We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idyllic location, traditional charm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel France et Chateaubriand
Ranked #24 of 81 Hotels in Saint-Malo
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Idyllic location, traditional charm”
Reviewed 31 August 2011

The hotel managed to check us in a little earlier than they were expected to. We were alos given what looked like the best room in the house. I sincerely thank them for such a wonderful and unexpectedly impressive stay.

The decor was beautifully done. The room itself had a door that opened onto a balcony overlooking the vibrant area of St Malo- a sight not to be missed. The new refurbishment is of a high standard. WHoever decided to whinge that this was "too modern" couldn't be further from the truth. Its modernisation is sympathetic to its exterior and downstairs decor and doesn't appear to be blingy or look like its stright out of a Next Directory. Its just great. We had a Prestige room - worth paying the extra.

As far as St Malo is concerned, after 1 day at ho,e, I have rebooked for Christmas. The hotel is situated right in the "area to be". Don't hesitate if you are able to pay the E400 for 2 nights we spent.

The hotel also features a panoramic restaurant on its 5th floor that is decorated very tastefully. A great celebration could be spent up here. My only criticism is that it was dead at 8.15 so we didn't eat there, opting for a busy and typically Breton style al fresco dining option where we spent the evening eating seafood and a great Cote de Boeuf.

The check out process is easy with a taxi called for us. The taxi drives to the front door and whisks you away to the port within about 5 minutes.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dr_hard_to_please
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

795 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    256
    343
    123
    49
    24
See reviews for
119
457
34
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St Peter Port, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

We have stayed in this hotel numerous times over the past ten years as it is always a good stop over via our home in Guernsey.

The hotel has had quite a facelift over the past couple of years with a new lift installed to guests up to the new rooms. Our running joke, because the elevator was made by the company Shindler, was of course this was Shindlers lift. Sorry. We had room 354, which overlooks the sea and seawall - but occupies the entire corner of the hotel with three huge windows.

There is a lovely new bathroom with a separate loo - (strangely without a handbasin however in the loo, which would have been better)

The finish is not up to scratch though with quite a few bits missing from edges of painting etc, but this dosen't really matter overall as everything else is great.

The beds are really old fashioned, which looks a bit out of place with new fixtures like the flat screen TV - but this is all part of the charm.

DO have breakfast. It is Eleven euros each per day - same price for a couple of years - but well worth it. Plenty to eat - usual continental fare but with pizazz.

DO take tea in the conservatory area, listen to Alphonso the forgotten parakeet who trills like there is no tomorrow.

DO eat out at Lion D'or very good food - especially the chicken.

DO get parking with the sister hotel Hotel de la Cite, otherwise you will be driving round and round trying to find a place to park, which is not easy. This is about 6 euros per day, well worth it.

We enjoyed four days here, and whilst not the cheapest of places, it is, in our opinion the nicest.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kay W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fremantle, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2011

Front of house staff very friendly upon arrival and the twin room was pleasant with a view over the square - although the pipes in the room made a mysterios knocking sound from 0400 which was conducive to restful night. We had cycled to this place in the rain and arrived wet and cold. The staff organised a safe storage for our bikes. We ate our evening meal in the hotel restaurant which was average and the waiters had a very superior attitude boardering on rude. Free internet at the front desk for those without wifi options which was a bonus. On checking out I asked the front desk girl if I could print off a booking confirmation - it proved to be a very difficult request - again quite abrupt and rude. Overall not a bad place to stay and the staff who were helpful could not have been more so.

Room Tip: Ask about knocking pipes in front upper rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FreoOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
113 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

We stayed for one night, July 14th, Bastille Day. It is located in the walled city near one of the archways. We enjoyed fireworks from the room. A grand old building, full of character and charm. Desk staff was pleasant and helpful. Breakfast offered in the grand room adjacent was an option and well worth the 11 euros.

Room Tip: We asked for a higher room with a view of the water. Worth the added cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KathiO-10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2011

Wonderful old hotel. Exteriors are charming, so the public areas such reception and breakfast lounge. Rooms are big. Doubble beds are small. Ask for new wing rooms.
They were so kind to change our room with beautiful views to the square and castle.
Not very kind staff of restaurant (typical french attitude with a stick in the ---). Anyway it's highly recommeded.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank urkiola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint-Malo hotels
0.5 km away
Quic en Groigne
Quic en Groigne
#1 of 81 in Saint-Malo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Oceania Saint Malo
Hotel Oceania Saint Malo
#5 of 81 in Saint-Malo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,632 reviews
0.9 km away
Ibis Saint Malo Plage
Ibis Saint Malo Plage
#25 of 81 in Saint-Malo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hotel du Louvre Saint-Malo
Hotel du Louvre Saint-Malo
#33 of 81 in Saint-Malo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 845 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Des Abers
Hotel Des Abers
#8 of 81 in Saint-Malo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
1.2 km away
Escale Oceania Saint Malo
Escale Oceania Saint Malo
#26 of 81 in Saint-Malo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel France et Chateaubriand? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel France et Chateaubriand

Property: Hotel France et Chateaubriand
Address: 12, place Chateaubriand - BP 77, 35412, Saint-Malo, France
Region: France > Brittany > Ille-et-Vilaine > Saint-Malo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Saint-Malo
#22 Family Hotel in Saint-Malo
#29 Romantic Hotel in Saint-Malo
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,214 - ₹ 14,773
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel France et Chateaubriand 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel sits in 1680 landmark; Napoleon III architecture; plaster ceiling reliefs; cove moldings & period reproduction furnishings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Hotel France et Chateaubriand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
France Et Chateaubriand Hotel
France Et Chateaubriand Saint Malo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing