We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal location and helpful receptionist”
Review of Hotel des Arts

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel des Arts
Ranked #103 of 127 Hotels in Strasbourg
North Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Ideal location and helpful receptionist”
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Perfect location in the centre of an amazing, historic city. Situated near the Cathedral and surrounded by many interesting shops and restaurants spilling on to the main square. A short walk everywhere!
The receptionist was very helpful and friendly and was happy to help with advise on sightseeing and restaurant recommendations. All of which were great. We really enjoyed some of the best cuisine in this Alsace region.
This is not a fancy hotel (2 star, I think) however the room was clean, simple, warm and affordable in price. The foyer and breakfast area have recently been renovated to give a fresh modern look. If only the rooms had the same attention - then this hotel would be a real treat! We booked a triple room (1 double and 1single bed) which had a nice view to the Cathedral steeple . The room was petite in size - as with many hotel rooms in France. The bathroom was small and the shower cubicle the smallest we came across in our travels - It suited us, but may be an issue if one is of a bigger build. Some of the double rooms face the central square. With so much to see and do we were not in our room much anyway. What we saved on accommodation was spent in the lovely shops!
The breakfast which was ample and included in our room rate consisted of pastries, jams, cheese and hot beverages. There are many cafes around the square if one prefers. I would recommend this hotel for the helpful receptionist and the location. It was fully booked on two of the three nights during our stay - and it was the middle of winter!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelmumSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    73
    63
    28
    11
See reviews for
28
99
17
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stratford, New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2012

Outstanding location, clean, neat, safe, and GREAT staff - especially Sophie at the desk!

WiFi was funky, but a great location and service for the comparable price!

Room Tip: no lift for the luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank renodomenico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

The hotel is low-key and simple, as you might expect in a two-star. But the receptionist was kind and helpful, and the location is excellent.

Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2011

Stayed at this hotel in this October for three nights. The hotel is situated in a lovely and very lively square, with good restaurants just outside and across the square. Easy bus trip from the train station, or can catch a tram. At a pinch the train station is a 15 minute brisk walk, and that is with luggage in tow. Beyond the front doors, the hotel is very modern, and fresh looking. We had a twin room on the first floor overlooking square. The square is busy and vibrant and nice to look onto. At night can be noisy, but I found that the windows once closed did a good job in keeping the noise out. The staff on reception spoke English and were friendly and helpful. Breakfast as with most French hotels not included in the tariff, but worth paying the extra amount and eating in. The historic centre of Strasbourg is quite contained as easy to get around by foot, and the hotel is close to all major sites, ie. Cathedral. I had a pleasant stay at this hotel and do not hesitate in reccommending it to others.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank live2travel20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northants
Level Contributor
72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2011

Hotel prices in Strasbourg seemed to be more expensive than Paris, and finding a venue to spend the night in the city centre will not be cheap. However, if you are not too fussy with your room amenities, then this hotel offers good value.
Located within 300m of the cathedral, and in a buzzing square, the hotel has an excellent location. Its only visible entrance is a doorway to the left of the 'Cafe des Arts', so keep your eyes open for this.
Reception closes at 9pm, and thereafter there is a number that you ring that gets through to either the owner or manager who lives nearby. Staff are efficient and friendly.
The rooms are clean and basic, and our toilet/shower was tiny. Our shower/toilet room was also old, and smelled musty and damp, so we kept the door firmly closed.
If the room was expensive, I would have left a lower rating for the hotel. However, as the other alternatives were much more expensive, I feel this has to be taken into consideration - you only get what you want to pay for. Do not use this place if you are into 4 star treatment.
Don't even try to park near the centre of Strasbourg - park out of town and get a tram or bus.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rsitch12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Strasbourg hotels
Petite France Centre
Hotel des Anges
Hotel des Anges
#93 of 127 in Strasbourg
60 reviews
Hotel Patricia
#84 of 127 in Strasbourg
118 reviews
Mairie Sud
Hotel Cathedrale
Hotel Cathedrale
#51 of 127 in Strasbourg
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Petite France Nord Est
ETC Hotel
ETC Hotel
#68 of 127 in Strasbourg
246 reviews
Petite France Nord Est
Le Kleber Hotel
Le Kleber Hotel
#63 of 127 in Strasbourg
299 reviews
Mairie Sud
Suisse Hotel
Suisse Hotel
#31 of 127 in Strasbourg
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Arts? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Arts

Property: Hotel des Arts
Address: 10 Pl du Marche aux Cochons de Lait, 67060, Strasbourg, France
Region: France > Grand Est > Bas-Rhin > Strasbourg > Mairie Sud
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Strasbourg
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,038 - ₹ 6,330
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel des Arts 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Hotel des Arts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citotel Des Arts Strasbourg
Citotel Des Arts Hotel Strasbourg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing