We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Best of Burgundy Hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
L'Octroi Saint Jacques
Ranked #9 of 60 Beaune B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Level Contributor
271 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“The Best of Burgundy Hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

We stayed here Sept. 2010
Taking the train from Arles to Beaune was breathtaking and beautiful. We walked from the train station to our home for the next 4 nights L'Octroi Saint Jacques. Joselyn and Salva are 2 people I would love to have as my best friends. Warm, funny, generous, sweet. This is by far the best lodging we have ever had.

Our room was in the adjacent guest house. From what I could understand from Jocelyn, this building was a station. The draw bridge to the ramparts are here and you would pay the station master to enter the city.
There is a statue outside our room of a nude woman, with head back and hands behind her. I would give anything for this statue. It is so moving!
The bathroom is large and the walls are stone. Our bed is draped in quilts and the furniture antique.
Below us is an outside eating area, as well as an inside eating area next to their wine cellar. We ate in here most mornings, as it was chilly. Salva would bring these luscious warm croissants fresh from the bakery, and Jocelyn served home made jams and cafe. There were bowls of fruits and teas. Lovely.

My husband and I rented bikes and rode 44 kilometers thru the vineyards of Burgundy. We saw all of the grapes still on the vine. There were several pickers out 2 days prior to the "official" pick date. One picker stopped and spoke to us. He carried a conical container on his back to pick the grapes, then went up a ladder of the grape vat, bent over, and the grapes would fall into the vat. We rode along the paved bike paths, mostly alone, thru the little villages (Pommard, Volnay, Mersault where we had lunch and wine, thru Puligny-Montrachet, Chassagne-Montrachet, on to Santenay) Then back again to Beaune. It was the most memorable day.

When we arrived back from the bike shop, we stopped for bread, cheese and wine (from a cave tour the day prior of Bouchard Pere & Fils) We sat in the lovely garden and Jocelyn and Salva joined us with more cheese, wine, grapes and bread. We had a wonderful evening together. Jocelyn tried to teach me more French, and even wrote me notes. ("My daughter ma fille, my son mon fils) I still have them!

Their hospitality is second to none and their home is lovely. We truly loved this and will make Beaune and the St. Jacques our home for a longer length of time next year.

Life is good

Room Tip: All rooms are perfect. There are rooms on the 2nd level, so ask upon making reservations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ABohemianGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    24
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
15
93
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2011

My husband and I along with another couple stayed for a week at this B & B in the Sophora and Hortensia rooms in the separate building from the main house. The rooms are accommodating and the bathrooms were large. It was great having a bathtub which isn't a common occurrence in Europe. The building we were in housed the breakfast room which we had access to the fridge and microwave, if needed. The breakfasts were always scrumptious with the pastries, cheeses, meats, jams, juices, fruits and lots of good coffee. There was a variety of teas available also. There was a lovely garden to have lunch from the local stores or share in an afternoon glass of wine. There was a secured parking lot on sight for our car and coming and going was easy as we toured the many surrounding villages and vineyards. The B & B was located on ring road which made it easy access in and out of town or for walking into town. As for our hosts, Salva and Jocelyne, I cannot say enough. They are lovely people and even though they do not speak much English and our French was very limited, we had great conversations. Sign language can go a long way! I hope to stay in touch with them and hope to see them again one day. I would not have any problem recommending this B & B for any amount of nights!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicki T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
63 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2011

Jocelyn and Salvatore are lovely and gracious hosts. Location is perfect - on edge of ring road surrounding old walled city with off street parking behind locked gate. It was a tough go at first to find the right entrance - GPS dropped us beside one of the rooms on the street - but once we phoned, we were guided into the gate. Breakfast each morning was excellent - with fortification one morning vai Sal's special morning starter. One another afternoon, we were invited to share a fine bottle of burgundy with our hosts. Overall, an absolutely lovely stay in a wonderful French country town.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JFB1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saratoga Springs
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2011

We stayed at this great B&B for 3 nights upon the recommendation of a local guide we had booked for a day. Great location, huge rooms & bathrooms, impeccably clean and close to everything. As described, Jocelyn and Salva are the french grandparents you always wanted. We have limited french and they have limited english, but not a factor really--if you're staying here and in Beaune independently, you've most likely dealt with the language barrier all ready. Good breakfast included. On our check out day we had an early train, Jocelyn had our breakfast ready at 6:30 AM & Salva even drove us to the station-which is only an easy 10 minute walk. I will mention one thing, not a factor for us, but I see it mentioned on trip advisor all the time--street noise-they cleaned the streets or picked up the garbage at around 6 am daily (it seemed) so there was some noise, and traffic started at around 7:30 am--you're on the ground floor of the ring road and one of the main entrances to the centre-ville BUT-- for us the advantages and amenities of this B&B far outweighed the noise.. and remember YMMV.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Hortensia, which was large and bright.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DaveO59_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
São Paulo, Brazil
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

Stayed three nights in the Louisiana Suite with my wife and we had a wonderful time there. Location is perfect, couple of steps outside the city center, both practical and quiet by night. The room is huge and very confortable, with nice beds and a incredible bathroom (a real miracle in France). The only thing it lacks is a minibar.
The hosts, Salva and Jocelyne are a lovely couple. Very warm, friendly and communicative, they provided us with great recommendations for stores and restaurants.
We loved our stay and would definitely stay again in the Octroi!

Room Tip: The Louisiana suite its really neat, but it's on the second floor and reachable only by the stai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mhpenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beaune hotels
0.3 km away
Hotel de Luxe le Cep
Hotel de Luxe le Cep
#2 of 62 in Beaune
4.5 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
0.2 km away
Ibis Styles Beaune Centre
0.4 km away
Hotel de la Poste
Hotel de la Poste
#12 of 62 in Beaune
4.0 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Abbaye de Maizieres
Abbaye de Maizieres
#17 of 62 in Beaune
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Belle Epoque
Hotel Belle Epoque
#16 of 62 in Beaune
4.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Des Remparts
Hotel Des Remparts
#27 of 62 in Beaune
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Octroi Saint Jacques? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Octroi Saint Jacques

Property: L'Octroi Saint Jacques
Address: 2 boulevard Saint Jacques, 21200, Beaune, France
Region: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Cote d'Or > Beaune
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Beaune
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,199 - ₹ 11,514
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your L'Octroi Saint Jacques reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing