We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (335)
Filter reviews
335 results
Traveller rating
44
143
83
43
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
44
143
83
43
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location star hotel pedestrianised area tram stop a stones throw central bordeaux heavy luggage quiet room main sights beds were comfortable restaurants and bars couple of nights continental breakfast visit bordeaux walking distance double bed good size
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 335 reviews
Reviewed 19 September 2018

Central and good location. Courteous people at front desk. Would stay again if in the area.Visitors must be prepared to climb some stairs to get to their rooms. If you are not physically fit, do not take a room on the 5th floor.

Room tip: Inform first-time visitors at front desk how to use door key to turn on electricity in rooms.
Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank schatziburger2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GambettaBordeaux, Gérant at Hotel Gambetta, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2018

Dear schatziburger2014,

It is with great pleasure that I read your review and feedback following your stay at The Hotel Gambetta.

I am delighted you had such a pleasant experience during your trip in Bordeaux and that our team contributed to the success of your stay.

We are looking forward to your next visit and the pleasure of welcoming you.

Best Regards,

The General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2018

It was dirty, staff was unhelpful, rude and there personal hygiene was disgusting. We was given the wrong room and they wouldn’t change us! The room was dirty and dark! Only positive is that it’s a brilliant location.

Room tip: Don’t stay there
Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ewilso927149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GambettaBordeaux, Gérant at Hotel Gambetta, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2018

Dear ewilso927149,

Thank you for sharing your impressions regarding your recent experience at the Hotel Gambetta.

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed our location, in the city center of Bordeaux.

However, i deeply regret to read how much your experience was disappointing, and please believe that your feedback is really important to me as it helps us improving our service and better meeting your expectations.

We would be pleased to discuss further with you the issues that occurred during your stay. Do not hesitate to contact us at info@hotel-gambetta.com.

We hope to have the chance of welcoming you again.

Best Regards,

The General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2018

The hotel has 2 stars and for that the interior is ok. The room could have done with some TLC as paint was coming off the wall, the wall was stained etc. The room was totally overpriced for what it is.

The lobby and seating area made a much better impression to me. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. I did not try the breakfast.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank StephanieK1750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GambettaBordeaux, Gérant at Hotel Gambetta, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2018

Dear StephanieK1750,

Thank you for sharing your valuable feedback on TripAdvisor. We take our guests’ comments extremely seriously and I read yours with great interest.

I am sincerely sorry that your experience at the Hotel Gambetta did not meet your expectations, especially your room. Please be assured that I have shared your comments with our entire team.

I stay at your disposal for any additional comments or suggestions you would like to share with me.

Best Regards,

The General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2018

Very friendly staff. All helpful. Our room was small as you would expect but adequate with plenty of hot water and a clean very comfy bed. We were on the front of the hotel and there was a a great deal of noise from the street but it didn't really bother us.
Breakfast was 8 euros per person and could be crowded but the usual cold meats, cheese , bread and pastries. You could boil your own eggs too.
Nice juice and a coffee machine.
The wifi was very iffy in the room but better down in reception.
This hotel is in a great location for most central attractions. Very close to a tram stop.
We caught the bus from the airport and it was an easy walk from the stop to the hotel.
The walk to the train station took about 30mins.
Decor was a little jaded in our bedroom, needed a little freshening up.
TV had no English channels which didn't bother us at all but the card suggested BBC was on one channel. The friendliness of the staff made our stay. They were very friendly and helpful at all times.

Room tip: Front rooms are noisy
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LindaH7071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GambettaBordeaux, Gérant at Hotel Gambetta, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2018

Dear Guest,

It is such a pleasure to receive your wonderful comments further to your recent experience at the Hotel Gambetta. I was delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us: whether it is our perfect location in the heart of Bordeaux or our dedicated staff.

Please be assured that your kind words have been shared with all the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best Regards,
The General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2018

The ceiling fan does not work well enough to move any air. The place is noisy from anybody walking in the hallways. The only good thing this hotel has is a good location. I would not recommend staying here.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank SteveInCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GambettaBordeaux, Gérant at Hotel Gambetta, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2018

Dear SteveInCR

Thank you for sharing your impressions regarding your recent experience at the Hotel Gambetta.

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed our location, in the city center of Bordeaux.

However, we are sorry that your stay did not fully meet your expectations and we apologize for this unfortunate situation. We would be pleased to discuss further with you the issues that occurred during your stay.

Concerning the fan, we do provide this service as we do not have the air conditionning in rooms yet. We are working on it actively and hope to provide this in the medium term to improve our clients' comfort. Unfortunatelybut it takes time.

We hope to have the chance of welcoming you again.

Best Regards,

The General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews