We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warning to guests - Scam! Additional charges on bill”
Review of Maison Garnier

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Maison Garnier
Ranked #35 of 64 Hotels in Biarritz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 July 2017

*Warning to other guests, don't book with Credit Card. 50€ taken from credit card after departure*

We stayed at this property in June 2017, and were impressed by the location, cleanliness of the rooms and reasonable price.

However, on departure, we were charged an additional 50€ on to our final bill. When we refuted this additional charge (disguised as a tax) the owners of the property became very aggressive and accused us of damaging their hotel.

When we refused to pay the 50€, it was charged to my credit card without my permission. Over the past month, I have been in negotiations with Booking.com to seek a refund of this 50€, to no avail.

The owners of the property have alleged that; we had damaged property, stained linen and stained walls and door jambs. This is an appalling accusation, and certainly one we refute.

Please be warned. €50 was illegally taken from my credit card which I provided to the property via Booking.com in good faith.

I hope to pursue this further, but my advice is to choose another place to stay.

Stayed: June 2017
2  Thank KarenBuckley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (98)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 98 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2017 via mobile

This is more of a guest house (a quite expensive one)and not a hotel, arrived home at 11.30 one night to be hushed loudly by the owner.

Rooms are clean although quite old fashioned and wifi is good. Shower is powerful and hot water in plenty.

Like other guests on this site we had to ask for the remote for the air con and was then given a lecture the next day about keeping our windows closed.

Great location however the noise outside the window (from 6am onward) is a lot worse than I was expecting.

€13 for breakfast which is very expensive, lots of cafes near hotel that have breakfast for two for approx €8.

**Upon checkout we were then wrongly accused of breaking a lamp in the room and they had taken the liberty of adding €50 damage to our bill. When we refused to pay the female owner seemed to lose her temper and shouted rather aggressively at us.***

Will not be returning.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank BandSadventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick C, Gérant at Maison Garnier, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2017

Casting error.
These 2 friends confuse "boutique hotel" and hostel. From the first day it was necessary to point out to them that it was not a hotel to shout at night. We must add the state of dirt in which they leave the walls, door jamb, bed base, sheets that had to be washed twice every day. Finally the last day before leaving they break the desk lamp which was in perfect condition. All this incurs costs, which are charged according to the posted supplements, and Booking-com conditions.

They let the air conditioning work at 16 ° C with the windows open (when they were warned to close them), and complained about the noise from the street. Sorry, they can only complain of themselves ... It is enough that one advises them a thing, so that they do the opposite. That they do not acknowledge their wrongs, does not give them reason.

They try to dirty us again with the price of breakfast, which they never took in the hotel, so how can they judge the quality, choice, service, room, cloth tablecloths?

This comment by mixing the real good points, with their lies or inappropriate acts, is intended only to mislead readers. They mix the real with the false, to make believe that the false is true ... It is a vulgar faking of bad marketing. Thank you for coming back only when you understand the meaning of Life!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2017

The lady who greeted us was very friendly and warm and the room was charming. Plenty of space and very comfortable. And even though it was a central location we were not at all troubled by noise. We also asked for advice on local restaurants and received very useful tips. Overall an excellent place to stay with super friendly and accommodating hosts. Highly recommended

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Caryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 24 March 2017 via mobile

The hotel is extremely well located, close to the beach and the center of town. The staff was very friendly and accommodating at check in, more importantly after I found out I left my phone in the taxi they went out of there way to help me track it down. Incredible staff and beautiful hotel!!

Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

Our large corner room was clean and quiet serviceable for an inexpensive 3 star hotel. While it was spartan and dated in its decor it nevertheless had some old world, small guesthouse charm about it that is very appropriate in Biarritz (the style is 1930's or 40's, I think). The bathroom was overwhelmingly old chunky white porcelain and white tiles but there was some charm in this and some charm in the cheap but quirky print on the wall. Similarly the very large bedroom was basic mission brown, beige and white but was very clean and comfortable. (This room could have down with some old world prints too, or at least something to brighten it up a little - there was some historical material which was good). The hotel is quiet well positioned within Biarritz too.

But this is where the positives end. There were some management issues - essentially the same issues that some others reviewers have presented. Looking at these reviews, I will try very hard to just keep to the facts.

Firstly, we were literally "warned" on arrival that eating and clothes washing in the rooms was not permitted. The cautionary phrase uttered in a stern headmaster tone but with a mildly threatening smile was, "This is not camping, is it?". We found this to be impolite and unnecessarily overbearing. It immediately put us in a negative frame of mind towards the owner, who was otherwise quiet civil and with good English. We are an older couple of seasoned world travelers and to us this attitude to new paying guests said either that it was a cheap hotel with many uncivilized guests in the past and we looked to him like we might be one of them (!), or that the owner was a control-freak. Whichever it was, we were immediately made to feel uncomfortable. We said nothing of course, but could not help but look critically at the room we then went upstairs to settle into. In particular we wondered to each other what the totally empty fridge and dining table complete with tablecloth and wooden dining chairs were all about if no food was allowed.

This initial experience might have been forgotten if the behavior of the owner had not again reinforced our impression that he had an overbearing attitude to his guests. Our room, as we knowingly booked it, had no air conditioning but did have a large free-standing fan (as I believe is the case for the balconied rooms in this establishment). But the weather was unseasonably hot. We had had a long hot day and were keen to avoid a hot sleepless night. I very carefully set up the old-style European shutters and windows to allow the little breeze there was to cool off the airless stifling room. We then left the room to find a nice restaurant nearby.

We returned to find that our room was still hot and airless, having been entered by someone who had adjusted its windows and shutters to prevent the air coming in. We firstly found it disturbing that someone would unnecessarily enter our room in this manner soon after our arrival. In such a small hotel it made us feel uncomfortable, distrusted and "under observation" by the management. We secondly felt that the closure of the windows and shutters was unjustifiable (the windows are unreachable from the ground and the shutters were locked in place anyway). This again spoke of an attitude of interference and control of guests. A respectful owner might have at least mentioned his reasons and his regret for having had to intervene the next day. Nothing was said.

They were helpful and friendly as we left after two nights, finding us a taxi. But I am afraid I cannot recommend that travellers stay here unless this sort of thing won't concern you.

My humble suggestions to the owners, who I'm sure are actually very nice people, are the following.
1. Place very polite and cheerful notices on the fridge, on the dining table and near the bathroom sink to say things like, "The fridge can be used to keep water and other drinks cold, but please don't store foodstuffs or prepare meals in your room" and "Please don't leave washing hanging in the bathroom. Thank you!". You might also want a more formal version on the back of the door in small print that says extra cleaning charges apply if these rules are violated.
2. You can then cut your guests a bit of slack and they will love you for it. If someone in desperation harmlessly rinses out one piece of soiled clothing or eats a sandwich and a takeaway coffee while doing their emails, turn a blind eye and let it go! Only ever admonish (and even charge) someone who actually makes a significant mess or leaves a room festooned with washing. Never admonish a guest for the mess they might make.
3. Never enter a guests room unless:
a) you are doing the daily room clean once your guests have left for the day,
b) you have "due cause" to do so (eg: you hear shutters banging in the wind or really do have reason to suspect wrongdoing) and always tell them what you did and why afterwards. Your guests need to feel secure and don't want to feel "watched". If you relax, they will too.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank AndrewPillinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Biarritz hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel Edouard VII
Hotel Edouard VII
#11 of 64 in Biarritz
367 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel de Silhouette
Hotel de Silhouette
#21 of 64 in Biarritz
253 reviews
0.3 km away
Georges VI
Georges VI
#25 of 64 in Biarritz
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hotel de l'Ocean
Hotel de l'Ocean
#28 of 64 in Biarritz
233 reviews
0.6 km away
Le Windsor Grande Plage Biarritz
0.2 km away
Hotel  Saint-Julien
Hotel Saint-Julien
#1 of 64 in Biarritz
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison Garnier? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Garnier

Address: 29, Rue Gambetta, 64200 Biarritz, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Pyrenees-Atlantiques > Basque Country > Biarritz
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Biarritz
Price Range: ₹ 9,028 - ₹ 11,207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Maison Garnier Biarritz Authentic charming hotel of 7 bedrooms in the heart of Biarritz, with its matchless charm, Maison Garnier kept its sober and elegant character in a villa from 1876. She invites you to enjoy its bedrooms spacious and bright with relaxing day strolling through the city or its area.On entering we discovered on the left the salon, and right a charming dining room where we serve breakfast, with large windows overlooking a flowered balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Maison Garnier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison Garnier Hotel Biarritz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing