We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,234)
Filter reviews
1,234 results
Traveller rating
435
597
154
35
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
435
597
154
35
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bar and breakfast room sea view tide coming old town watching the world walled city minute walk are plenty of places to eat high tide lovely walk each morning within walking distance lovely hotel train station street parking fresh fruit third floor
Filter
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 1,234 reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2016

We stayed for one night before our ferry back to England. Stayed in the 6 birth apartment family room. Lovely views and the staff so friendly. Did not stay for breakfast on this trip but we have in the past and would recommend it.
The situation is perfect for the beach and town. Having its own bar is great especially after a meal out. The shower door did leak but was not a problem as there was another in the apartment.

Room tip: Rooms with a sea view highly recommended.
Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank martin336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P_Bir_SaintMaloPlage, Propriétaire at Kyriad Saint Malo Centre - Plage, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2016

Dear martin336

Thank you for your lovely review and the positive words about the staff.

Kind regards
Patricia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2016

The major strength of this hotel is the location - right on the beach and approximately a 15 minute walk to Intra Muros. We had a room with sea views and were fortunate enough to listen to the ocean sounds at night. The hotel furnishings are a bit tired and outdated and breakfast is adequate. The staff are polite and friendly.

Room tip: Bed linen should be updated. No air con.
Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank erbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P_Bir_SaintMaloPlage, Propriétaire at Kyriad Saint Malo Centre - Plage, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2017

Dear erbs

Our location is really unique! Thank you for choosing and reviewing us.

Kind regards
Patricia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2016

We stayed in a family room for four. It overlooked the street not the beach (none of the family rooms are on the beach side). Unfortunately the road is very noisy and as there is no air conditioning we had to sleep with the windows open. It was too noisy to sleep properly as a result. The décor is very tired, but the room was clean and the beds comfortable.

The main reason we picked this hotel was the description that there was plenty of on street parking. This was not the case. St Malo in July is very busy and as a result parking spaces are almost impossible to find. The desk staff were not helpful at suggesting where we might find a space. It took 25 minutes of driving up and down to find a space over 800m away. In hindsight I would have preferred to stay in a better value hotel and pay for parking.

It's a good 20 minute walk into the old town from the hotel, which is along the seafront so very picturesque. However, if you want to use the city beaches (the amazing saltwater swimming pool at Bon Secours is well worth a visit) it's a bit of a trek with kids in tow.

All in all the hotel location is lovely, but lack of air con on the street side rooms is a problem in the summer months, and parking is not as easy as their advert makes out. Very expensive for what you get.

We didn't have breakfast as the additional cost for the four of us would have made this over 200 euros a night, which for a 3 star hotel is very poor value for money.

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank twinklestar72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P_Bir_SaintMaloPlage, Propriétaire at Kyriad Saint Malo Centre - Plage, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2016

Dear Twinklestar72
'Our garage (2places only) is already full. Free and unlimited parking is available on main and all parallel streets. Please note, on busy days, you may experience difficulty finding a place': this is what's advised to all our guests booking direct and a written confirmation is also sent with that info.
We never and will never say or write that is easy to park here.
On the positive side, yes there is one!, on-street parking is free and unlimited! This is almost unheard or unseen anywhere else in the world in such a busy area (St malo is one of the mots visited town iin France).

Buffet breakfast is free for children under 13 and very few hotels have a child policy for breakfast. Just by asking, continental breakfast is aso available at €8.

We are one of the few hotels in St malo with such an extensive range of family rooms and many of them with direct sea views.

Thank you for detailed review
Kind regards
Patricia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2016

This is a great place to stay while visiting Saint Malo. It is right on the beach. The view of the beach from the hotel is breathtaking. While our room was not facing the water, our view of the roof tops was pretty. We enjoyed the early morning visitor at our window- a curious seagull! We did manage to close the window before he got in. It was fun and entertaining to watch him watching us. The staff was friendly and our room was clean and comfortable. I liked the fact that our room had a bathtub and not just a shower. I would love to return to Saint Malo and stay at this hotel

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fran0812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P_Bir_SaintMaloPlage, Propriétaire at Kyriad Saint Malo Centre - Plage, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2017

Dear Fran0812

We would love to welcome you back here! Thank you for your very positive and detailed feedback.

kind regards
Patricia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2016 via mobile

A busy Bastille Day, granted, but our group of 6 stopped for some drinks in the sunshine. Having ordered 6 large G&Ts, after 20 minutes we went in to ask where our drinks were (others arriving after us had been served before us). Assured our drinks were being poured, we waited a further 25 minutes. We've now been waiting for 45 minutes. We asked again and were told '5 minutes'. Slightly incredulous by this point, we asked 'What, another 5 minutes?'. 'Yes' was the reply - 'My 5 minutes'

Unsurprisingly we left

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 30NotOut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P_Bir_SaintMaloPlage, Directeur général at Kyriad Saint Malo Centre - Plage, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2016

Dear 30NotOut
We are very sorry to read about your experience here. Our bar terrace is the largest one on seafront. We are indeed always extremely busy summer time and especially on Bastille day. It's therefore almost mission impossible to serve everyone on time. It doesn't however explains why you had to wait that long. Your comment was passed on to the barman and as there is always room for improvement, we will make sure that will never happen again.
Thank you for reviewing us.
Kind regards
Patricia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews