We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definetely coming back!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Maison du Lierre
Ranked #11 of 64 Hotels in Biarritz
Reviewed 18 September 2011

People, the trick is asking for a renovated room! They only cost 6 Euros more per night during high season and they are absolutely good value for Biarritz. After booking over a online reservation portal, I wrote to the hotel (in French) asking if it was a renovated one. It wasn't, so I adapted the reservation directly with them. We were blown away by the charming room and nice, separate bathroom. You can clearly see that one of the owners is an interior designer. Seriously, this must be the nicest designed hotel room I have ever stayed in, and I have stayed in many four (and even some five star) hotels worldwide!

As for the staff, we were warmly welcomed and instantly provided with a city map including the handwritten directions to a free parking area (ca 7 mins walk away). The reception is not staffed between 11am and 4:30pm and we one day we urgently needed a taxi and had no local number...a passing cleaning maid made then the arrangements for us. Thank you again!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank LadyMaryMontagu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (510)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 38 of 510 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2011

We really loved this hotel, location etc excellent, however we received several flea/bug bites while there.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DUFFYJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2011

Well situated and clean, but room (contrary to the advertisement) was old-fashioned and dull with furniture that literally was falling apart and staff apathetic. No parking, so that was an extra euro per hour. IInternet not working (but that could be the fault of the internet provider). As we are going to be visiting Biarritz often in the coming year we had a look at other hotels in the area which seemed much better value for money - especially as we were told that the hotel would be increasing their prices from May onwards!

Room Tip: Ask if the room has been refurbished!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grumpyma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2010

The hotel manager was incredibly rude and sarcastic, i suspect he has something against British people despite my efforts to speak French. The rooms are shabby and ongoing diy is annoying as well as passing drunks. All in all a waste of money and my time.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlexDHI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2010

When we arrived at the hotel, we were very pleased with the location, which is very close to the beach and the main shops and bars. However when we rang the front doorbell, we were greeted by a very abrupt man who made us wait on the front step for several minutes while he was too busy to let us in through the front door. We were told that (at 2:30pm) our hotel room was not ready and we were sent away for an hour. When we came back, there was nobody at reception and our bags were still left by the side of the reception desk for anybody to take. The hotel room was big, however the shutters for the window were on their last legs and the curtain did not go all the way across the window. The room looked tatty and the toilet did not flush properly in the bathroom. When we were leaving the hotel to head in to town, we asked the man at the reception desk if it would be possible for him to phone us a taxi to the airport in the morning. He refused to do this, was very rude and obnoxious and after dismissing my partner, he promptly ignored us to carry on with his ‘jobs’. We did not have a particularly good night’s sleep as the walls were paper thin and we could hear people moving around the hotel and since the hotel is near to the main street in Biarritz, we heard partygoers pass at all hours of the night. It spoiled our last night in Biarritz and I definitely would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank SG1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Biarritz hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel Edouard VII
Hotel Edouard VII
#12 of 64 in Biarritz
384 reviews
0.4 km away
Best Western Plus Karitza
Best Western Plus Karitza
#5 of 64 in Biarritz
642 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Villa Koegui Biarritz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Le Windsor Grande Plage Biarritz
0.4 km away
Hotel de l'Ocean
Hotel de l'Ocean
#29 of 64 in Biarritz
246 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel  Saint-Julien
Hotel Saint-Julien
#1 of 64 in Biarritz
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Maison du Lierre? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison du Lierre

Address: 3 avenue du Jardin Public, 64200 Biarritz, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Pyrenees-Atlantiques > Basque Country > Biarritz
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Biarritz
#19 Business Hotel in Biarritz
Price Range: ₹ 5,441 - ₹ 12,492 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Maison du Lierre 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A FAMILIAL HOUSE OF CARACTER :this beautiful mansion with its private garden will seduce you by its charm and its "bed and breakfast" atmosphere.Ideally located in biarritz town centre, La maison du lierre is close to a quiet square and just 300 m far from the beach, the congressplace, the casino and the typical market placeATMOSPHERE: you will certainly be charmed by this hotel facing Biarritz public square , old parquet, walls decorated with distemper, off-white shade cloth and natural materials(venetian red stucco, marmorino)the owner helene Deveze,painter and interior decorator gave back all its beauty to this huge XIX century mansion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your La Maison du Lierre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Maison Du Lierre Biarritz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing