We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (49)
Filter reviews
49 results
Traveller rating
10
15
10
5
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
10
15
10
5
9
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 49 reviews
Reviewed 17 November 2016

I had a great four-night stay at this hotel in early November 2016. The friendly and professional owner/manager Phillip lives on site, and is a wonderful source of information about the city of Biarritz and the surrounding area. He has owned the hotel for 17 years, and knows how to do it well. A bonus for international visitors is that he speaks fluent English, French and Spanish, and is well travelled himself. He knows what discriminating guests want, and delivers it in an unobtrusive, low-key but personable way.

Location was perfect for me - a short 10 minute walk to the centre of Biarritz, less to the seafront so you have easy access to the amenities of this wonderful town. If you plan to drive to Biarritz, a big advantage is that there is ample free parking around the hotel on the surrounding streets; this is NOT the case for accommodation right in the centre of town (unless it has off-street parking garage) because on-street parking is expensive and sometimes difficult to find.

My room was clean and comfortable, very much a traditional French hotel layout, with nice ensuite bathroom, satellite TV and good WiFi signal. It had a huge bath tub and shower.

There is a large dining/breakfast room and a large lounge for relaxation. Security is by entryphone at the front entrance, with a key code for out of hours so you can come and go as you please. The Saint Charles area seems safe and quiet, without too much traffic. Hotel is easily accessible from the airport, as is most of Biarritz because the airport is close to town.

There is a nice garden with seating, which would be good for smokers I imagine although I am not one; there is a strict non-smoking rule inside the hotel itself, clearly stated from the outset. Consequently there is no unpleasant smoke odour as one sometimes finds in European hotels.

I cannot really think of any negatives. There is a nice pizza/crepe place a short distance from the hotel, and a higher-end restaurant too which I did not try, but you are within easy walking distance of the town centre with its incredible food market and numerous restaurants and bars.

Overall, a great hotel for people who want a good quiet location, friendly and knowledgeable management and authentic French feel.

Room Tip: Ground floor room was fine for me, did not see any others so cannot say.
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2015 via mobile

The best thing about the hotel St Charles is it's location - only a 15 minute easy walk to the beach and casino area of Biarritz. We paid 90 EU a night for a family room and the room was quite spacious and the bathroom large and airy although the shower over the bath was a bit ordinary. Everything was clean and the well maintained. There was no air conditioning and we needed the windows open to keep the room cool so it might be a different story in winter.
The owner, Phillip, is an expat Englishman and naturally spoke excellent English and French and was very helpful with tips of the area. We didn't like that he required you to leave the key hanging up in the foyer when you were away from the hotel. This in itself is not unusual but in this case you self helped yourself to the key on return so there was no real security involved. Also the wifi only worked in the public area near reception and pretty poorly at that.

Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank CatzFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2015

We booked 6 nights at this hotel but stayed only for three!!

Finding positives here is difficult. We arrived late due to traffic problems on the motorway and informed the owner accordingly. When we arrived we found a deserted reception and no personnel in sight. Upon locating our own room key we found our way to our room. Immediately there was a knock at the door, a gaunt and withdrawn individual emerged from the dark and cold corridor to inform us of the need to be quiet and preferably go to sleep immediately. It was clear he had no people skills and a prickly temper. Strange for a hotelier dealing with the general public.
A chance now to look at our room. It was a bizarre space. Filled with battered antiquated furniture that resembled a granny annex from the 1940's. The sheets were itchy and worn. With 1970's detailing. It felt stuffy, smelled moldy and carried a neglected feel.
The next morning we were kurtly informed by the owner of the code for the door, something I later forgot at which point I was admonished, despite him being sat next to the door reading a newspaper at the time.
Things did not improve from there with each day bringing a series of acrimonious altercations in which we were castigated and maligned for whatever small infraction we were deemed to have committed!!!
After three days of old and uncomfotable beds and a surly anti-social owner we decided enough was enough and left early for a hotel around the corner!!
I do not reccommend this place to anyone!!!!! Truly awful!!

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
4  Thank Kaiserbundd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2014 via mobile

This place is really charming in the heart of Saint Charles, just 5' walk away from the main city beach. It is an old basque house located in a lush garden. You feel really as if you were staying in a private property. Comfort was a bit basic but it is overall good value for money. Some of the indoor and outdoor furniture and equipment would need to be replaced as it is mostly a bit oldish.

Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank hesc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2014

No amount of air freshner can masks the smell of musty/dusty/dirt.The place needs a good overhaul and clean up . The reception/lounge area needs new upholstery the carpet on top of carpets going up the staircase need to be ripped out or at least need some cleaning chemicals applied. Get rid of the plastic flowers covered in dust which are everwhere. The garden has not seen a clipper or a broom in months. My room was clean though and had good linen except for the towels which were rather worn.The bathroom tiles were cracked and the toilet had a plastic seat.The bath/shower had no hand rails and non-slip mat.

Room Tip: find another place
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 4maryann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews