We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Nice..but just a few bits missing!!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Maison Bord'eaux

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
La Maison Bord'eaux
Ranked #87 of 173 Hotels in Bordeaux
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice..but just a few bits missing!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2011

Reading many of the reviews before booking it seemed on the whole that this boutique hotel would tick the boxes as required, and on the whole it does.

Nice quiet location, although finding it would not be easy if you didn't have a map or knowledgeable taxi driver, the sign for the hotel is tiny with no obvious entrance. However we found it and on entering through the grey metal doors were pleasantly surprised. Everyone was happy, friendly and accomodating and the interior was quite charming.

The hotel offers all that is required for a couple of nights stay in a beautiful city, it just has some bits missing. Stopped in the room at the top of the hotel with the balcony, but there is no view unless you are 7' tall and like rooftops, a bit pointless really. Great decor if you like modern stuff, and very light thanks to the large windows. Bathroom great but although there is a shower over the bath, there is no holder for the shower head hence you have to hold it...not a major problem, but I don't have 3 hands! The toilet is separate from the the bathroom which is fine, but there is no ventilation and it is so so hot and pretty uncomfortable because of this...with a very loud, squeeky door...not good at 3.00am! Tea and coffee making facilities....but no milk of any description. Digital TV with an abundance of channels...but nothing British just for a bit of something in the background.

We didn't do breakfast, the mini bar or dinner. As nice as it all looked they were all seriously expensive and there are an adundance of cafe's, restaurants, bars etc all within a few minutes walk that offer it all at a much nicer price with a view of this wonderful city.

So guys at La Maison Bordeux, you are nearly there, but for my £180 a night I want just those few inexpensive bits that are missing putting right, especially the over priced 30 euro continental breakfast for two... it will make all the difference.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bigchinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    81
    37
    26
    9
See reviews for
22
145
9
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
88 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2011

We had a large, quiet, modern room, with comfortable bed and a huge walk-out balcony. The bathroom had 2 sinks and a tub + shower, with plush towels and designer toiletries. Our host, Thierry was charming, gracious and ever-helpful. We had a car, which he would park and deliver to us faster than any valet at any upscale hotel I've ever stayed in. The breakfast was good and if the weather permits, one can sit in a private courtyard. The location of the hotel was a 10 to 15 minute walk to all significant sights and restaurants, and Bordeaux is a great city on its own, not mind the easy day trips to the vineyards in Medoc, Graves, St Emilion and other surrounding attractions, such as Arcachon and the great Pila sand dune. It made for a perfect holiday and I'd return there in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank coco057toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2011

Stayed in Bordeaux for just two nights as part of a 17 night tour of France - the city was a nice surprise and we were warmly welcomed by the manager's son - Mr Bonnet. (once we finally found it). Thank goodness for sat nav, also worth mentioning that the sign of the hotel is exceptionally small and in a one way street. So if you happen to drive past you have to go around again!
We were shown to our room which was in the stable block - the building is lovely and so nice to have a courtyard to look out on even though you're in the middle of the city.
Although very modern in design we found the room not to be very functional in some ways - nice to have tea and coffe making facility but the sockets were way under a desk, so had to plug in at the sink in the bathroom area. Also I don't think chipped cups are acceptable in this price range. We stayed in the room named Jean and I liked the decor, however the colour makes the room very dark.
We didn't have breakfast but I think 15 euros each is a bit pricey, although this seems to be the going rate in most of the hotels we stayed.
We didn't visit Bordeaux to watch t.v. but thought we'd catch up on some news - only one English speaking channel - CNN.
We enjoyed our stay in Bordeaux and the hotel we would describe as fine but would probably look for something else if in the city again.

Room Tip: look out for the tiny name plate of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cardiffvalleygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2011

This hotel is in a fabulous old building - charmingly converted into a stylish, modern hotel. Everything about it was good - location (quiet area but very close to the city centre), our room (large and beautiful with a lovely terrace looking out over the city), bed (huge and with fabulously-comfortable bed-linen), tea & coffee-making facilities (a big plus for anyone from the UK!), bathroom products (wonderful - by Hermes), breakfast (delicious and plentiful). The welcome is extremely warm, and the service very professional. I strongly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CJMANUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castle Douglas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2011

When there are so many websites available with photographs, and review services available for hotels such as Trip Advisor, I truly believe that if you have a bad hotel experience these days it is probably your own fault. The trick is to know what you want, and make sure you choose it.

Reading the reviews for this hotel, I can understand the point of view of the negative ones, but the real issue is that they have not made the correct selection. We stayed in both the orange room (Melanie) and the lilac room (Violette), and found them quite delightful, particularly the latter. We delighted in them for exactly the same reasons as critics objected to them. Would my parents like it here? Absolutely not. But we loved it, and will definitely return.

One comment with which I cannot agree, however, is that the owner is rude. I cannot imagine this to be the case, unless confronted by extreme rudeness in a guest.

As I said in my heading, this is very definitely a case of chacun a son gout. If you don't know what that means, you probably shouldn't stay here.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LesleyCastleDouglas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bordeaux hotels
0.6 km away
Le Boutique Hotel
Le Boutique Hotel
#3 of 173 in Bordeaux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel de Seze
Hotel de Seze
#10 of 173 in Bordeaux
4.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel de Tourny
Hotel de Tourny
#2 of 173 in Bordeaux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Yndohotel
Yndohotel
#1 of 173 in Bordeaux
5.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
0.4 km away
La Maison Du Lierre
La Maison Du Lierre
#40 of 173 in Bordeaux
4.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel La Cour Carree
Hotel La Cour Carree
#27 of 173 in Bordeaux
4.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Maison Bord'eaux? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison Bord'eaux

Property: La Maison Bord'eaux
Address: 113 rue Docteur Albert Barraud, 33000, Bordeaux, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Bordeaux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Bordeaux
#25 Luxury Hotel in Bordeaux
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,054 - ₹ 12,457
Hotel Class:4 star — La Maison Bord'eaux 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new team of La Maison Bord'eaux welcomes you in a historical building of the 18th century, halfway between a "Boutique Hotel" and a charming hotel.Surrounded around a courtyard, italian garden, and installed in the heart of the city, this intimate place represent the alliance of a contemporary univers and an architecture of yesteryear. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia and Agoda so you can book your La Maison Bord'eaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Maison Bordeaux Hotel Bordeaux
La Maison Hotel Bordeaux

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing