We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location and friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Place Aparthotel
Ranked #43 of 118 Hotels in Manchester
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Central location and friendly staff”
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Myself and work colleague booked a 2 bed apartment for a night out. it was a few minutes walk away from the station and very easy to find. Upon arrival we were upgraded to an exec 2 bedroom apartment. The apartment was lovely, nicely laid out and clean. Think the only thing i would change about it is to upgrade the heating/AC and the bathrooms could be a little higher spec, and the walls are very thin!! but aside from that i think this place is very good value for money. Much nicer having a sitting room and more space. The check in staff were very friendly. The beds were comfy.

If i were coming to manchester again with friends i would stay here. probably wouldn't consider it for a romantic break, but for city centre exploring this place is perfect.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LauraMUR1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanHard, General Manager at The Place Aparthotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Thank you for your review and your comments regarding the staff that you dealt with on your arrival, I will ensure that your comments are passed on to them. I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,256 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    609
    390
    153
    63
    41
See reviews for
264
215
22
192
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Herts, UK
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

The Place is an amazing converted warehouse. There's a huge central atrium which allows light to flood the area, huge iron pillars and beams criss-cross the structure and if you appreciate Victorian industrial architecture or warehouse-loft styling then this is a treat.

However this open centre is a little double-edged in that some of the apartments have bedrooms opening onto the area and there's simply not enough light-proofing. Also since there is no sound deadening (baffles on the ceilings in the walkways might help) rowdy parties may keep you awake!

Sadly the penthouse apartments are compromised by architectural vision - no proper guttering means that rain hammers down onto the part-glazed ceilings of bedrooms; more privacy though and if it doesn't rain then you won't need earplugs. Oh, and the penthouses get a special glass elevator on the outside.

Despite these points I recommend The Place. It's well located for walking into town, the apartments are well equipped with full kitchens and plenty of bathrooms, the staff unfailingly pleasant and helpful.

The Place totally shines when you get a corner apartment: outside-facing windows so fresh air in every room, dark curtains, quite a bit more space, and no windows onto the sometimes noisy atrium.

Secure parking and a buffet breakfast add to the whole package and I rather like it.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a corner room if you're going to need more than one bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ND4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanHard, General Manager at The Place Aparthotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to pass on your review. Customer feedback is vitally important as it enables us to identify areas where we can enhance on the features that this Grade 2 listed building has to offer. Thank you again for your review and look forward to welcoming you back to The Place Hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I got this on a lastminute deal and was very impressed. Its two minutes from the train station and close to the Northern Quarter. We had a sitting room, dining table and kitchen with all the things you need if you didnt want to pay to go to a restuarant. I did think the apartment could have been laid out better as it was a bit of a rabbit warren, and the noise from the event on the first floor was a little loud - but that did stop at 1am. You can get the breakfast for 7 pounds if you ask for it when you check in, and it was pretty good. They had hot and cold food, but was a little disappointed when they ran out of the pastries :)

Its a good place to stay for things like stag/hen dos or any kind of groups going on a night out. I wouldnt pay full price but the deal I got was excellent!

Room Tip: Try to get an apartment on an upper level because the noise from the events on the first floor could...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dapper80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanHard, General Manager at The Place Aparthotel, responded to this review, 27 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to pass on your review. Customer feedback is vitally important as it enables us to identify areas where we can improve our level of service. I was encouraged to hear that the music from the function finished at the designated time and I will ensure that we address the point you raised regarding the pastries. Thank you again for your review and look forward to welcoming you back to The Place Hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Stayed here for a family trip to the Girand National. Five adults stayed two nights. The appartment was huge two bedrooms both en suite with a tv in each and a fine kitchen and lounge area. Secure and in a great location. Only downside was the appartments had no air conditioning and were extremely warm so you may need to get a few fans for the night. Overall way better than any hotel I stayed in Manchester but you will need at least four people to make it worthwhile as it will cost you a more than a hotel but well worth it.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimmyBarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanHard, General Manager at The Place Aparthotel, responded to this review, 27 April 2012
Thank you for your kind review. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your visit and the space that the apartments offer. I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level 5 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

we didnt stay in the apartments here but we did sample the hotels hospitality. on seeing the hotels advert in the M.E.N we at first thought it was a misprint for the palace hotel, but no it WAS the place hotel, we had never heard of this venue & researched it on the net, situated near to the ancoats area, We were a party of 8 girls attending the hotels many tribute nights & ours was the grease tribute! you couldnt miss us...... we were dressed as pink ladies in illuminous pink wigs & outfits, we had booked the package of the tribute act, a table for the night & a three course meal.

the venue:

fabulous, spotlesly clean, spacious room & could see the act from wherever you sat, i think it held around 100 that night, although im sure more can fit in, i think it was set out for the amount of bookings for that evening.

the food:

amazing, we got value for money, £26.00 for the act & a 3 course meal, we didnt expect quality for that price & thought oh well, its the act we are going to see & from experience the food isnt normally up to much in venues, how wrong were we! every part of the food was delicious, warm cobs awaiting our arrival followed by the most amazing food, it was so tasty, good quality & the presentation was lovely, they didnt scrimp on quality......

the staff:

wonderful, what a lovely bunch of staff they have here at the place hotel, from the waiters/waitresses, bar staff, reception staff & management, they were courteous at all times & made you feel very welcome, nothing was too much trouble, on arriving the entertainment manager ( well i think thats who he was ) & i hope ive remembered his name correctly JAMES SHEARS greeted us with complimentary bubbly for our table, he looked after the guests all night & was very charming, he made sure the evening went very smoothly & everyone had a good night.

the bar:

the venue had a well stocked reasonably priced bar & the staff worked very hard, always had a smile & were very courteous as was the waiting staff.

im afraid we were a little cheeky this night, we tied our night out with our local pubs charity ( help the heroes ) & we took our collection tin & help the heroes wrist bands to sell later on in the evening, we didnt ask the hotels permission as we thought they would have refused so we took our chances & sneaked them in, we started our collection later on & to be honest out of the whole room almost everyone bought a wristband from us so a big thank you to all these people, i know you were there for a night out & not a charity night but hey..... it is for a good cause..... & to the 3 girls who reported us to management & to accuse us of fraudulently collecting for this charity SHAME ON YOU if you think that anyone would "ROB" money for this good cause...... no we didnt have a licence to collect, we are just normal people from a local pub raising funds for this charity who took our chances & collected on behalf of our local that night, & to be honest the majority of the guests at the venue that night did support us & disagreed with these girls for their accusations, we will be sending a thank you note to the hotel & an apology if we offended them in doing our collection, we will also be sending the hotel a receipt for the money collected, A HUGE THANK YOU TO EVERYONE WHO DONATED TO US.......WE RAISED £50 ON THE NIGHT........

i would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a good night out im hoping the hotel have a newsletter cause i will certainly sing up for future nights at this venue, thank you once again for a fab night & to james & his staff............

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank batts13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanHard, General Manager at The Place Aparthotel, responded to this review, 27 April 2012
Thank you for your excellent review and your comments regarding the facilities, and staff that you dealt with during your stay, I will ensure that your comments are passed on. I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.2 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.1 km away
ABode Manchester
ABode Manchester
#21 of 118 in Manchester
1,652 reviews
0.1 km away
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Piccadilly) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Velvet
Velvet
#10 of 118 in Manchester
1,767 reviews
0.6 km away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#5 of 118 in Manchester
1,342 reviews
0.1 km away
Malmaison Manchester
Malmaison Manchester
#34 of 118 in Manchester
2,449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Place Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Place Aparthotel

Property: The Place Aparthotel
Address: Ducie Street, Manchester M1 2TP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#23 Business Hotel in Manchester
#24 Family Hotel in Manchester
#25 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,17,647 - ₹ 1,58,431
Hotel Class:4 star — The Place Aparthotel 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Place Aparthotel is a stunning, grade 2 listed Manchester apartment hotel, offering luxury 4 star hotel apartments in Manchester city centre. 100 metres from Manchester Piccadilly Station, close to shops, restaurants, northern quarter and Chinatown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Place Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Place Apartment Manchester
Hotel Place Apartment

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing