We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bed (great) & Breakfast (great). We loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chambre d'hotes Les Artistes
Ranked #9 of 44 Strasbourg B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Bed (great) & Breakfast (great). We loved it!”
Reviewed 2 August 2010

Do not let external appearances fool you. In fact, we had to double-check the address because the house is so unassuming and was not signposted. But after bravely venturing beyond the gate, we found that Brigitte and Pierre had left us a note explaining where to find the key. We were at the right place!
We should note, also, that the surrounding suburb is not the most elegant part of Strasbourg, but we never had any problems and enjoyed being so close to the city.
The door proved a little tricky to open - turns out we were just too cautious and needed to use a bit more grunt.
Once inside we discovered a large, open room in immaculate condition, with separate ensuite. The room was very clean and comfortable. It was very well-appointed, with a stocked bookshelf (mostly French books and travel guides), a table with kettle and small tea set, a computer with free internet access and a small wardrobe. There was a comfortable double bed, as well as a large daybed. Plenty of room for luggage as well.
The room was great, but it was the service that made us enjoy our stay so much. Every morning we would go upstairs to enjoy a huge breakfast (cereal, fresh fruit, baguette, pastries, jams, yoghurt, stewed fruits etc) and coffee served up in enormous mugs.
Brigitte would have a fresh printout of daily events in the area and would happily discuss each one with us before heading off to work. When she had time, she would even look up the addresses or find co-ordinates so we could locate the places we were interested in. She went that extra step on Bastille Day, kindly arranging free tickets for us to attend an official event.
We were also able to make use of the cycles to spend a day exploring the city. They were a little old, but comfortable enough for one day. Locks, but no helmets, were supplied.
We really enjoyed our morning chats with Brigitte and Pierre, as well as having the space and equipment to be self-sufficient for the rest of the day. We are more than happy to recommend this B&B to others who are looking for clean and comfortable accommodation without the ridiculous price tag.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank M0dernDayExpl0rer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    15
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
31
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tadworth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2009

i chose this accommodation after reading the excellent reviews on the TA site and we were not disappointed. Brigitte & Pierre made us very welcome, with drinks and doughnuts. the room was extremely comfortable and quite large, with a double bed and a single also. the bathroom was beautiful and all facilities are spotless. internet access is available and there is a tv too, along with a vast number of books. unfortunately, we did not have a lot of time to explore the city but the house is within a short distance of the tram into town. i must also report that the breakfast served by Brigitte & Pierre was exquisite with a lovely selection of home made jams ... all you could wish for. thank you both for a very nice stay.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thatsamore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2009

We would like to send our BIG thank to Brigitte and Pierre for their hospitality, which went way beyond expectation! They took care of us like family members or close friends, not just hotel guests. We truly enjoyed their big clean flat, lovely bed linens from Ikea and great complimentary breakfast. I think the bathroom was really COOL! On the way to the tram stop (4min walk), there was a shop where you could buy very fresh, cheap fruits! If we come back to Strasbourg again, we would love to have a chance to stay here again. When in Strasbourg, remember to try "Tarte Flambee" Mexican flavor at The Flam. Pierre took us there. We hooked it big time - good, inexpensive and unique. STAY with Brigitte and Pierre! You will never regret.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laperle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 July 2009

The room was more than good sized and very clean. The breakfast was more than enough, and you could always ask for something to take with you for the day. With internet, TV, DVD, and last but not least, a wonderful garden, there was something to do in the evening, when we were coming back from long sightseeing tours.
The one and only negative thing, is the dampness. We were staying in the room when there were heavy rainshowers, and without turning the heater on, it was impossible to get the room completely dry. As warm as it was, however, that was not a serious issue, but could be a problem during a winter stay.
The owner is very friendly and helpful, giving personal advice and providing guests with a lot of information about the city and its surroundings.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Xoranjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cinisello Balsamo, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2009

You will be welcomed in a private house by Brigitte e Pierre, two Parisiens that moved in Strasbourg 3 years ago.

The house is placed not far from city center, easy reachable by tram (no more than ten minutes), by bike (remember that Strasbourg has 400 km of cyclable roads) or by car, in a very peaceful part of the city.

The room is under the house and is nice, tidy and really spacious, and with everything you may need, even digital terrestrial TV and a DVD player, some books (in french only!) and every map about the city itself and its surroundings, so you can't miss anything.

The best thing here, anyway, is not the room itself, but the warm welcome by the owners, that will make everything possibile to make you feel at home, even speak english (and this is not so usual in france, trust me)!. They will prepare a delicious breakfast, the will give you plenty of advice on your trip and the things worth seeing, they will make you feel at home, in a word.

If you want to spend some very good days in France, see a beautiful cities, drink some good wine and feel like you just visited some old time friends, this is the place for you!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matteo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Strasbourg hotels
Petite France Nord Ouest
Best Western Hotel De L'Europe
Best Western Hotel De L'Europe
#12 of 127 in Strasbourg
779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chambre d'hotes Les Artistes? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chambre d'hotes Les Artistes

Property: Chambre d'hotes Les Artistes
Address: 22 rue Vermeer, 67200, Strasbourg, France
Region: France > Grand Est > Bas-Rhin > Strasbourg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Strasbourg
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,458 - ₹ 7,362
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Chambre d'hotes Les Artistes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing