of 4 travelled by train from Paris. Chantal was there waiting for us at the station as promised.

The ambiance of the first floor apartment enabled us all to relax immediately. This was such a welcome change from the busyness of Paris. Throwing open the windows we could hear the sound of the river flowing by...just gorgeous. The view of the castle is amazing and we never got bored of looking out as it looked quite different in the changing light.

Everything you could possibly need was in the apartment. The kitchen was well equipped, there was an ipod dock, great shower with excellent pressure...I honestly didn't want to leave.

We hired a car for the week and enjoyed exploring the many Chateau's the Loire region has to offer. Each afternoon we would return to just relax, go for a walk along the river or wander around the small town of Amboise. We ate some lovely meals out and also cooked. Our favorite restaurant was la Forchette which we ate at twice and highly recommend (must book the day before).

My girls (10 and 13) still say this was their favorite place they stayed in our month in France. I have to agree!

Rooms Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Oct 2014
Oh Joanne, it's so lovely ! Thank you very much. And maybe.... another time !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HowardRob...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Utterly charming apartment with an equally charming host”
Reviewed 22 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We messed up our dates and arrived a day early and without blinking Chantal put us up for the night at no extra cost and was most convivial throughout our stay booking us into a restaurant the first night. When we got into the cottage the next day we were stunned at how beautiful it had been decorated with its postcard view of the castle.

The location is perfect with only a 5 minute walk down to the center of Amboise and we went to the market on Sunday (a couple of minutes more) and bought artisan bread, cheese and ham and enjoyed them either for a picnic or in the apartment with its stunning view. The perfect place to explore the Loire Valley from and if we came this way again there is only one place to stay!!

Rooms Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$ 119
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing