We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mr”
other travellers have booked this property
Front of Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of Cottage
Front elevation of cottage Sky HD tv Play station - surround sound
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
Front of Cottage
Front elevation of cottage
Sky HD tv Play station - surround sound
Sitting Room
Enter a caption for your photo
Dinning Kitchen - washer/dryer - etc
Cottage Patio
Kitchen diner- Full range of appliances - washer dryer- utensils etc.
Double bedroom
Double bedroom - ensuite shower wc etc
Double bedroom
Single bedroom
View over looking cottage in foreground
View over looking Castleshaw Valley. 50 mts from cottage
View over Diggle from cottage patio
Dovestone Reservoir in Peak District National Park Aprox 2 miles away.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 3
Manchester, Greater Manchester, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Simon R
2 reviews
“Mr”
Reviewed 17 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We've just returned from a lovely relaxing weekend at the cottage. A real home from home in a gorgeous setting.

Our entire time here was perfect from beginning to end. If you want a few days away from it all with the peace and quiet of the countryside and amazing views don't hesitate to book.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine...
East kilbride
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Superb rural accommodation”
Reviewed 4 February 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Stayed for 3 nights along with 2 young male cyclists who were racing at the Manchester Velodrome about 30 minutes drive away. The accommodation is superb and I would highly recommend it if you are a walker / rambler or on a running or cycling holiday. Or simply for a chilled relaxing break. Beautiful views. The owners are just next door and made us feel very welcome. They even lit our log burner for us returning each night. This charming cottage had everything we needed, I really cannot fault it. The double bedroom had a king size bed, en suite and large television on the wall. The smaller bedroom had a single bed and ensuite. I can only imagine sitting out in the patio on a summers night sipping some wine and listening to ... the silence. Highly recommended. The teenage boys loved it.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Feb 2017
Thank you Christine
We are so glad you found everything to your liking. Karen and I would like to wish you and the boys the greatest of success in the world of cycling. We look forward to seeing the representing us all on the international stage soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Mrs”
Reviewed 30 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Wonderful cottage. Pictures don't do it justice. Owners live next door and are very welcoming and helpful. Definitely recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Oct 2016
Thank you for your nice review Kate. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your brief stay in our cottage and look forward to welcoming you here again before too long.
Karen and Les
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
earthnan
Bathurst NSW Australia
2 reviews
“Wonderful relaxing hideaway”
Reviewed 4 June 2016 for a stay in October 2014

Stayed here for a few days while on holidays to the UK, have to say this was the highlight of out trip. Lovely cottage wonderful area and fantastic hosts. Left us alone most of the time which we wanted but they were on hand if we wanted anything. Will try to get back there again if we can.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Home away from home
Liked least: Bed was a bit small
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jul 2016
Thank you for taking the time to review our cottage. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura R
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Stunning location and experience - 5 star all the way”
Reviewed 5 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Beautiful location and cottage. I am so happy we booked here. Les and Karen were very kind and gave us a warm reception with the log burner and views being a real highlight! The cottage is very cosy with private drive and we loved all the wooden / stone floors through out and blankets. We were playing music on our trip so didn't have any need really for the sky TV etc but there was a good collection of DVD's / CD's and we played chess by the fire :) If you want a great trip in the peak district then this is the place to stay! Thanks so much to Les and Karen for taking pride in what you do - we will recommend to friends and certainly return soon! The location is also an easy drive into Manchester :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: views and log burner
Liked least: no wifi
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jul 2016
Thank you for such a positive review. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us during your tour of this area.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing