We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVE THIS HOTEL”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa
Ranked #51 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Paid a really cheap price for the best room in this hotel. Hotel was really nice, comfortable and clean rooms. Staff were friendly and helpful! Would highly recommend staying here, one of my favourite hotel experiences!

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Ashleigh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marius C, Front Office Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Ashleigh M,
WOW! Thank you so much for these kind words!
So happy you had such a good stay.
Kind Regards
Marius

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (6,193)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

30 - 34 of 6,193 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel charges way over the top prices for what we got. We stayed in room 625 which was a disabled room (not requested) which was very very tired. Stains on the carpet and stains on the furniture. Wallpaper ripped and bathroom was very old and in need of revamp. Location for Piccadilly train station is ideal and it’s about 10mins stroll into Piccadilly gardens. Gym was ok but difficult to find. Booking was in the name of Mansell if the hotel would like to respond.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank moni1967-Villa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marius C, Front Office Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi moni1967-Villa,
Thank you for your review and feedback.
Please accept my sincere apologies if your stay was not up to your expectations.
I am sorry you were not aware that the room you booked was an accessible room.
I have asked our maintenance team to inspect that room and correct any faults, thank you for bringing this to our attention.
I hope this will not deter you from visiting us again.
Kind Regards
Marius

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The location is very central and close to the train station. The lady (Rabbia) checking me in was very friendly and provided a quick and informative service. The room was based on the second floor and whilst upon entry seemed spacious it lacked any luxury! Glasses and ice bucked provided but no complementary water! The cups were dirty that were provided for tea and coffee facilities.

The room I was in had end to end window which allowed a view of the busy road outside but lacked any sound proofing, which is needed for the rooms that are positioned facing this busy road. The beds extremely uncomfortable so this along with the lack of silence made it very difficult for me to get near on any sleep at all.

The breakfast was fast and what you would expect, so for me this was fine and in-line with other hotels I have stayed at.

All in all, not the best experience for me! Not being able to sleep due to the windows not blocking most of the noise from the outside, and uncomfortable beds is a serious downfall on this hotel. The room may have been spacious but lacked any comfort! Dirty cups and no complimentary water was very disappointing for a 4* Hotel!

Unfortunately I’m Sorry to say it would not be on my list of hotels to stay at when I next return to Manchester.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank Daleuk21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marius C, Front Office Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Daleuk21,
Thank you for your review and feedback. I am sorry to see you have not enjoyed your stay. I am surprised to read about the beds as all of them have been recently updated and we do get quite a lot of good feedback on them.
I will highlight the issues brought up by yourself with my colleagues to avoid recurrence.
I do hope that you will change your opinion and will visit us again to experience the true Macdonald Hotel and see that it was just an one off on your last visit!
Kind Regards
Marius

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Had a fabulous stay here with my boyfriend. Our room was lovely and the breakfast we had as part of the package was delicious with lots of choice. The location of the hotel is great in terms of both being walking distance from Manchester Piccadilly station and as a base for exploring Manchester City Centre. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marius C, Front Office Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

HI Kate S,
Thank you so much for your great review! What more can we ask for!
I am really glad you had such a great stay and do visit us again soon!
Kind Regards
Marius

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed 3 nights in this ‘luxury’ hotel. Unfortunately the hotel charges top prices but this is not reflected in their customer service. Waited an hour for room service - pizza cold on arrival and I don’t know why the ice took an hour at 1825 in the evening. Breakfast shambolic long queue for eggs that never seemed to arrive!
Don’t even think about using the lifts unless you have 30 minutes to spare - 2 lifts for 8 floors ridiculous. Definitely not worth the price - will not stay again.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank guernseylasses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marius C, Front Office Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi guernseylasses,
Thank you for your review.
Please accept my sincere apologies for the experience you had on your last stay, I can assure you this is not the norm.
Please do not hesitate to get in touch should you want to return and I sure we will be able to make it worth for you.
Kind Regards
Marius

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.4 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.5 km away
Malmaison Manchester
Malmaison Manchester
#36 of 120 in Manchester
2,592 reviews
1.3 km away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
1 km away
The Midland
The Midland
#13 of 120 in Manchester
5,206 reviews
0.4 km away
The Pendulum Hotel
The Pendulum Hotel
#45 of 120 in Manchester
1,730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa

Address: London Road | Piccadilly, Manchester M1 2PG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Manchester
#18 Business Hotel in Manchester
#27 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#28 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#42 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: ₹ 6,030 - ₹ 21,881 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, set in the heart of Cottonopolis, is Manchester's largest four-star hotel. Perfectly located if travelling by rail, road or foot, our eyecatching expanse dominates the skyline all the way from Piccadilly Station to the Mancunian Way allowing quick and easy access to and from all the major motorways. The team at our hotel in Manchester is driven to deliver an outstanding guest experience and has a reputation for its service standards and food quality. As the 2013 winner of "The best sleep in the city" award (Manchester Evening News), it combines 338 beautiful bedrooms with state of the art conferencing, an indulgent urban spa and first class bar and live theatre restaurant experience in our Scottish Steak Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Manchester Hotel And Spa
Macdonald Manchester Hotel Manchester
Macdonald Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing