We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (326)
Filter reviews
326 results
Traveller rating
104
125
59
21
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
104
125
59
21
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fourth visit old town comfortable beds walled city promenade seaside balcony parking stopover
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 326 reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2017

Our stopover in St Malo would not be complete if we didn't stay at Hotel Alexandra. It has everything one could want. Position, parking, excellent staff, very clean and extremely comfortable rooms and yummy food! We have promised ourselves that our next stay will be longer than one night - making it a short break holiday destination. Thank you very much.

Room tip: Sea view rooms are lovely
Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sauvarin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandra B, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Hotel Alexandra, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2017

Dear Madam, Sir,

All the staff would like to thank you warmly for your comments about our establishment ideally located just in front of the beautiful beach of Saint Malo.

From your sea view room, certainly you could appreciate being rocked by the waves, and being wake up by the singing of the seagulls.

By choosing our half-board package, you have been able to taste our specialties from our restaurant with a panoramic view of the sea (seafood, fish, grilled ribeye steak, caramel apple delice, crepe). You also discovered our famous buffet breakfast with a wide choice : cereals, fruits, pastries, cold meats, hot and cold drinks ... but also salmon, Kouign-Amann….
For your vehicle you could find a secure location in our private parking.

It was with great pleasure to welcoming you into our establishment, and we hope to see you soon in our beautiful corsair city.

Best regards,

Customer service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2017 via mobile

I visited this hotel enroute to Jersey as my Tesla said there was a destination charger there. When I arrived the car park was empty so I asked if I could charge my car for an hour or so while I had lunch at the hotel.

The response was a big fat no. Consequently the restaurant lost out on a lunch order and the hotel is a no-no for me in future whatever car I may be driving.

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 271MarkW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandra B, Le Service Clients at Best Western Hotel Alexandra, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2017

Dear Sir,

We have carefully reviewed your comments regarding your stay at the Best Western Alexandra Saint-Malo and we immediately informed our staff.

Indeed, we are well equipped with a terminal Tesla allowing to recharge the electric vehicles and this one is at the disposal of our customers.

You could of course recharge your electric vehicle, while savoring our marine specialties, in our restaurant l'Etrave which has a panoramic view on the sea.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Best Regards,

The Booking Office.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2016

We chose this hotel for our 25th wedding anniversary trip (with the kids!). When we arrived we were pleased with the on site parking and even more pleased when we realised they had upgraded us to room 506 - sea view. The views were beautiful. The hotel is literally across the pedestrian walkway to the beach - so really safe for kids and near for anyone with problems walking far.
The food, whilst not cheap - was lovely, and the pictures of the setting sun on the sea were worth it. The staff were lovely and couldn't do enough to help. There is a mini bar. if you are fit and healthy then the old town is within walking distance, but we took a taxi which was about 10 minutes and not expensive. We ate out the second night and the hotel gave us a brilliant recommendation for a sea food restaurant which was not overpriced, as some are in the old town.

Room tip: Ask for a sea view, and if you are a couple then the rooms on the 2 - 4th floor have a little balcony as well.
Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Carole F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2016

We spent the night here as a family before getting the ferry back to Portsmouth. We stayed in a family room, which was very pleasant and comfortable, with a large balcony.

The location of the hotel on the sea front couldn't be better - beach is literally outside.

We all ate at the restaurant, and unlike one of the earlier reviews had a very good experience. Food was good (nothing flash but all very pleasant), and our waitress was superb - spoke good English when our basic French failed, and chatted away to the kids about the little toys they had with them.

We'd recommend this place - only advice to the hotel would be to remodel the disabled access so as to make more of the bay window in the restaurant overlooking the sea - the view is spectacular and should be made more of.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2016

Stayed 1 night in a sea facing room with balcony, outside was a promenade then the beach and sea. Wonderful view. Room was very good (beds a bit too firm for our liking).
Full bathroom and separate toilet, all very clean. Had lifts so no problem for people with mobility problems.
Staff were very friendly and spoke English, Restaurant for both dinner and breakfast was okay, prices for room very reasonable 130 euro per night but the meals for two came to 150 euros, not so good. Parking was 12 euros per night. WiFi was free.
Would definitely stay again but would probably go out for dinner elsewhere.

Room tip: Pay fro a room with a sea view and balcony.
Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MazSolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandra B, Front Office Manager at Best Western Hotel Alexandra, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2016
Google Translation

Madame, Monsieur,

Merci d'avoir répondu à notre enquête concernant votre récent séjour dans notre établissement.

Votre présence parmi nous est très importante, tout comme vos commentaires. En nous faisant part de ce qui vous a plu pendant votre séjour, et en nous indiquant comment nous améliorer, vous nous aidez à vous offrir une expérience de qualité supérieure, à vous comme aux autres hôtes à l'avenir. Nous espérons que vous reviendrez nous voir bientôt.

Encore une fois, merci d'avoir pris le temps de répondre à notre enquête. Nous sommes sensibles à votre fidélité pour notre marque.

Cordialement,

Le Service Réservations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews