We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a must for those interested in medieval history & architecture”

La Basilique Sainte Marie-Madeleine
Book In Advance
More Info
US$ 248.59*
and up
Small-Group Burgundy Day Trip from Paris Including Chablis, Vézelay and Château...
Ranked #1 of 6 things to do in Vezelay
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This massive medieval cathedral dominates the village of Vézelay.
grenoble
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“a must for those interested in medieval history & architecture”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

The village is beautiful, unspoilt, the "basilique St Madeleine" is exceptional. there are plenty of hotels & restaurants. Not far from Vèzelay there is a 2 ** restaurant , we didn't go there as it was closed.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank brian341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

650 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    459
    163
    23
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rosewood Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Worth a look”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2011

Excellent example of religious history.
Easy to access and some parking available.
We spent about 1 hour but would have stayed longer only it was raining and very cold.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Leon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neath
Level Contributor
133 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Go to the Crypt!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2011

This is a quite beautiful church in a very quaint, arty, ethereal town. You had the feeling that the church was very pastoral, some churches frighten the heck out of me, but this seemed caring and socially encompassing- St Paul's take note!

The crypt is something else, part of the Magdalene line, it contains some artefacts, but its the energy that is quite inspiring. We sat down here for 30 mins or so with only a nun as our watch, and it was so wonderful.

Just down the hill from the cathedral is a small coffee shop which is worth a stop as it has such a lovely feel, and also the candle shop opposite which sells every flavour you can imagine, and shell shapes like the camino de santiago ones.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Ali S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
349 reviews
89 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“Beautiful cathedral at the top of the town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2011

Beautiful cathedral, great photo ops. Interesting crypt!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
367 reviews
166 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 277 helpful votes
“Out of time and XXIst century...the unique experience of walking to the basilic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2011

The sacred hill is to be seen from miles around with world famous Unesco heritage basilica Ste Madeleine.
Though not catholics ourselves, my wife and me felt privileged to walk in the alleys of this highly spiritual and beautifull as well as restfull place.
We certainly would recommend to start the visit of the basilica with a) a short (3/4 h)visit to "La Maison du visiteur" : where a talented welsh man invites you to understand the cosmic vision of the early architects of the basilica as well as the many symbols hiding behind both the curch plan and columns. "From shade to light": a real must that is worth the 7 EUR we paid each.
b) followed by a guided visit under Les soeurs de la Fraternité de Jerusalem's patronage...Were we chancefull? Anyhow, rarely have we had such a wonderfull visit with so funny and rich comments by a very cultivated guide. She happened to be a nun but held fascinating universal comments that appeal to anybody whether Christian or not. She certainly helped us to better understand what this was all about in medieval times and then along its rich and dramatic history to date.

Don't walk along alone and miss both thses privileged experiences as it gives you an entirely diffrent vision of this fascinating monument you can afterwards visit quietly for your own.
Just take a warm pull over with you as we almost died by freeze and hardly understood how the sister could walk with sandals without socks...a miracle by its own...

Helpful?
5 Thank famille_LENIQUE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Basilique Sainte Marie-Madeleine also viewed

 

Been to La Basilique Sainte Marie-Madeleine? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing