We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Simply Superb - beautiful tranquil location with...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
49 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Les Eyzies-de-Tayac-Sireuil, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 49 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Passenger...
1 review
“Simply Superb - beautiful tranquil location with easy access to local sights.”
Reviewed 25 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

I booked Gite St. Martin as my teenage children are currently studying French and the owner Chantal also provides language lessons. We had a great time. The property is exactly what you think a Gite would be and has been very thoughtfully furnished and well equipped. It was spotlessly clean. I particularly enjoyed sitting in the garden whilst the children had their lessons as it is a totally peaceful setting but also then only a short walk into the main village area. The wider area has a lot to see and do and our week flew by. We would love to return on a future occasion and I can definitely recommend it to others.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
722rachel
St Ives, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A very special place”
Reviewed 23 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

We have just returned from a wonderful week with Chantal and John. We stayed in their lovely comfortable gite with its beautiful surroundings and had daily French lessons with Chantal. We can't believe how much our French improved and how enjoyable it was. The location for exploring the area, the comfortable gite and beautiful garden, the French lessons and the delightful hosts all go to make this a very special place.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoveLuxur...
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A lovely self contained cottage in a beautiful village, in a wonderful part of France.”
Reviewed 3 December 2017 for a stay in October 2017

The Gite St Martin is a lovely authentic self contained cottage, set in beautiful gardens along side the lovely home of Chantal and John, which also contains Chantal’s class Room, where we took our French lessons.
The cottage was clean, tidy, and very comfortable. It is stylishly furnished and very well appointed.
The property is located in the lovely hamlet of Tayac, with its beautiful church, just on the edge of Les Eyzies, and a short walk from the village centre, with plenty of places to eat or enjoy a coffee.
You are just a short walk from the magnificent Vezere river, which is lovely to walk along, or there are kayak and canoes for hire, and they will drive you upstream, and you can paddle back down. Very beautiful.
You are a short drive to many other beautiful villages, like Sarlat and Domme, and of course the magnificent Dordogne river.
We took three hours of french lessons every morning. Chantal was an excellent teacher, and her methods were interesting and innovative. We watched videos and listened to audios. The time went quickly, it was so enjoyable. Her classroom, was a lovely room, with large window overlooking the garden, towards the river.
In the afternoon we enjoyed the garden, or went for a walk, or short drive to another village.
We were pleasantly surprised by how good the weather still was in October. It was still 25/26 degrees most days, and Chantal and John have a lovely swimming pool, which we swam in most afternoons.
Bordeaux is quite close, and we went there for dinner a couple of times. It’s a great town, with many stylish boutiques and excellent restaurants.
John and Chantal made us very welcome, and made sure we were happy and had everything we needed. We had a very enjoyable stay, and would highly recommend it for either a short stay or for a few weeks, like we did.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beth A
2 reviews
“Gorgeous gite in beautiful location”
Reviewed 9 November 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We spent a week with Chantal and her husband in the St. Martin gite and could not have had a better experience. The cottage was comfortable, and well-provisioned for all the cooking you want to do - which you will want to do after visiting nearby town farmers' markets. The house and cottage are within easy walking distance to the center of Les Eyzies and the Prehistory Museum. It is also a wonderful jumping off point for touring the Perigord, the prehistoric cave paintings of Grotte de Font de Gaume, Lascaux, and the Grotte de Roffignac. Chantal also provides private French lessons, which were a blast. Definitely a place to which to return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertB14...
1 review
“This is a wonderfully unique opportunity to experience what it could be like to live in the beautiful Dordogne.”
Reviewed 2 November 2017 for a stay in October 2017

This is a beautiful "gite" in a historic and prehistoric area owned and operated by wonderful, helpful, and interesting people. There is easy access to ancient sites, to fabulous restaurants and local markets, or you can just relax in their beautiful gardens. And learn a little or a lot of French in the process.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing