We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 11:00 AM - 2:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on Tripadvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Ways to Experience Free Manchester Walking Tours
from US$ 15.56
More Info
Reviews (1,421)
Filter reviews
1,421 results
Traveller rating
1,380
31
5
1
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,380
31
5
1
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews three hours great tour interesting stories fantastic walking hour tour his passion would highly recommend this tour tour today alan turing informative tour josh mirto information culture humour knowledge visitors
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
65 - 70 of 1,421 reviews
Reviewed 25 May 2021

Great knowledgeable guide , Michael, who explained the social history and growth of ‘Madchester’ and ‘ Manchesta’. We have done a number of free walking tours in different cities - this was the best yet

Date of experience: May 2021
Thank 553gwynethh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2021 via mobile

The best walking tour ever. Megan is multi-talented and engaging. The tour content is so captivating that you barely feel the 3 hours !! Highly recommended

Date of experience: May 2021
Thank 91May
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2021

it is interesting! it is free! it is FUN!
very informative and engaging tour with Josh who just loves Manchester (and a good talk). I can guarantee you won’t get bored. doesn’t matter whether you’re in Manchester for the first time or have lived here for a while. there’s a perfect balance of walking and talking, historic facts and amazing stories, quizzes and music breaks (and a coffee break in the middle of the tour). if you’re lucky, you’ll get a chance of meeting rockstar Alan aka the cleverest dog in Manchester (if not the whole world)
you don’t wanna miss it (:

Date of experience: May 2021
Thank mickey7kon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2021 via mobile

We have just been out on a truly memorable walking trip with the very engaging and informative Josh. What a pleasure... history, social context, pop music, architecture. The man is a walking joy to be with. We loved it.

Date of experience: May 2021
Thank O9500UMcarolineb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2021 via mobile

I cannot rate this tour and Josh as a tour guide highly enough. I have lived in Manchester as a student in the 1980’s and then as a resident from the early 2000’s but felt an urge to find out more about Manchester’s history and cultural past. I came across this tour a few years ago but never managed to find the time to actually do it. Well, finally I took the plunge with my daughter. The tour lasts for 3 hours and they fly by. Our tour guide was Josh. What really impressed is that Josh gauges the interest of the group at the start of the tour. Josh is knowledgeable and conveys information in an entertaining way. Aside of the main hotspots, the tour takes in locations off the beaten track which makes it all the more interesting. I can highly recommend the tour to locals as well as visitors to Manchester.

Date of experience: May 2021
Thank Ewunia1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews