We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reliable quality and friendly service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Manchester Centre
Ranked #41 of 118 Hotels in Manchester
GreenLeadersBronze level
Nunney
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Reliable quality and friendly service”
Reviewed 26 April 2012

The Novotel Manchester Centre has an excellent location for business travel. The hotel is close to Manchester Piccadilly and Oxford Road railway stations and is a short walk from many shops and restaurants.

Reception and lounge are bright and spacious. Staff are helpful, efficient and friendly with a real understanding of how tiring and stressful travel can be. Minor problems are dealt with quickly and efficiently or deferred until guests' more pressing needs have been met.

I was offered an upgrade to an executive room for £10 a night extra, giving me extra space and facilities for the same price as 24-hour internet access.

The room was clean, large and very comfortable. The separate toilet was a little cramped, but spotless. Extras included free coffee machine, bottled water and film channels.

Breakfast offered a good buffet selection in the pleasantly laid-out restaurant. My colleagues loved the gym and spa as well.

The Novotel is an excellent choice for business and leisure travel. The atmosphere is relaxed, professional and likely to appeal to urban professionals who value efficiency and ease of access to facilities inside and outside the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrie v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iblack, General Manager at Novotel Manchester Centre, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
Thank you for your very kind words. They are very much appreciated and my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed yourselves in Manchester. I look forward to welcoming you back at Novotel Manchester Centre in the future. Kind regards, Iain Black, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,567 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    514
    712
    227
    78
    36
See reviews for
283
412
122
521
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
staffs, u.k.
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Have stayed a couple of times on business. This hotel has its ups and downs.
Positives,
Great location on edge of Chinatown and handy for both Oxford Rd and Piccadilly stations
Decent breakfast, nothing great but perfectly adequate
Small gym which is a plus (pity one guy spent 50 mins on the one runner, obviously has no conception of share and share alike)
Great staff in conference section
Negatives
Takes ages to check in and out. No quick drop if bill has already been paid
No proper aircon so rooms get really stuffy and opening windows is not an option due to noise outside
Some rooms face onto next door apartment block about 10 feet away so have to keep blinds closed.
Can't do much about the last one but how about express check out and a proper aircon system?

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank veggie-dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iblack, General Manager at Novotel Manchester Centre, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to at Novotel Manchester Centre. I’m delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we have noted your comments. Currently Novotel is piloting an online check in and express check out system at other Hotels which may be rolled out to the whole company, and we are just about to start a bedroom refurbishment to roll out a brand new room type at Novotel, although this will not include the air cooling system which is usually adequate for Manchester's weather. Again we appreciate your feedback, and I hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future. Kind Regards, Iain Black.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012 via mobile

I've just returned from a business trip to Manchester with three of my colleagues. We all stayed in this Novotel hotel as it's location was very convenient to our meetings, and it has on site parking. On first impressions the lobby, bar and restaurant area look ok. Unfortunately the bedrooms were all very poor, all three of our individual rooms were very tired, unclean and basic considering we paid £110 per night. The carpets in all three of the rooms were dirty, with stains, and generally felt unclean. I have used Novotel hotels in both the UK & France, and never experienced this. I would not recommend staying in this hotel until the rooms have been refurbished. One saving grace was the shower!

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank MR9011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iblack, General Manager at Novotel Manchester Centre, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
I am sorry that on this occasion you were disappointed with your stay at Novotel Manchester Centre. I treat all feedback with the utmost seriousness and am currently investigating the issues you raised with the Housekeeping team here. I am pleased to advise you that we have bedroom refurbishment planned from the end of April which will bring the rooms you and your colleagues occupied to 4 star standard, in line with the Hotel's public areas.
Again we appreciate your feedback, and I hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future and provide you with a genuine hassle-free experience
Kind Regards, Iain Black, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

I have mixed feeling about this hotel... The location is great,very central, it's easy to go everywhere. The rooms are ok (though the bath could have been a little cleaner). In general, the hotel was ok, they have the basics, but what I don't understand is the fact that there is no free wifi (knowing that the cheapest room is 195 pounds a night!). If you want wifi, you have to pay for it! The only other option available in the hotel is the two computers in the lobby that are never free...
Also, I called front desk twice from my bedroom and no one would answer even though I let the phone ring for a while. After that, I just didn't bother calling anymore and just went downstairs to ask.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foodieMtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iblack, General Manager at Novotel Manchester Centre, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am grateful for your feedback about your stay. We are looking at the WiFi options we offer, however complimentary Broadband is available in our Executive rooms. We will also look at the use of the iMacs in the reception lobby as they are time-limited for each user.
We appreciate your feedback, and I hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future and provide you with a genuine hassle-free experience.
Kind Regards, Iain Black, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.0 km away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
0.1 km away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#20 of 118 in Manchester
2,484 reviews
0.1 km away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#5 of 118 in Manchester
1,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Jurys Inn Manchester City Centre
0.5 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
1.0 km away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Manchester Centre? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Manchester Centre

Property: Novotel Manchester Centre
Address: 21 Dickinson Street, Manchester M1 4LX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Manchester
#23 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#25 Business Hotel in Manchester
#31 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#44 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,416 - ₹ 15,538
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Manchester Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Manchester Centre is an AA 4 star hotel in an ideal location for business travellers, just 3 minutes walk from the Conference Quarter and the Central Business Core of Manchester. Take a break at the Novotel and explore the surrounding Chinatown area, visit Old Trafford (the home of Manchester United FC) and discover designer shops, nightlife and local attractions. eXchange Food and Drink Lounge is the place to kick back relax and unwind after a busy day. 24 hour room service, gym, sauna, steam room and seven meeting rooms for up to 90 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, ACCOR and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Manchester Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Manchester Centre Hotel Manchester
Accor Manchester Centre
Manchester Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing