We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (151)
Filter reviews
151 results
Traveller rating
49
80
21
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
49
80
21
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 151 reviews
Reviewed 6 September 2016

We arrived at the hotel which was to be fair in an ideal location for exploring the town. The first time we tried to check in we were told the room wasn't ready and to come back, which we did.
On returning we were given the keys to our room only to find it already occupied !
Back down to reception and lots of consternation later we were eventually given the room with disabled facilities!
The room was most likely larger because of this but if I had been disabled I'm sure I wouldn't have coped with the positioning of some of the items in the bathroom.
The towels looked grubby and at the end of our stay we were glad we had only booked the one night. Just a note that there is minimal parking at the hotel so u have to park elsewhere

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tortoisetheterrible
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M G, Gérant at Hotel Des Halles, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2016

Thank you for leaving a comment on the site, as you have explained someone had made a mistake, which I think can happen, we gave you a big room and if there was any problem, I think you'd come let us see, we are sure that our towels were changed. Best regards.
The direction

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2016

Although this hotel is very near to most of the attractions of Concarneau - Marina, old town, market, lots of restaurants - it is in a pretty quiet side streeet, even with a free parking (not Friday mornings!) just round the corner. Very friendly and helpful staff. Only disadvantage: Avoid room 201 - there is no door between the room and the bathroom! And ensure that you contact them in time if you arrive late - the reception closes at 20:00 and you can get your key only with a special code!

Room Tip: Avoid room 201!
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Hogsmill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2016

A great hotel ideally situated for bars, restaurants and walled city. Rooms very clean and comfortable. Breakfast all homemade but maybe a little pricey. The owners extremely helpful allowing us to park our very precious Harley in their garage. Highly recommended hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cybilfawlty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2016 via mobile

I strongly recommend this hotel. The staff are very professional and helpful. The rooms are well kept, a good size and clean, as you would expect from the much larger recognised chains. We looked at two hotels on arrival here and this was by far the best. Breakfast was served until 10, at 10 they were happy to serve breakfast! We will certainly stay here again.

Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank GatwickJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean-Louis G, Propriétaire at Hotel Des Halles, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2016
Google Translation

Merci beaucoup pour votre excellent commentaire et l'appréciation de votre accueil et
merci pour votre 10/10 à bientôt de vous recevoir John.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

The main benefit of the Brit Hotel des Halles is its location 1-2 minutes from bars, restaurants, the harbour and walled city of Concarneau. That, and possibly the only free parking in the centre of Concarneau if you can find a space outside the Hotel de Ville a few steps away. We did and so did some evening latecomers. There is a hotel garage but it looks to have room for just two cars.

The staff are friendly and helpful, and breakfast is a local twist on the usual Continental offering but worthwhile when you have figured out what is on the sweet side for your palate and what is not. Boiled eggs are an option but you may have to join a queue.

However, you get what you pay for (€62 for a town centre room) and the hotel and furnishings are rather tired. The room and the bedding were spotless but lacked space and air conditioning, and were on the verge of becoming scruffy. The bathroom had a decent shower but our room, at least, was cramped and it was very easy to bang an elbow as you squeezed past the washbasin to the lavatory. Wi-fi wasn’t working upstairs but was fine in the reception area.

Overall, it was rather what we had expected. Easy on the feet for getting around but a one-nighter. Recommended for a short visit. If coming back to Concarneau, I might look around for a better central option but be happy to go back to the Hotel des Halles as a second resort.

Room Tip: South side rooms are quiet but may not have A/C vital for hot spells.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ceciliami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews