We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location , great staff .”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
Ranked #65 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location , great staff .”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

The location of the hotel is excellent for shopping very close to the Arndale centre. Within walking distance of Picadilly station or you could hop on the tram which is located directly outside the hotel. We stayed 2 nights in a twin room on the 12th floor. Room & bathroom was very clean . Beds & pillows very comfortable only complaint was the duvet.Could do with bigger duvets as they barely the width of bed. Windows were a bit weird with one sliding panel then a gap and another pane of glass but had a fantastic view when these panes weren't covered in condensation usually cleared by time we got back in the evening . We had room overlooking Picadilly gardens and great view of Manchester City home ground Etihad stadium.Could do with upgrading windows to double glazing thats the only real let down with the room itself. This could also cut out some of the noise from the street below . Staff are very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was lovely good selection to chose from. Would stay here again .

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chel_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Dear Guest

Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience of the Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel with your fellow Tripadvisor viewers. As you say our central location couldn't be any better for easily accessing all that Manchester has to offer. Glad to hear that you found the team helpful and friendly and you enjoyed your breakfast experience. Great to read that you would stay with us again and therefore look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,893 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    708
    1,124
    648
    268
    145
See reviews for
216
1,053
165
805
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (594)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

The hotel is excellent located and in the perfect spot for a trip to Manchester. The staff were very helpful and welcoming. The breakfast delicious, if a tad cold and the room service evening meal I enjoyed during my stay was also tasty if a tad overpriced. My only issues were the very rough towels in the bathroom and that I sent an email to the hotel prior to my stay and never received a response. Overall I would recommend the hotel mainly for the location and staff.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor following your stay with us. It was great to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and and our fantastic location offered you such easy access to everything you needed.

Your point regarding our towels has been taken board and shared with my Head Housekeeper, who monitors the quality of all our linen and towels etc that are delivered daily into the Hotel and if deemed an unacceptable quality will reject. My apologies that you did not receive a response to your email prior to your stay.

Many thanks for your recommendation and I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again very soon.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012 via mobile

This hotel is in an excellent location unfortunately, this is where the positives end. Our room was opposite the lifts and the whole night my sleep was disturbed by other guests using the stairs next to the lift. At 11pm our 'neighbour' was using their hair dryer! Then when leaving for their night out at 1130pm they were far from quiet. I was awoken at 1230 after just falling asleep by singing and banging. I finally got 3 hours solid sleep at 330am. To add to this we went to breakfast and were greeted by a friendly member of staff who sat us at a nice window table where we were totally forgotten about. We managed to eat our breakfast and leave without being offered coffee or toast. We were given a refund of our car parking fees but what was meant to be a relaxing night away to catch up with friends on a rare weekend off ended up being a disaster

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Jacqueline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review. I was sorry to hear that your stay with us was marred predominantly by noise disturbance from other guests. Unfortunately you do find on occasions that some guests are not as considerate as others and cause a disturbance to other guests. Should, however, a situation such as this be highlighted to us, I would like to assure you that the team at the hotel are well briefed and trained to bring any situations to a satisfactory conclusion for all concerned. I am only too sorry that you encountered the disturbance that you did on this occasion.

Your feedback regarding your breakfast experience has been taken on board and will be addressed accordingly with the team concerned.

I am sorry that your night away was not as relaxing as it was meant to be. I do sincerely hope, however, that sometime in the future you may give us another try and that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back .

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Manchester hotels

Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

We had a great visit to this hotel. It was in a fantastic central location, it was very clean, and the staff we very nice and friendly. The lady on reception was very chatty and kind and gave us free breakfast on both days of our visit. The lady in the breakfast buffet was very lovely and kind and we felt very welcome all weekend. The breakfast buffet was outstanding and was very welcomed! This hotel was above our expectation and I would definately stay here again.

Room Tip: We were on the 12th floor and the view was fantastic looking out over the city!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your review; we really appreciate such positive feedback

I was so pleased to read that you found the team so friendly and helpful during your stay and that you enjoyed your time with us. Great to hear that you will definitely stay with us again and with this in mind, we look forward to having th pleasure of welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham County, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
209 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Hotel is just off Piccadily Gardens which is right next to the Arndale centre and a 5 to 10 minute walk to the MEN. Piccadiliy train station is also close, so much so that it is probably quicker to walk than get a taxi.
Booking in and out was quick and easy. Room was great (Executive) and even though next to the lifts, was quiet. The only noise came from outside, but that is to be expected in Manchester City Centre I suppose. Clean and spacious - shower was a bit weak and the tea and coffee etc. was a bit low on supply (2 tea bags), but it suited our needs.
We ended up on the top floor (14) and this gave good views.
Didn't have breakfast (£20 extra) and instead went round the corner to Costa Coffe which was nice.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bianconero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor following your stay with us; it really is appreciated.

I do hope that sometime in the future we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manchester
0.3 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.2 km away
Ibis Styles Manchester Portland Street
0.4 km away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.9 km away
Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel
0.3 km away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#20 of 116 in Manchester
2,456 reviews
0.8 km away
Jurys Inn Manchester City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel

Property: Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
Address: Piccadilly Plaza Portland Street, Manchester M1 4PH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#40 Business Hotel in Manchester
#42 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#49 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,582 - ₹ 14,266
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME. The Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel is situated right in the heart of the city centre, easily accessible from the M6 and the M60 motorways. Making it the perfect location to discover one of the livliest cities of the North. This vibrant city has a fantastic array of shops, theatres, clubs, bars and restaurants, guaranteed to meet all customers' needs. RELAX IN ONE OF OUR STYLISH ROOMS: Each of the 280 bedrooms has an en-suite bathroom, flat screen LCD TV featuring in room entertainment and high speed internet access, hairdryer, trouser press/iron, climate control as well as tea and coffee making facilities. Upgraded rooms are also available on request. The hotel offers a range of facilities for guests including accessible rooms. THE PLACE TO UNWIND: Enjoy a visit to ARTS Brasserie, serving modern food in stylish surroundings with a friendly atmosphere. Situated on the 3rd floor, overlooking Piccadilly Gardens, The Brasserie Restaurant is the perfect location to unwind at the end of the day. For a lighter meal choice, room service is available 24 hours a day. THE PLACE TO MEET: The Conference Centre comprises 10 flexible conference rooms all with complimentary wi-fi access, suitable for hosting discreet boardroom meetings or conferences up to 700 delegates. With the added benefit of natural daylight, soundproofing and climate control.Of course, its not just conferences that we're renowned for. Whether you're booking a wedding, gala dinner, private party or a company award ceremony, the International Suite is the perfect choice. Complete with its own private reception area, bar and stage. LOCAL ATTRACTIONS INCLUDE: Old Trafford - Manchester United's Stadium Manchester Central, The Palace and Opera House Theatres, Manchester City Etihad Stadium/Sportscity, Imperial War Museum, Trafford Shopping Centre, Manchester Art Gallery. By rail: Manchester Piccadilly Station 1/2 mile. By Air: Manchester Airport 10 miles. Parking: Chargeable parking. Limited spaces - subject to availability. Dry gym: Free use to residential guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Manchester
Manchester Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing