We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great hotel right in the heart of Dijon” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostellerie du Chapeau Rouge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostellerie du Chapeau Rouge
Ranked #5 of 59 Hotels in Dijon
Certificate of Excellence
Naples, Italy
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great hotel right in the heart of Dijon”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

We spent two nights in this hotel when visiting Dijon. We had a family room that had plenty of space for four people. There was a bed and then the couch pulled out into two single beds for our children. To get to the room we had to take the elevator to the second floor and walk around to a staircase - this was no big deal. The room was clean and the bathroom was big. The only downside was that our keys kept demagnetizing even if we didn't have them next to anything like cellphones, keys etc. There is plenty of shopping and restaurants in the area and you can pick up the Dijon Owl trail right outside the hotel. The hotel had valet parking which was 15,00 euro per night.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eipamay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

366 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    149
    53
    20
    9
See reviews for
52
204
15
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
new york
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

While it was listed as a 3 star hotel in our Michelin guide, the bathroom was definitely 4 star! the room was comfortable and the location of the hotel was dead center in town. You could not be placed better for walking although finding the hotel with a car was not easy and, as with many old French cities, getting in and out of town was a challenge. Fortunately, people knew the name of the hotel and helped us thread our way through the one-way streets to the front door. At that point, do not even think of trying to find parking; give it up to the hotel's valet service.

The restaurant in the hotel has a one star in the Michelin guide and it is well worth it. Dinner was truly exquisite and well worth the $60/pp price. We drank the wine of the country--a great burgundy--for about $35/bottle--wine that sold for double that back in New York. Breakfast came with our room and again, it was wonderful with black currant jam made by the chef--not to be missed.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ceilidhnewyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2011

Rooms are clean and fairly large. Staff is friendly and helpful. Decorating is a bit dated. Very quiet.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelerSHL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2011

We stayed one night in this very old charm hotel. Most of the rooms have been redone in a very contemporary theme. Our room was on the small size but it was very weel appointed and comfortable. This hotel was a classic of Dijon and it stillis one of the best place to stay there. Very well situated, friendly and courteous service, a great experience!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Philippe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas TX
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2011

We arrived early and were offered our choice of rooms--we chose the room that looked as if it had come from an English country home. Large, with comfortable chairs and a sofa, pretty colors, wonderful beds and a wonderful bathroom--clean and sparkling. I asked the housekeeper for a sheet to replace the duvet that I found too warm--she sprang into action and brought me a sheet and a light linen coverlet. Everyone on the staff was friendly and helpful with directions, maps, help on using the iPad for checking e-mail. Dinner in the restaurant was delicious and interesting with excellent service; they didn't even bat an eye when we passed up wine for a bottle of water (that's rare!) Loved the decor in the lobby, the bar, and the breakfast room. Very nice breakfast. We don't usually go for the four-stars, but the Chapeau Rouge made us glad we had chosen it.

Room Tip: Arrive early (before regular check-in time) and you may get a choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LesTexans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chapeaurouge1, Responsable réception at Hostellerie du Chapeau Rouge, responded to this review, 8 October 2011
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a comment regarding your stay in our establishment.

Your opinion is very important for us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

Yours sincerely,

All hotel staff of the Best western Hostellerie du Chapeau Rouge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dijon hotels
0.3 km away
Grand Hotel La Cloche Dijon - MGallery Collection
0.5 km away
Hotel Oceania le Jura
0.3 km away
Vertigo Hotel
Vertigo Hotel
#4 of 59 in Dijon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Maison Philippe le Bon
0.6 km away
Hotel des Ducs
Hotel des Ducs
#11 of 59 in Dijon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
1.4 km away
Mercure Dijon Centre Clemenceau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostellerie du Chapeau Rouge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostellerie du Chapeau Rouge

Property: Hostellerie du Chapeau Rouge
Address: 5 rue Michelet, 21024, Dijon, France
Region: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Cote d'Or > Dijon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Dijon
#4 Luxury Hotel in Dijon
#12 Business Hotel in Dijon
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,421 - ₹ 10,913
Hotel Class:4 star — Hostellerie du Chapeau Rouge 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hostellerie du Chapeau Rouge benefits of an advantageous location at the very heart of Dijon near the cathedral St. Bénigne. The historic center is just a few minutes away by foot, and the railway station a five minute walk. The Restaurant William Frachot welcome you from tuesday to saturday at lunch and dinner. The wellness area and the valet service complete the attentive reception, open all around the clock, for your best comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Hostellerie du Chapeau Rouge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostellerie Du Chapeau Rouge Hotel Dijon
Best Western Dijon
Best Western Hotel Dijon
Dijon Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing