We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“truely superb”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Great John Street Hotel
Ranked #2 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 June 2012

From turning up to relaxing beer/ cocktails its superb.
The rooms are amazing, the staff are happy and pleasant,
It still excites me when I know Im off to GJS, This visit was my tenth stay and cant wait till the next time, thanks to everyone at GJS.
ash

Room Tip: All are great , room 31 is special, all are special, check the web sight .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ash f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,357)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,057 - 1,061 of 1,357 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2012

We used the Great John Street Hotel for a networking event and were very pleased with how it worked out. The team were very efficient, pro-active and professional. We also stayed overnight in the hotel and were equally impressed with the accomodation.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Stayed at this hotel for one night as was going to a music concert in Manchester. It was excellent - the room was amazing, so spacious and the bed was extremely comfortable! We were greeted by a very bright and cheerful receptionist who directed us to our room. Can't wait to visit again soon!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jody S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

We stayed in the Electic Grand Suite for one night only, and the room was absolutely beautiful! The room was very spacious, complete with King sized bed, Plasma Tv and sitting area. The bed was also extremely comfortable, we definitely got a good nights sleep! We loved the lay out of our room as the bathroom was upstairs and on a different level to the rest of the room. The bathroom was spectacular complete with two spacious bath tubs, a huge shower/steam room and individual sinks! The room was really breathtaking and we will definitely be returning to re-live our stay. We would highly reccommend this room for couples as the room is very romantic and extremely comfortable! You will not want to leave!! Also, the bar area on the roof top is ideal especially as there is a hot tub! There is also another bar inside the hotel, and drinks are all reasonably priced. Cannot wait to return to Great John Street!

Room Tip: we stayed in room 32!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarahmckenna91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

This was my 2nd stay at GJS and I have to say it's the best hotel I have stayed in, the attention to detail is amazing, I booked it this time for my partners 40th birthday an he wasn't disappointed, I arranged for Champagne to be in the room on arrival... we had our room upgraded, I spoke with tiffany the manager beforehand and she was fantastic, she is very good at her job and is such a bubbly character which I think is missed in a lot of hotels these days.... There was a party on the roof terrace but we were still able to go up and drink our champagne, they also booked a table for us at Rosso Restaurant whixh was fabulous also.... I ahve booked GJS again for this year and can't wait... well done Tiffany and all the staff at GJS... A 1st Class experience that we will won't forget xxx

Room Tip: All of the rooms are fabulous especially room 22 x
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne_Marie_79_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.8 km away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 120 in Manchester
711 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#7 of 120 in Manchester
1,432 reviews
0.5 km away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
The Midland
The Midland
#13 of 120 in Manchester
5,215 reviews
1.2 km away
Velvet
Velvet
#9 of 120 in Manchester
1,805 reviews
0.7 km away
INNSIDE Manchester
INNSIDE Manchester
#4 of 120 in Manchester
1,786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great John Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great John Street Hotel

Address: Great John Street, Manchester M3 4FD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#2 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#3 Business Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: ₹ 9,818 - ₹ 30,565 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Great John Street Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only a stone's throw from Manchester's most exclusive shopping areas, restaurants and theatres, this original Victorian school house has been transformed into a chic townhouse hotel with unique, individually designed bedrooms and suites alongside stylish lounges and Oyster Bar.The Old School House also boasts stunning entertainment rooms and features Manchester only Eclectic Roof Terrace available for exclusive use for your own tailor made event.Being madly eclectic, all of our rooms have a personality of their own, giving the guest a unique experience every visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Great John Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great John Street Manchester
Hotel Great John Street

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing