We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Old France Ambience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Belle Epoque

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Belle Epoque
Ranked #14 of 63 Hotels in Beaune
Certificate of Excellence
Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Old France Ambience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Belle Epoque in early June 2012. Initially we had email booked 2 nights on our exploration of the heart of the Burgundy region of France. We thought we might only spend a short stop over but the quality and value for money of the BE had us request 2 more nights. We didn't even have to change rooms when the hotel filled up. Our room was a classic stlye as befit the heritage of the building and was large by EU standards, ensuite as well.
Etienne at the day desk was equal to the quiet yet tasteful ambiance of the inn. All staff were friendly and helpful, willing to speak English or help you practice your French. The whole inn and rooms center around the old inner court yard that is a complete respite for the street out the archway. A short 5 minute walk from the entrance and you're in the central Old City.
Beaune and vineyards around were the other treat- old walls, cobbled streets, extensive markets, cafes and amazing restaurants, ancient buildings , and established wineries abounded. Rent bikes and ride for hours or days through vineyard villages with friendly citizens, tasting wines and eating cheeses.
Use the Belle Epoque as your best mid price value. If classic heritage is what you prefer then the characteristics of this inn will win you over.

Room Tip: Pick one in the main old household building with beamed ceilings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

429 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    218
    61
    15
    4
See reviews for
61
265
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
calgary
Level Contributor
71 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

The front part of the hotel where we stayed is in an older well restored building. There are newer units at the back of the courtyard. The location is perfect as you can park your car inside and walk to the main attractions and restaurants in a few minutes. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakast was nothing more than the sticky bun continental stuff.
Your experience here may vary with the room. Ours was on the third floor front. It was large, well decorated, air conditioned, but a bit gloomy for reading. We enjoyed it. Hauling 3 bags up narrow steep stairs to get there was enjoyed a bit less.
Overall, we wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: Upper rooms not advisable if you have trouble carrying bags up narrow stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jorge_v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2012

We stayed in the Belle Epoque for just 1 night (we wished it was more) in May on the way back from Monaco. Beaune is the most stunning little historic french town with an amazing old hospice to visit and quaint little shops, cafes and church. The hotel is very easy to find and parking is free and very secure. The hotel itself is immaculate with stunning and lavishly decorated rooms with the staff being very polite and attentive. Having called into the 4* hotel around the corner, I can honestly say we preferred the Belle Epoque, how this place is only 3* amazes me. Not sure why other reviewers have given poor reviews complaining of rooms being dark with no mini-bar fridges, this is a historic buiding, try a Novatel if you prefer hotels with no character and just mod-cons!

Room Tip: Rooms are either in the historic hotel building or there are other rooms in a new block (once again...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stu C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in May and had a very lovely stay. The room was huge, with a huge, king sized bed. The bathroom is roomy by European standards and has a tub and shower. All the fixtures in the bathroom were shiny, clean and new. It was a little weird that the toilet wasn't inside the bathroom, but rather in its own separate wash closet by the entrance of the room. But it didn't present a huge problem. We had an upper floor room in the older part of the building, facing the street, but the windows were double paned and the room was very quiet. The room also had AC which was great because we were there during an unexpected heatwave. The hotel had a separate parking area in the back, which was great for us since we had a car. You don't need a car to explore Beaune, the hotel is within walking distance to anywhere in Beaune. The breakfast at the hotel was adequate. It comes with coffee, orange juice and a large basket of croissants and baguette.

Now a couple of nick pick items - The carpet in the room was a little thin. The room, at least our room (no. 24), was very dim. We had small windows (as we were on the top floor) and there weren't enough lighting inside the room. The hotel had no elevator. The staircase, as you would imagine with any old European building, was narrow and winding. Carrying large suitcases up several flights of spiral stairs was a definite challenge, we had to make several trips. But all in all, we enjoyed our stay at this lovely little hotel.

Room Tip: No elevator, only narrow winding stairs. Our comfort room was super roomy, with a huge bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vwu0516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

The hotel is just on the outside the ring road of Beaune and about a 5 minute walk from the centre which made it an excellent location for wandering back from one of the wine bars in the evening. The room was clean and we had one at the back so could not hear the road or the bell which signalled people arriving. The bed and pillows were hard and unforgiving and there was no fridge or safe in the room, had the been one it would have made it a feel a bit more secure. The breakfast was a bit basic and there wasn't a lot of choice but what did we expect for the price per night?! It would have been nice to see local produce in the morning and a better wine list seeing as we are supposed to be in the capital of Burgundy. Nonetheless for roughly £80 a night it was a good deal and more to spend on wine!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TweetLet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beaune hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel de la Poste
Hotel de la Poste
#12 of 63 in Beaune
4.0 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel de Luxe le Cep
Hotel de Luxe le Cep
#3 of 63 in Beaune
4.5 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
0.4 km away
Abbaye de Maizieres
Abbaye de Maizieres
#13 of 63 in Beaune
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Ibis Styles Beaune Centre
0.6 km away
Mercure Beaune Centre
Mercure Beaune Centre
#11 of 63 in Beaune
4.0 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Des Remparts
Hotel Des Remparts
#27 of 63 in Beaune
4.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belle Epoque? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belle Epoque

Property: Hotel Belle Epoque
Address: 15 rue du Faubourg Bretonniere, 21200, Beaune, France
Region: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Cote d'Or > Beaune
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Beaune
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,452 - ₹ 9,006
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Belle Epoque 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We will have the pleasure to welcome you in this former wine merchant house, restored in the Burgundian style, located within 3 minutes walk from the town centre of Beaune. The peaceful setting, the quality of welcome and the many tourist sites will make up a very pleasant memory of your stay. The warm and family atmosphere of our hotel will charm you. The whole team of the Hotel Belle Epoque wishes you a good stay in Beaune ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Belle Epoque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belle Epoque Hotel
Belle Epoque Beaune

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing