We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely”
Review of Bistro West 156

Bistro West 156
Ranked #57 of 2,277 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 10 - US$ 39
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Bistro West 156 restaurant is a shining star in the thriving restaurant scene on Burton Road in Manchester���s West Didsbury, a quirky corner that���s a foodie heaven not all that far from where the M60 and the M56 part company. Bistro West 156���s pocket-friendly traditional cooking cuts out all the malarkey to deliver modern British cuisine, the real food that loyal fans adore. The rustic dining room with its granite topped tables, blackboard specials and changing local art displays sets a relaxed tone for easy lunches and suppers. While the food may be fine dining level, the ambience is bistro informal from terrific breakfasts right through to the last sip of dessert wine. Everything is homemade, and customer favourites include superbly cooked comfort classics like fish pie, chicken Kiev and Bistro West 156���s very own melting chocolate pudding. You will succumb. The warm welcome and tables outside entice you to linger.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“lovely”
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Really lovely fresh food! Service is great and they know a lot about the menu. We were recommended super wine. We even went back for brunch the next day!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank lucy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

356 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    274
    61
    16
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Brilliant place”
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Having already heard good things from friends we were expecting a lot and to be quite honest we were not disappointed! We took advantage of a weekday evening offer of 3 courses for £20. There was a good selection of vegetarian dishes and I was delighted to see that ALL dishes were included in the offer.
The service was prompt, friendly, knowledgeable and not in the least overbearing. We will come again, sooner rather than later.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mancveggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Little Gem”
Reviewed 17 February 2012

Only booked after the reviews on tripadvisor and so glad I did what a find amazing food with great service all in all a must defiantly visiting again :)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank besty333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“second visit in a week”
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Returned twice in one week (with different friends) to one of the best restaurants in manchester. Another excellent meal and amazing value. Great choice on the menu and very generous portion sizes. Salt & pepper squid was outstanding as was the lamb shank. Chocolate tart with salted caramel was sublime. Brilliant choice for vegetarians.
Hope I go again next week!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank greenfingers8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
1 review
“Delicious”
Reviewed 1 February 2012

I visited the Bistro last week, I've eaten there before but haven't written a review until now. The food was delicious, I had the Seabass Risotto with king prawns and my friend had the steak. We were both impressed and attended to very well by the owner as well as other staff. The Seabass was cooked perfectly and was full of flavour. The restaurant is cosy and was full (Thursday evening - we booked ahead). We had a great dinner and the price was really reasonable for the quality at around 50 quid i think for 2 courses and wine.

Will definitely go again.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank D P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bistro West 156 also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Bistro West 156? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing