We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Live like an Empress in Biarritz”
Review of Hotel du Palais

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel du Palais
Ranked #2 of 64 Hotels in Biarritz
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
75 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Live like an Empress in Biarritz”
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Every year for one week in September, I live like the Empress Eugenie as do all the paying guests at the Hotel du Palais in Biarritz. The hotel, rooms and spa are lovely by all standards as well as being historic and situated at the end of the beach in centre town...who could ask for more. Biarritz is small enough to walk everywhere and big enough to get lost but the hotel draws your attention for its architectural beauty, then once inside this small summer palace makes you dream. The service is polite, professional and friendly, the restaurant Eugenie overlooking the sea is lovely and delicious and is worth at least one evening during every stay, the bar is comfortable and elegant and the pool is large, clean and a perfect focal point to view the beach, ocean and city scape....a perfect spot to be treated royally without pretension and not too big to be overlooked.... a favourite place to become a regular.

Room Tip: every room is lovely but a tad pricey so call ahead and make friendly contact.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CookieRoxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,010 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    711
    171
    82
    34
    12
See reviews for
175
562
30
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
176 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2012

Love almost everything about this hotel, even been fussed around by the Maître d' in the restaurant as we did not have jackets, and he insisted we loaned one, which we then hung on the back of our chair.

Stunning public rooms, location and service. In room breakfast, loverly.

Happily visit again.

Only room for improvement restaurant food was a little disappointing, but only because we expected to be amazed.

Room Tip: Room with a sea view a must, otherwise why stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
248 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 300 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2012

We had a four night stay at the Palais and right from the moment you drive up to the impressive building you cannot help but be wowed by the majesty of the place. The interior is like a memory from a dream.

As it was December, there were very few people in the hotel and at times we felt like they were padding out the restaurant with family and friends. The storms that waged war on the hotel were silent through the 4 layers of glass. However, I suspect that if you stayed here during high or mid season, the noise from the halls and adjoining rooms might drive you a little crazy. When there were people outside in the hall we could hear them quite clearly.

Service was impeccable. Every staff member was thorough and lovely.

The position is stunning! Just stunning. No other word for it.

The suite we had was spacious and charming. The bed was comfortable. The bathroom was good, but I do like a separate shower rather than one over the bath as they have here. As my husband said, it isn't as though the bathrooms were original features, so you could make them have more modern fittings and retain the old-world charm.

Just a note - This is one of those hotels where you have to hand in your key every time you leave the hotel as it is on a large red tassle. My husband likes to be well-treated but anonymous so this grated on him a little. The Goring in London and Le Bristol in Paris are the only two other hotels we have encountered that still have this practice.

The gym and indoor pool were excellent, but they didn't open until 8.00 which we, as early risers by nature, found very strange.

The breakfast buffet was like any good one that you would have in a hotel in France at this star level.

Overall, a good stay. The room was lovely and the hotel saved us from the woeful weather outside that largely stopped us from exploring the town. I would recommend it if you were going to Biarritz as nothing else even came close to the grandeur and luxury offered.

Room Tip: Definitely get one facing the ocean if you can, but even the view of the buildings behind is excelle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tania_Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

We stayed at this superb hotel for two nights as part of a 14 day Tauck tour (Barcelona to Paris). The stay included a memorable dinner in the hotel's elaborate dining room overlooking the Bay of Biscay.
Biarritz is an attractive resort and an excellent location for touring the picturesque villages of the Basque region.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ecossins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
41 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

stayed here for the second time, really loved it, large comfy room on the 3rd floor with a small balcony and a stunning view of the city and the sea. My room had a littel sitting area with a fireplace. Breakfast royal as always with a large selection of everyting you can imagine.Teatime on the terrace with a lot of sun and mild temperatures.
A MUST in the South-West of France

Room Tip: 320 spacious room with balcony and great view of the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RolfParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Biarritz hotels
0.6 km away
Le Regina Biarritz Hotel & Spa - MGallery Collection
1.1 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel
Radisson Blu Hotel
#15 of 64 in Biarritz
1,137 reviews
0.3 km away
Le Windsor Grande Plage Biarritz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Hotel  Saint-Julien
Hotel Saint-Julien
#1 of 64 in Biarritz
304 reviews
0.9 km away
Best Western Plus Karitza
Best Western Plus Karitza
#5 of 64 in Biarritz
583 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Villa Koegui Biarritz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Palais? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Palais

Property: Hotel du Palais
Address: 1 Avenue de L'Imperatrice, 64200 Biarritz, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Pyrenees-Atlantiques > Basque Country > Biarritz
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Biarritz
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Biarritz
#1 Luxury Hotel in Biarritz
#2 Family Hotel in Biarritz
#4 Romantic Hotel in Biarritz
#13 Business Hotel in Biarritz
Price range (per night): ₹ 28,588 - ₹ 1,00,022
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel du Palais 5*
Number of rooms: 153
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel du Palais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Palais Hotel
Du Palais Biarritz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing