We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shopping trip ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa
Ranked #51 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here with friends 4 in a room was spot on bed really comfortable and clean, room also clean. Stayed on the top floor great view over Manchester bathroom nice good bath, car park close and secure and if on train it's a 5 min walk to the hotel!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Thank carlos6060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marius C, Front Office Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi carlos6060,
Thank you so much for this nice review. Happy to see you've enjoyed your stay. I hope we will see you again soon.
Kind Regards
Marius

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (6,193)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

43 - 47 of 6,193 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely location, 5 minuets walk from Piccadilly station which was ideal for the football.
Beautiful hotel with a buffet breakfast although finding out what time breakfast is hard work. The room it’s self was stunning with a huge bathroom & a big shower

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank Emma Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marius C, Front Office Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Emma Ann H,
WOW! What else can we ask? Thank you for your amazing review and hope to be able to welcome you back soon!
Kind Regards
Marius

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

From the outside especially on a weekend it’s very busy on the outside. A lot of smokers standing on the doorways. Perhaps if they could build a smoking area at the back. It’s not far from train station but secluded enough for peace. Private parking at the back which you pay for I think it was £16 overnight


Rooms are spacious with good views of the city. The corner rooms have a panoramic view.
Great spa too
The service was good too

I would stay here again

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank MissNkosiM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marius C, Front Office Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi MissNkosiM,
Thank you for your review. It's great to see that you have enjoyed your stay. Looking forward to your return.
Kind Regards
Marius

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I contacted Gemma Rathmill to help plan our Wedding Reception at Macdonald. From day one through to completion our experience with Gemma and the staff at the hotel was fantastic. The Hotel and Location is beautiful, comfortable and easy access to transport links. The food at our wedding reception was amazing, colourful and very tasty. Our friends and family were commenting on how great it was for days after the wedding. I think that the Chef can cook anything well!!! Gemma considered our every need and provided children's meals and a free hotel stay for the night of our wedding which was wonderful. The views from our bedroom was wonderful basically it was one of the best days of our lives because of our wedding coordinator and the venue we chose. We had less than 2 months to plan the wedding and everything came together without a hitch and the price was very reasonable considering all the amazing extras we had including a delicious hot fork buffet and a menu tasting before the wedding. The reception room decorated to our liking, perfectly and we had a PA System included, all of this for £,2000. We were made to feel that there was nothing too hard for the hotel staff to provide to make our wedding day extremely special. I was gutted that it was over so quickly. I recommend staying here anytime, very luxurious.

Room Tip: Best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Grace O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marius C, Front Office Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Grace O,
WOW! What a great review. It's so nice to see you had such a great time here. Congratulations on your wedding and please don't hesitate to visit us soon.
Kind Regards
Marius

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2017 via mobile

Myself and my fiancé stayed here on Saturday 4th November for his 30th Birthday. I booked the room through Gemma Rathmill as we are having our wedding reception at the hotel and I thought it would be a nice touch to stay there with it being a special occasion. Gemma organised a suite for us and also arranged for there to be some bubbly and chocolates in the room which was a lovely touch. The whole stay was faultless, from check in until check out we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.

The room itself was amazing and was huge. There were amazing views of the city particularly good as it was Bonfire weekend. There is a huge king size bed which is the comfiest hotel bed I've ever slept in. There was also so many facilities/mod cons, they even had GHDs in the room!! The bathroom was also very spacious and the whole room was completely spotless.

We had a cocktail in the bar before we went out for the night and again the service was brilliant we were told to sit down and they brought them over.

Breakfast was also delicious with plenty of choice, cold and hot.

We had a fantastic time and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend to anyone, roll on our wedding and thanks again Gemma and co!!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marius C, Front Office Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Sarah W,
Thank you so much for this great review. So happy you had such a great time. I will pass your comments on to Gemma, I am sure she will be chuffed.
Kind Regards
Marius

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.4 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.5 km away
Malmaison Manchester
Malmaison Manchester
#35 of 120 in Manchester
2,592 reviews
1.3 km away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
1 km away
The Midland
The Midland
#13 of 120 in Manchester
5,205 reviews
0.4 km away
The Pendulum Hotel
The Pendulum Hotel
#45 of 120 in Manchester
1,729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa

Address: London Road | Piccadilly, Manchester M1 2PG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Manchester
#18 Business Hotel in Manchester
#27 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#28 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#42 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: ₹ 6,051 - ₹ 21,956 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, set in the heart of Cottonopolis, is Manchester's largest four-star hotel. Perfectly located if travelling by rail, road or foot, our eyecatching expanse dominates the skyline all the way from Piccadilly Station to the Mancunian Way allowing quick and easy access to and from all the major motorways. The team at our hotel in Manchester is driven to deliver an outstanding guest experience and has a reputation for its service standards and food quality. As the 2013 winner of "The best sleep in the city" award (Manchester Evening News), it combines 338 beautiful bedrooms with state of the art conferencing, an indulgent urban spa and first class bar and live theatre restaurant experience in our Scottish Steak Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Manchester Hotel And Spa
Macdonald Manchester Hotel Manchester
Macdonald Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing