We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“a great hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
Ranked #21 of 118 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“a great hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

A slighty shabby room and an obvious unhoovered bedroom carpet are the only bad points to this hotel. The first impression and location, the excellent staff and the addition of an apple tv/computer in the room all compensated for this. I would have no hesitation in staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly, responded to this review, 21 June 2012
Thank you for your review.

I am glad the team were all helpful and ensured you had an enjoyable visit. We all genuinely look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind regards,

Jack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,726 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,929
    1,267
    387
    109
    34
See reviews for
331
1,456
304
980
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (477)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
67 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

We were looking for a good quality hotel in the centre of Manchester close to Piccadilly station and within walking distance of the etihad stadium (20-30 mins) where we were attending a Sunday evening concert. We found this hotel on hotels.com for £99 room only (apparently saving £155) after laterooms.com let us down (afraid we won't be using them again) and it sounded like it fitted the bill.

Pros
- very friendly/ helpful staff on reception. No queues with quick / smooth service on both check in and check out.
- great location
- clean, modern and functional room and bathroom (except for badly stained carpet & dirty grouting in shower)
- mac pc/tv with free wifi
- good bar area
- mostly quiet room (we were behind the lift and could hear the lift mechanism but fortunately we were so tired it didn't disturb us for very long)

Cons
- poor signage from piccadilly station side. Spotted the 'mint hotel' sign rather than a Hilton/doubletree sign
- mini bar is basically an empty fridge containing a menu of drinks packages available for purchase.
- very limited tea/coffee/milk
- food room service only available from 11am to 11pm
- only 1 small towel and 1 large towel (and yet 2 flannels & 2 bathrobes) for 2 people
- 1 set of toiletries for 2 people
- safety deposit box didn't work due to run down battery. Rang reception who said that there wasn't a property maintenance man on site to fix it but we could leave valuables with reception (which we chose not to do)

We got the impression that the hotel is trying to cut costs in terms of basic room facilities. I know we could have asked for more milk/towels/toiletries etc etc but when spending this much for a room we would expect them as standard, plus we shouldn't have to spend our time onto reception/housekeeping requesting them. The hotel appears to be missing lots of opportunities to sell consumables eg stock the mini bar even if it is just with water/soft drinks/snacks and extend the food room service hours to even 1am to cater for those guests returning from a late night's entertainment (especially at weekends). It seems odd that if the hotel is trying to cut costs that it will happily dish out homemade warm choc and nut cookies - if it wants to do this at least offer a nut free variety!!!!

Overall the hotel met our high level needs (bed for the night in central Manchester) however if this had been a special night away we would have been very disappointed with the facilities in our room. Just glad we didn't pay anywhere near full price. Next time we will stay at another hotel in the area as there is a lot of good competition.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DottyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly, responded to this review, 21 June 2012
Thank you for your review.

I am sincerely sorry you felt let down by the hotel and would not like to think that you would not consider returning when next in Manchester.

It would be great to discuss your concerns directly. Please email me, Jack.Appleton@hilton.com as I would like to address each of the areas of concern you have raised.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Jack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

Stayed at the Doubletree for the first time whilst attending a coldplay concert at the Etihad Stadium and found it to be a good choice. Check-in was fast and prompt and we were given an upgraded room which included a complimentary mini-bar and a large room which was immaculate.

The hotel is located in the Piccadilly area of Manchester which is about a 5 minute walk from the shops and bars which was helpful and situated about 400 metres from the Train station. The City Cafe was slightly overpriced, however this was to be expected in a hotel bar/restaurant so we didn't eat there, however there are plenty of nice restaurants within walking distance. Slightly disappointed with breakfast (especially if we had to pay £16 each which would have been the price had we not booked the b & b package) as the cooked breakfast items were constantly empty leading to large queue's at the food stations and we were given off milk with our tea.

All in all, a nice, clean, modern hotel in a good location which was good value for money. Despite the problems with breakfast mentioned above would probably stay here again were we to visit Manchester in the future.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LDouglas1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly, responded to this review, 21 June 2012
Dear LDouglas1990,

Thank you for such a great review of the hotel, I am glad you had such an enjoyable stay.

I am sorry to read however that your breakfast experience was sub-standard, please do contact me directly, Jack.Appleton@hilton.com the next time you plan to stay in Manchester. It would be a genuine pleasure to assist with accomodation arrangements.

I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back.

Best wishes,

Jack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todmorden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
214 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

We booked here room only for a concert at the Etihad stadium(which is within 20 mins walk) and found it to be a good hotel centrally located with a high standard of service, easy to get to both by tram and train.

The rooms are good quality, but the queen size bed is two singles pushed together. The was an iron and ironing board in the room and loads of other little extras and treats, plus tea and coffee facilities in the room, Hated the Imac tv/computer but that is my personal opinion! We did enjoy the warm cookie on check in.

We eat at the city cafe restaurant and had a very good meal as it was blowing a gale and raining heavy so didnt want to walk far.

Overall good stay and would go back.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eduardandkate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly, responded to this review, 21 June 2012
Thank you for your review.

It is great to learn you had a good stay and I am so sorry you didn't like the iMac Entertainment System - please let me know next time you plan to stay, Jack.Appleton@hilton.com.

Best wishes,

Jack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

I've stayed at this hotel a few times and never had a bad experience.

I believe the hotel used to be called MINT but is now owned by the Hilton group and has had some upgrades.

Very polite staff on check in, and a warm biscuit (cookie) is presented to you as a welcome gift. Tasty.

Very plush rooms, not with plasma tv's, but with iMac's with full free internet (wireless also for phones / laptops etc). Beds are comfortable, bathrooms are perfect and clean.

Lobby area is almost clinical in cleanliness, with staff being very well presented and not snooty. The bar area is very good and staff are only too happy to help.

As for location, you're a short walk from Picadilly station and the centre of Manchester. Great spot to stay.

Parking is off site at the local car park, but it's secure and you can validate your ticket for discount on check out.

Excellent hotel.

Room Tip: No idea if there's a pool or spa, sorry!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly, responded to this review, 21 June 2012
Thank you for your review.

It is very pleasing to share with the team such great points you raised - we all aspire to ensure Guests leave the hotel 100% satisfied, I am genuinely delighted to read you did!

I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again.

Jack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.9 km away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.8 km away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
0.2 km away
Velvet
Velvet
#7 of 118 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa
1.2 km away
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
#43 of 118 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,864 reviews
0.1 km away
Abode Manchester
Abode Manchester
#24 of 118 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
Address: 1 Piccadilly Place, 1 Auburn Street, Manchester M1 3DG, England (Formerly Mint Hotel Manchester)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Manchester
#10 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#11 Business Hotel in Manchester
#15 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,922 - ₹ 21,917
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly occupies a landmark site on the new Piccadilly Place development. The hotel reflects the vibrancy of the city, and is located close to major national rail connections. Relax in the sophisticated surroundings of our restaurant or our alluring Piccadilly Lounge and vibrant Blue Bar, then rest in hotel rooms styled with absolute consideration for your comfort. All with excellent facilities for leisure or business guests including iMac computers and complimentary wi-fi in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and Prestigia so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Manchester Piccadilly Hotel Manchester
City Hotel Manchester
Manchester City Hotel
City Inn Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing