We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing”
Review of Crown & Anchor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Crown & Anchor Inn
Ranked #17 of 29 Manchester B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 March 2012

I just stayed at the Crown and Anchor for two nights. Cost £35 per night for a single room which I thought was good value, until I got there- worst B+B I've ever stayed in, and have stayed in many around this price range.

When I arrived the staff spent a while arguing among themselves about which room I was in- apparently the room i was supposed to have had been given to someone else, and I was getting a different one, I didn't care which room I was getting but had to wait while 3 staff members argued about why the other room had been given away.

Single room couldn't have been smaller, bedding was clean but the rest of the room wasn't, Yale lock was very stiff, biro marks on paintwork, room smelled non-specifically odd, loads of traffic noise coming in through the single-glazed window. Shared bathroom was dirty, with black mould in the shower cubicle, very grimy giant plastic plant in the corner, someone else's dirty towels left on floor for 24 hours, bathroom door frame was coming away from the wall.

At breakfast time this morning the waitress informed me that her boss was in "a right funny mood this morning" and complained about having to be there refilling milk jugs and not getting things done in the kitchen. She then became annoyed by something on the TV news about someone who was getting medical treatment for complications of illicit drug use and spent a while ranting about this.

It is in a convenient place for getting to and from Manchester Piccadilly station. It would be nice to be able to say more positive things about my experience of the Crown and Anchor but that's about it.

Room Tip: go somewhere else?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catypillar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (106)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

97 - 101 of 106 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2011

Room cost me 35 pounds for the one night. It was a good size and consisted of two single beds with shared bathroom/shower facility's just down the hall. For the price I paid this for me is fine and although shared, the facility's were very clean. Like the bathroom/shower facility's the room itself was also very clean. Although nothing spectacular it featured all the basic facility's one would need if your looking for a cheap stop over. A nice touch was the TV with built in DVD player :) The staff were very friendly and very helpful, especially when I locked myself out of my room :S Overall I would highly recommend to anyone who doesn't want pay ridiculous prices for somewhere to stay. For the cost it easily deserves full marks :)

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Retro B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Attention si vous avez loué une voiture difficile de trouver un parking gratuit à proximité.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JJSTONE1109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Chicongou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ceciliestormo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kane T, General Manager at Crown & Anchor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.3 km away
Travelodge Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
0.1 km away
easyHotel Manchester
easyHotel Manchester
#70 of 120 in Manchester
244 reviews
1.1 km away
Mulligans of Deansgate
Mulligans of Deansgate
#4 of 29 in Manchester
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Verdene Hotel B&B
Verdene Hotel B&B
#3 of 29 in Manchester
185 reviews
3.7 km away
Luther King House
Luther King House
#1 of 29 in Manchester
379 reviews
1 km away
The Midland
The Midland
#13 of 120 in Manchester
5,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown & Anchor Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown & Anchor Inn

Address: 41 Hilton Street, Manchester M1 2EE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Manchester
Price Range: ₹ 3,061 - ₹ 7,781 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Crown & Anchor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing