We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best restaurant in Manchester” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Rose Garden

The Rose Garden
Ranked #139 of 2,185 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 19 - US$ 39
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: New to West Didsbury’s Burton Road, The Rose Garden serves exciting contemporary British food created by owner and head Chef William Mills. It’s very much a family affair — William’s elder Brother Tom constructed the interior to a design created by their architect father, the restaurant’s striking visual appeal is complemented by professional but informal table service from William’s younger siblings.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Manchester”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

This place never dissapoints, the only dissapointment is if you can't get in because they are always fully booked!

This restaurant has a great selection of food and wines and the service is second to none!

I would recommend this place to anyone, if you haven't been, try it :)

The only recommendation I would have is to increase the size of the restaurant.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ZoePearson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

496 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    329
    108
    35
    15
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester didsbury
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

We loved this so much we went back for our anniversary. the food is always bang in season and i can never choose what to eat as all just sounds so good (plus our friends had been the week before and given great reviews on their dishes) the service is also very good. you wont be disappointed.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank missdt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
104 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“There is something good cooking here”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

We ate at the Rose Garden last night and were not disappointed. The starters, a mackerel kedgeree and leek& Mushroom soup were delicious. The steak and kidney puddings we had as a main course were amazing, there is great attention to detail too - the accompanying vegetables were just right. The staff were v friendly and helpful and we were not kept waiting. The only disappointment was the chocolate orange tart which I had for pudding - it was a bit on the dry side.
Will definitely go again - the price for the set menu is amazingly reasonable too.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AlmondCroissant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“wonderful meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

Came with a friend for her birthday, we went on the bank holiday Monday evening, where they were offering the set menu all day.. and we both ordered off the set menu as it seemed really good value, as the picked out fish and meat weekly dishes are placed on the set menu too...

I ordered the watercress, broad bean and cream cheese tortellini which came with a fragrant broth and peas, and spring garden shoots... very pretty dish and the broth was lovely, not much watercress flavour in the tortellini, but yummy and dumpling like with broad bean, green pasta. Was first attracted here by the fact they had pig cheeks on the menu, this wasn't on today and was replaced by pork fillet, so I opted for the tea smoked duck breast.. with red cabbage salad, purple potatoes, and plum reduction and butternut squash puree. Duck was pink and tender and sliced well, the flavours of the plum, slightly pickled cabbage and the puree were lovely, skin could have been seared a little more, but it was too delicious to really notice, as the meat was done lovely and had a delicate smoked flavour. And for dessert the Wensleydale and blueberry cheese cake which was inhaled rather quickly, not too sweet, good texture and really creamy with nice tart blueberry jam and fresh blueberries whipped into the main mixture. The mackerel kedgeree was very good, and my friend enjoyed the braised pork fillet, very tender and went well with the beetroot, and she had the creme brulee egg, which was ordered because we had to see it for ourselves. Creamy and custardy and was basically gone very quickly, the presentation of the shortbread was amazing. All in all very enjoyable meal for just over £50 including a bottle of nice rioja.... I only wished I'd tipped more, but forgot we hadn't enough change as paying by card etc.... All staff were helpful and friendly and made you feel very welcome...nice chats about the food, and recommendations (notably from looking at other reviews, to not have the cornish pasty for a starter) Nice addition to Burton road and will definitely be back!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Raisa89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“After hearing rave reviews...I wasn't disappointed!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

Having read and heard rave reviews about West Didsbury’s newest restaurant, I was expecting great quality produce, cooked to perfection and…I wasn’t disappointed.

Hear not-to-be-missed details on the food, service, atmosphere in my full restaurant review...don't go without reading it first!

http://www.facebook.com/ModeConsulting/notes

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Mode C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Rose Garden also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to The Rose Garden? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing