We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fab Place to Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Castlefield Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Castlefield Hotel
Ranked #62 of 115 Hotels in Manchester
Montrose, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fab Place to Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

12 of us stayed here for 2 nights ( 25th and 26th March ) what a fab place to stay . Very close to City Centre , great leisure facilities and Great staff . I have stayed at so called better hotels that are not a patch on this 1 . Highly recommended . Cheers Dean

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dean_milne471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlynnCastlefield, Manager at Castlefield Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Dean, Delighted you and your friends enjoyed your stay- the location- just 400 metres from Deansagte- the leisure club and the team's approach & attitude.
We may not have every facility but if you want a clean room, good welcome and great location with excellent leisure facilities then, hopefully, we at least match the competition with value for money rates, matching those available elsewhere, on our own website
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

596 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    245
    123
    50
    29
See reviews for
68
236
29
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

Went to Manchester for my daughte'rs Hen Weekend, there were 13 of us. Hotel staff were really great nothing was too much trouble. Rooms were clean and very comfortable. Couple of restaurants nearby although hotel food is reasonably prices and very good. Would definately stasy again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bilep1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlynnCastlefield, Manager at Castlefield Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Bilep1
Glad that 13 was a lucky number and thanks for commenting. Trust all went well ( goes well?) with the wedding and that you found the team friendly and the rooms clean & comfortable. We look forward to welcoming you back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

Just returned from weekend trip to the Castlefield in Manchester,there was 11 adults down for a football trip,about 30 minute transfer from airport,we had 4 twin rooms and a triple all very clean with usual room facilities you expect for 3 star hotel,The breakfast had plenty of good fresh choice and served till 10 30 at weekend very handy if you have late night in city centre,the leisure club an added bonus for the very fair rate,we also had a meal on the friday evening in the bar, again perfect pub food, bar prices reasonable,i would of expect to and have paid more at a city centre hotels and have done in the past.The Deansgate area is a 1 min walk to start of this nightlife area,the city centre is a easy 15 min walk,although not used there is a free shuttle bus to city centre at certain times,all staff friendly and helpful.The museum of science across the sreet also well worth a visit......For a weekend in Manchester you wont go far wrong here,it is not the Hilton but nor is the price,well worth a visit....if you are happy and don't go looking for faults.book now you wont be disappointed

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gordon14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlynnCastlefield, Manager at Castlefield Hotel, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
Gordon 14 - thanks for your comments and delighted you enjoyed your weekend.
We try to be welcoming, friendly and deliver value for money and, from your feedback, we are getting there.
As you say we are not the Hilton and our realistic pricing for rooms, food and drinks combined with clean, well presented bedrooms along with a great location is designed to attract repeat guests - and hopefully will see you returning.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

I travel to Manchester for work quite often and struggle to find a hotel with a swimming pool that's affordable on the budget I have. I wish I'd found this place sooner. The area is great -from Piccadilly train station it's a tram ride and then a short (5 minutes) walk from the tram stop, and there are lots of nice restaurants nearby. When I left the following morning I walked back to Piccadilly station, which toook about 40 minutes.
Staff are friendly and helpful. I didn't have breakfast so can't comment on that.
The pool is great and there are also good gym facilities - much better than some of the more expensive hotels I've stayed in in Manchester.
The rooms are fine - nothing fancy but perfectly adequate for a 3 star. And it was all very clean. I had a room with a view over the canal which was nice.
Will definitely be going back next time I'm in Manchester.

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank queeenofcakes59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlynnCastlefield, Manager at Castlefield Hotel, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
Queen of cakes- we look forward to welcoming you back- as you say the pool is great along with the rest of the Y club.
You must have had a heavy bag- or walked slowly- to take 40 mins to Piccadilly! but you will have seen a great deal of the city which is on our doorstep
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manchester
0.4 km away
Premier Inn Manchester Salford Central Hotel
8.5 km away
Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club
Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club
#64 of 115 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
0.3 km away
Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#20 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,378 reviews
0.7 km away
INNSIDE Manchester
INNSIDE Manchester
#8 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,378 reviews
0.8 km away
Jurys Inn Manchester City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castlefield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castlefield Hotel

Property: Castlefield Hotel
Address: Castlefield Hotel Liverpool Road | Castlefield, Manchester M3 4JR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Manchester
#45 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,974 - ₹ 9,948
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Castlefield Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are visiting Manchester for business or pleasure, for a short break or a longer holiday, we are sure we can make your stay a relaxing and enjoyable one. This 3 Star Manchester city centre hotel is proud to offer a warm Northern welcome to all guests, providing a relaxing haven away from the hustle and bustle of City life. We are opposite the Museum of Science and Industry and located in a beautiful corner of the city, only 400 metres from Manchester city centre by foot. The Castlefield Hotel has a valued waterside setting adjacent to the Castlefield canal basin & Arena, and we are proud to be welcoming back happy guests for over 20 years. Free wifi and free use of our on site gym comes as an added bonus for all. Book direct to receive fabulous deals on Hotel city breaks in Manchester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Castlefield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castlefield Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing