We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It used to be Mint service - now its profit profit profit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
Ranked #19 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 April 2012 via mobile

This hotel when it was a Mint Hotel used to value customer service - not anymore. It's now into the Hilton profit first oriented mentality.

The latest change - you can't book directly with the hotel - now its some cheery call centre in USA who didnt even know where Manchester was! And despite being a frequent user of the hotel try wouldn't book for just one night despite there being rooms available "because it is busy" meaning they would prefer to get a random 2 day book booking than selling a room for 1 night to a regular. - shortsighted because I ain't ever going back.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paulbearuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackAppleton, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2012

Thank you for sharing your review with Tripadvisor.

I am sorry you experienced some issues when making your reservations. Our Reservations Teams are based centrally however we are always on hand if you prefer, to take reservations via telephone.

Alternatively it would be great to hear from you directly if you prefer to do this over email, Jack.Appleton@hilton.com.

I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back.

Kind regards,

Jack

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (4,153)
There are newer reviews for DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,043 - 3,047 of 4,153 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2012

Have been staying at this hotel ever since it opened and have never had a bad stay here. Booked through the Doubletree website (not as nice to use as the mint one was!) and so got confused and forgot to request an early check in. Contacted Jack who could not have been more helpful and added this to my booking.

I hope it continues to be good value and excellent quality

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dennis4ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackAppleton, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2012

Dear dennis4ireland,

Thank you for your review and compliments.

We are excited as very soon we will be launching a brand new website with a great new interface - the look and feel is fantastic and very impressive, please feel free to email me, I would be delighted to share any information directly as and when it is released!

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel!

Kind regards,

Jack

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2012

Love this hotel. Decent price for an amazing experience. Excellent customer service, beautiful room. For my husband and I it was a decent size. The bar was great and the staff were so welcoming. Breakfast was lovely too.

No complaints - will definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jpipcp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackAppleton, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2012

Thank you for your review.

We pride ourselves on our great Guest Service - fantastic to read that you had such an enjoyable visit. I will make sure your review is shared directly with our teams.

I am on hand to respond and react to Guests feedback, Jack.Appleton@hilton.com. Please do contact me directly if I can be of any assistance.

Kind regards,

Jack

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2012

We stayed here as part of a British Airways promotion, and were very pleased with the quality and especially with the hotel staff, who had directions and ideas at the ready whenever we asked. The room was spacious and comfortable, and most importantly quiet and clean. The shower door needed seeing-to as it didn't close all the way, but that's a minor detail.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LandCtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackAppleton, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2012

Dear LandCTravel,

Great to read you had such an enjoyable stay - we all hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel again!

Kind regards,

Jack

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Hotel is conveniently located across from the Picadilly rail station and an easy walk to many of the local sights (and pubs!). The hotel staff was very accommodating and the rooms were a little small but well furnished. We had breakfast in the lobby restaurant, which was very good and reasonably priced.

Stayed: April 2012
1  Thank jwdubs60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackAppleton, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2012

Thank you for your review.

It is inspiring to read and share that you experienced such great service during your recent stay.

We all genuinely look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind regards,

Jack

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.8 km away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
0.8 km away
The Midland
The Midland
#13 of 120 in Manchester
5,056 reviews
0.9 km away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa
1.0 km away
Jurys Inn Manchester
Jurys Inn Manchester
#36 of 120 in Manchester
2,858 reviews
0.5 km away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#6 of 120 in Manchester
1,362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly

Address: 1 Piccadilly Place, 1 Auburn Street, Manchester M1 3DG, England (Formerly Mint Hotel Manchester)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Manchester
#9 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#10 Business Hotel in Manchester
#15 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: ₹ 7,095 - ₹ 22,318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly occupies a landmark site on the new Piccadilly Place development. The hotel reflects the vibrancy of the city, and is located close to major national rail connections. Relax in the sophisticated surroundings of our restaurant or our alluring Piccadilly Lounge and vibrant Blue Bar, then rest in hotel rooms styled with absolute consideration for your comfort. All with excellent facilities for leisure or business guests including iMac computers and complimentary wi-fi in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hilton EMEA, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Manchester Piccadilly Hotel Manchester
City Hotel Manchester
Manchester City Hotel
City Inn Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing